Skip to Main Content

About the Library

This guide covers policies, procedures and directions for the UT Southwestern Health Sciences Digital Library and Learning Center

Library Staff

Name: Elizabeth Barksdale
Title: Education Services Coordinator
Email: Elizabeth.Barksdale@UTSouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-2001

Name: Tracy Beeson
Title: Sr. Metadata Specialist
Email: tracy.beeson@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-2362

Library Responsibilities

  • Copy catalogs books, serials, audiovisual formats, and other types of items.
  • Assists with record and inventory management of cataloged library materials, including helping with inventories, processing withdrawals, and editing and correcting Library records.
  • Deposits digital materials and provides local cataloging of Grand Rounds into the UT Southwestern Institutional Repository.
  • Records and updates the units statistical work form of all items added to or being withdrawn from the Library's catalog.
  • Assists with gathering catalog-related statistics for organizations such as the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL).

Education

Some college courses at Eastfield Junior College.

Software Application Skills

  • Microsoft Word 2007/2010
  • SirsiDynix (Workflows/eLibrary)
  • OCLC Connexions
  • DOCLINE

Name: John Carter
Title: Education and Instruction Librarian
Email: John.Carter3@UTSouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-2001

Liaison Areas

  • Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
  • School of Health Professions

Areas of Interest

  • Information-Seeking Practices of Biomedical Sciences Students
  • Librarian Embeddedness in Curricula
  • AI Pedagogies and Emerging Technologies in Education

Education

  • M.L.I. S. (Master of Library and Information Science), University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, Mississippi
  • B.A. in History, Minor in Religious Studies, Southeast Missouri State University, Cape Girardeau, Missouri

Credentials

  • Academy of Health Information Professionals (AHIP), 2021-present

Professional Involvement

  • Awards Committee, Medical Library Association, 2022-25 (Chair, 2024-25; Chair-Elect , 2023-24)
  • Awards and Scholarships Committee, South Central Chapter/MLA, 2024-26
  • Bylaws Committee, South Central Chapter/MLA, 2020-22
  • DEI Committee, South Central Chapter/MLA, 2024-26
  • Fund Raising Committee, South Central Chapter/MLA, 2022-24
  • Nominating Committee, South Central Chapter/MLA, 2024-26

Name: Marta Castillo
Title: Housekeeper
Email: marta.castillo@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-9071

Library Responsibilities

  • Provide North and South Campus with cleaning and general maintenance services
  • Monitor contracted cleaning vendors
  • Make sure study rooms are clean
  • Assist in general administrative duties and planning events
  • Monitor the Library daily for activities of concern that need to be brought to Administrative attention

Contact me regarding:

  • Conditions of the student study rooms
  • General condition of all public areas
  • Bathroom concerns
  • Monitor an irregular condition found in the facility

Areas of Interest

  • People watching
  • Learning more English to Spanish translations
  • Learning more about computer activities and programs

Education

  • Intituto Nacional Isidro Menendez, El Salvador, Central America - Graduated
  • Univercidad Nacional El Salvador, El Salvador, Central America - Psychology Major

Professional Information

  • Dental Assistant in El Salvador, Central America
  • Facility maintenance 18 years

Name: Jon Crossno, AHIP
Title: Collection Management Librarian
Email: jon.crossno@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-2562

Contact Me Regarding:

  • Cataloging & metadata
  • Collection recommendations (e.g., books, journals, databases, etc.)
  • Electronic theses or dissertations at UT Southwestern
  • Publishing & editing articles
  • SharePoint

Library Responsibilities

  • Manage and review the Library's collection budget, which provides necessary collection resources for the UT Southwestern campus.
  • Investigate and recommend new purchases - including recommendations from faculty, staff, and students - that support the clinical, education, and research missions of UT Southwestern.
  • Serve as the sales/licensing point of contact with vendors and provide backup customer service support for technical issues.
  • Identify potential resources for cancellation and communicate final cancellation decisions with vendors.
  • Provide cataloging support for the ongoing development and maintenance of the Library’s website and online catalog (OPAC), including creating and maintaining catalog records for items in all print and electronic formats (e.g., monographs, serials, audiovisual materials, and electronic resources) in the Library’s collections.
  • Collaborate with library partners to create, enrich, or maintain the description of digital objects, using local and national cataloging or metadata standards, bibliographic and authority control, and knowledge management.
  • Provide support for the Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Submission System (Vireo), such as processing approved student submissions for publication, troubleshooting administrative questions, and assisting with access issues.
  • Participate in Library and campus-wide teams and task forces.

Areas of Interest

  • Cataloging
  • Collection Development
  • Metadata
  • Web Publishing & Development

Education

  • M.S., University of North Texas, Library Science, 1996
  • B.A., The University of Texas at Austin, English/Journalism, 1990

More Information

Name: Kelly Gonzalez
Title: Assistant Vice President for Library Services
Email: kelly.gonzalez@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-2626

Library Responsibilities

  • Lead 16 member professional and classified staff in delivering information resources and services to the UT Southwestern community.
  • Emphasize the importance of excellent customer service and communications as organizational goals and strengths.
  • Nurture a flexible, collaborative, and performance-oriented staff team.
  • Represent the Library to campus committees, state governmental bodies, accrediting agencies, and academic, regional and national organizations and consortia.
  • Monitor and evaluate the strategic plan and supporting the Library activities on an ongoing basis.
  • Coach staff in developing and monitoring strategies to support the Library’s strategic initiatives.
  • Monitor fiscal, strategic, and technology planning.
  • The Library serves over 20,000 faculty, staff, students, and residents in the medical center and has an annual operating budget of over $5 million.

Areas of Interest

  • Assessment
  • Medical Informatics
  • Online Instruction
  • Digital Libraries
  • Database Development
  • Project Management
  • Strategic Planning

Education

  • M.B.A. Health Care Management, Saint Leo University, 2013
  • National Library of Medicine/Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries Leadership Fellow, 2010-2011
  • Medical Informatics MBL/NLM Course Fellow - Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, MA. Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. Certificate, Fall Course, 2009.
  • Frye Institute Fellow - Emory University, Atlanta, GA. Sponsored by the Council on Library and Information Resources, EDUCAUSE, and Emory University. Certificate, May 31 - June 11, 2009.
  • M.S., University of North Texas, Information Science, 1992
  • B.A., Texas A&M University, English/Linguistics, 1991

Professional Information

  • Academy of Health Information Professionals
    • Distinguished Member (2012 - 2017)
    • Senior Member (2007 – 2011)
  • American Library Association (2011-Present)
  • Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (2015-Present) 
    • Board Member (2019 – 2022)
    • Board Liaison for Statistics & Assessment Committee (2019 – 2021)
    • Board Liaison for Future Leadership Committee (2020 – 2022)
    • Teaching & Learning Committee (2015 – 2017)
  • HealthLINE (2005-Present):
    • Past Chair (2019)
    • Chair (2018)
    • Chair-Elect (July 2017)
    • Communications Committee (2005-2008)
  • Library Leadership and Management Association (2011 – Present)
  • Library and Information Technology Association (2011 – Present)
  • Medical Library Association (1993-Present)
    • MLA 2010 Program Committee (2008 - 2010)
    • MLA LGBT SIG Co-Convener (2008-2010)
    • MLA Oral History Committee (2010-2014)
      • Immediate Past Chair (2013 - 2014)
      • Chair (2012 - 2013)
      • Chair Designate (2011 - 2012)
    • MLA Relevant Issues Committee
      • Treasurer (2012 - 2015)
    • MLA Educational Media & Technologies Section (2013 – Present)
    • MLA Hospital Libraries Section (1996 – Present)
    • MLA Leadership & Management Section (2002 – Present)
    • MLA Medical Informatics Section (1996 – Present)
    • MLA Medical Library Education Section (2013 – Present)
      • Chair-Elect (2014 -2015)
      • Chair (2015 -2016)
    • MLA Public Services Section (2009 – Present)
    • MLA Relevant Issues Section (2009 – Present)
    • MLA Technical Services Section (2009 – Present)
    • MLA Corporate Information Services Section (2002 – 2003)
    • MLA Pharmacy & Drug Information Section (1996 - 1998)
  • National Network of Libraries of Medicine South Central Region, Technology Advisory Committee (2001-2003)
  • South Central Academic Medical Library Consortium,
    • Chair (2018 - 2020)
    • Chair-Elect (2016-2017)
  • South Central Chapter/MLA (1997-Present),
    • President (2025-2026)
    • President-Elect (2024-2025)
    • 2024 Local Arrangements Committee
      • Co-Chair (2019 – 2024)
    • 2008 Local Arrangements Committee
      • Chair (2007 - 2008)
    • Bylaws Committee (2011 - 2013)
    • Communications Committee (2006 - 2010)
      • Chair (2009-2010) 
    • Credentialing Committee (2006 - 2007)
      • Chair (2007 - 2008) 
    • Program Committee Member (1997)
    • SCC/MLA Survey Liaison (2006 - 2009)
  • Texas Digital Library Governance Board (2017 - 2022) 
    • Vice-Chair (2019 – 2020)
    • Chair (2020 – 2021)
    • Past-Chair (2021 – 2022)
  • Texas Library Association (2011-Present)

Teaching and Presentation Materials

Selected Publications

More Information

Name: Desmond Ho
Title: Web Applications Developer
Email: desmond.ho@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-6464

Name: Angie Houser
Title: Digital Archivist/Manager, Special Collections and Archives
Email: Angela.Houser@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-8991

Name: Kendall Martin
Title: University Archivist
Email: Kendall.Martin@UTSouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-7675

Name: Cathy Nakashima
Title: Research Services Coordinator
Email: cathy.nakashima@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-2001

Library Responsibilities

  • Meet with assigned department personnel to determine needs for research, patient care or educational information necessary for their work.
  • Perform research in scientific and medical information and literature sources to address informational needs of clients.
  • Provide group and individualized point of need instruction to department clients in use of library resources and services.
  • Present orientations to departments; attend departmental grand rounds, work in progress and other meetings as requested to provide research assistance or referrals.
  • Assist clients in setting up current awareness services to keep clients up to date on recent developments in expressed or anticipated areas of interest.
  • Provide in-depth research consultations to individuals and small groups.

Contact me regarding:

Liaison Areas

  • Nursing
  • Obstetrics/Gynecology

Areas of Interest

  • Evidence Based Practice
  • Marketing/Liaison/Outreach
  • Consumer Health

Education

  • M.L.S. (Master of Library Science), Texas Woman’s University, Denton, Texas
  • M.B.A., University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois
  • B.S. in Medical Laboratory Science, University of Illinois Medical Center, Chicago, Illinois

Name: Kristy Reynolds
Title: Manager, Administration and Document Services
Email: Kristy.Reynolds@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-9070

 

Name: Zachary Richardson
Title: Research Librarian
Email: zachary.richardson@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-2001

Library Responsibilities

  • Provide consultations related to and completion of complex mediated biomedical searches

  • Perform evidence synthesis and complex searches such as systematic reviews, consensus statements, scoping reviews with faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, staff of UT Southwestern Medical Center and University Hospitals

  • Enhance, develop, and update handouts and library guides regularly

  • Promote and educate on the Research Cycle

  • Develop and present Library orientations

  • Create subject guides, tutorials, digital learning objects


Areas of Interest

  • Artificial intelligence and emerging technologies

  • Consumer health and health information literacy

  • Institutional review boards (IRB) and research ethics committees 


Education  

  • Master of Science in Library Science, University of North Texas

  • Master of Arts in History, Pittsburg State University

  • Bachelor of Arts in History, Sam Houston State University

 

Name: Charles Robinson
Title: Software Systems Supervisor
Email: charles.robinson@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-2006

Library Responsibilities

  • Managing technology personnel team.
  • Technology planning and acquisition.
  • Hands-on server and ticket system administration and management.
  • Technology project planning.

Contact me regarding:

  • Projectors
  • Scanners
  • PCs
  • Servers
  • Printers
  • Software Applications
  • Networking
  • Internet Services

Areas of Interest

  • Library Technology
  • System Administration
  • Networking

Professional Information

  • IT Manager - June 2008/Present, UT Southwestern Medical Center Library.
  • IT Manager - 2005/2008
  • RedDot Solutions/OpenText Corporation
  • System Administrator 1995/2005
    • Smith Barney/Citigroup
    • Chase Manhattan Bank/JP Morgan Chase
    • Prudential Securities
    • Professional Exam Services

Software Application Skills

  • Microsoft Operating Systems/Applications
    • Windows 7, XP, Vista, Server 2000, Server 2003, Server 2008
    • Office 2000, XP, 2003, 2007
    • Exchange 2003
    • Project Server
  • Firewalls
    • Cisco Pix 515
    • WatchGuard Firebox
    • Checkpoint
    • Microsoft ISA 2005
  • Adobe
    • Photoshop
    • Fireworks
    • Dreamweaver
  • VirusScan
    • Symantec
    • McAfee
    • TrendMicro
    • Sophos
  • VOIP
    • MiTel 3000
    • MiTel 200ICP
  • Web Servers
    • IIS 6,7
    • Apache

Name: Jane Scott
Title: Assistant Director of Library Services & Technology
Email: jane.scott@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-7681

Library Responsibilities

  • Work collaboratively and collegially with colleagues to support the library’s vision, mission, and strategic priorities, collectively and individually.
  • Serve on library and departmental committees and/or task forces as appropriate.
  • Ensures quality library and learning resources are provided to students, faculty and staff and communicates their value.
  • Provides leadership in the planning and implementation of strategic goals and objectives for the library that support the university mission, values and goals.
  • Works across academic departments and student programs to embed library services into courses, events, and co-curricular activities.
  • Builds cooperative relationships with the campus community, community-at-large, regional library consortia, state and national library associations, and educational development associations.
  • Oversees all departmental operations including but not limited to supervision of all employees, submission of state and national reports, grant acquisition and management, and contracts management.
  • Develops and implements Library policies and procedures in collaboration with library faculty and staff.
  • Assures the Library is an inclusive space for learning that is responsive to patron needs and supports the university's priorities to enhance the student experience.
  • Provides teaching and research assistance at the library as needed.
  • Assumes responsibility, with the AVP for Library Services, for library services including instruction, strategic planning, organizational development, assessment, and outreach.
  • Maintains knowledge of current issues and trends in academic research medicine information services, teaching, and learning such as instructional technology and design, information literacy, assessment, and copyright and fair use.
  • Promotes diversity, understanding, and respect for all peoples and cultures.
  • Coordinates and provides professional development in the form of workshops, learning communities, or other training opportunities to support library staff as they learn, practice, and assess equity-minded, innovative, high-impact, and inclusive pedagogies.

  • Fosters opportunities for faculty, staff, and students to share their experiences and expertise, as well as to celebrate successes, as they engage each other to improve teaching and learning.

  • Maintains a positive, helpful, constructive attitude and work relationship with faculty, staff, students, and the community.

  • Provides managerial leadership and support to S&P and DSTP staff.

  • Guides S&P and DSTP plans via the library strategic plan.

  • Provides guidance and support on special projects, e.g., LibConnect, data dashboards, student survey feedback – as required by S&P and DSTP or the greater library.

  • Other duties as assigned.

Contact me regarding:

Areas of Interest

  • User Experience
  • Illustration and graphics (Photoshop and Illustrator)
  • Promotional graphic, logo, layout, publication & web design
  • Photography
  • Screen capturing and video editing (Camtasia)

Education

  • Multimedia Developer Certificate, Richland College, DCCCD, 8/2006 to 12/2008
  • Coursework in drawing and web design, Savannah College of Art & Design, 1/2001 to 5/2002
  • MS Ed Coursework in Educational Administration in Higher Education, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, 8/1997 to 6/1999
  • BA in Politics and Society, University of California, Irvine, 9/1991 to 6/1995

Regular Classes

  • Visualizing your Research: Creating your best academic posters

Selected Publications

Ossom Williamson, P. Scott, J. Technology: 3D Printing in Medical Libraries. MLA News. 2016 Apr;56(4):23.

Software Application Skills

  • Familiar with Mac and PC platforms, iPhone & iPad Apps
  • Extensive experience using
    • Adobe Creative Cloud; Photoshop, Illustrator, Acrobat, InDesign, Dreamweaver
    • Camtasia Studio & Camtasia for Mac
    • Adobe Premiere Pro & iMovie
    • Basic HTML and CSS
    • Canva for Work
    • Microsoft Office, Project, and Visio 2010
    • TinkerCad and Cura

Awards and Grants

  • On My Own Time Honorable Mention in Works on Canvas Professional competition, 8/2018
  • National Network of Libraries of Medicine, South Central Region Technology Enhancement Award Recipient for new SLA 3D Printer, 5/2017
  • •National Network of Libraries of Medicine, South Central Region Technology Enhancement Award Recipient for new FDM 3D Printer, 5/2015
  • On My Own Time Honorable Mention in Color Photography Professional competition, 8/2014
  • Dallas Habitat for Humanity 5 Year Service Award
  • On My Own Time First Place in Mixed Media Professional Competition, 8/2013
  • Dallas Area Habitat for Humanity 2011 Administrative Support Award, 2/2012
  • On My Own Time First Place in Sculpture Professional Competition, 8/2011
  • Judge's Choice Award at Library Assessment Conference for Critical Sources Identified: Gathering, Organizing, and Analyzing Evidence -- Just Like a CSI Unit! poster, 10/2010
  • On My Own Time First Place in Works on Canvas Professional competition, 8/2010
  • 1st place award at MLA Conference's Swap 'n' Shop Marketing, 5/2009
  • Logos selected for NAFSA: Assoc. of International Educators Region III Conferences, 2007 & 2008
  • 4.0 GPA in Multimedia Developer Certificate coursework, 8/2006 to 12/2008
  • On My Own Time Honorable Mention in Black and White Photo competition, 8/2006

Campus Involvement

  • Assistive Technology Workgroup, 11/2023 to present
  • On My Own Time Co-Ambassador 2/2022 to present
  • Nursing Research Council, 1/2021 to present
  • Patient Education Committee, 1/2021 to present
  • Campus Sustainability Committee, 9/2016 to present
  • Women's BRG Book Club Subcommittee, 7/2021 to present
  • Conversation Partners Program, 8/2012 to 1/2016
  • Green Champions Representative, 8/2009 to 9/2023
    • Leadership Team, 8/2013 to 8/2015

Name: Linda Soliz
Title: Sr. Administrative Assistant II
Email: linda.soliz@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-2626

Name: Rosa Vasquez
Title: Interlibrary Loan Specialist
Email: rosa.vasquez@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-6431

Library Responsibilities

  • Pull items for lending and pull & copy requests.
  • Help with special projects.
  • Process borrowing & lending book requests.
     

Name: Jill Whitfill
Title: Research Librarian
Email: jill.whitfill@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-2001

 

Library Responsibilities

  • Support the School of Public Health in the research life cycle. This includes but is not limited to mediated searching, reference, and instruction. 
  • Enhance public health and related library guides and other educational content.
  • Advise on public health-related collection acquisitions.
  • Deliver in-person and online course-integrated instruction, orientations, and workshops.
  • Provide direct assistance to users through in-person and virtual consultations. 

  • Work collaboratively and collegially with colleagues to support the library’s vision, mission, and strategic priorities.

    Serve on Library and departmental committees and/or task forces as appropriate. 

 

Contact me regarding: 

 

Liaison Areas

  • O'Donnell School of Public Health

 

Areas of Interest

  • Library marketing and outreach

  • Consumer health

  • Public and Community Health

  • Disability/Chronic Health Conditions

 

Education  

  • Master's in Library Science, University of North Texas

  • Master's in Health Informatics, University of Illinois at Chicago

Name: Curtis Wright III
Title: Technical Support Specialist II
Email: curtis.wright@utsouthwestern.edu
Phone: 214-648-8871

Library Responsibilities

  • Support and maintain library laptop computers used for check out inside and outside the Library.
  • Support and maintain public use Library computers.
  • Install and maintain general use and special purpose applications.

Contact me regarding:

SciFinder Scholar technical support

Education

Bachelors of Science, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, TX, 1994

Software Application Skills

  • Operating Systems:
    • Windows systems
    • Mac OS systems
    • Linux 
  • Virtualization Applications:
    • VMWare Infrastructure 
    • VMWare Vsphere 
  • Backup Software:
    • NetVault Backup 
    • NetVault SmartDisk