Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tutorials, FAQs, and Videos

Embase, an Ovid-based biomedical and pharmacological database, added to The Health Sciences Digital Library and Learning Center resources. Contains more than 31 million bibliographic records in peer-reviewed journals, including 2,900 unique titles not found in MEDLINE. Ovid offers a single interface to search multiple biomedical databases and full-text resources including MEDLINE and PsycINFO.

Funding Institutional

Funding Institutional supports researchers and research administrators in the pre-award stage of the funding process. Delivers quick and comprehensive access to current funding opportunities and award information, allowing users to find the right funding opportunities, analyze the funding environment, and maximize award chances. To use the site, users must sign in with a personal account from other Elsevier sites like ClinicalKey, Scopus, ScienceDirect, etc.

Getting Started with Funding Institutional

Tutorials

Help and FAQs

InCites™ Journal Citation Reports® (JCR) provides data that helps evaluate research journals. To help compare journals and discover which are most relevant to a user's specific need, JCR can show the most frequently cited journals, highest impact factors, and most published articles in a field, as well as subject category data for benchmarking. Includes the JCR Science Edition and JCR Social Sciences Citation Index. Select a year to begin your search for information published in that year (e.g., selecting "2015" will yield the number of articles published in journals in 2015, the number of citations to journals from articles published in 2015, etc.).

Quick links to the National Center for Biotechnology Information's literature, nucleotide, genome, sequence analysis, data mining, population, taxonomy and other databases.

The video below highlights important features and demonstrates the practical aspects of using the NCBI BLAST service, including access from the Entrez sequence databases; the new genome BLAST service quick finder; organism limits and other filters; formatting options and downloading options; and TreeView displays. This NCBI webinar was presented on April 29, 2016, and is provided on the NCBI YouTube channel

Reaxys contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need, such as structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions), and physical properties and provides relevant data not found elsewhere, drawn from source publications carefully selected for their importance and relevance to synthetic chemists. The Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry component includes comprehensive pharmacokinetic, efficacy, toxicity, safety, and metabolic profiles, as well as tools for hit set assessment, including an interactive heatmap and bioactivity tables. Includes Beilstein, Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry Database content, as well as information on inorganic and organometallic substances. Provided jointly by UT Southwestern Medical Center Library and the Department of Biochemistry.

Contains full-text journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Also contains abstracts from non-Elsevier core journals in the major scientific disciplines and the ability to link directly to full-text articles licensed through other science, technology, and medicine publishers. Includes Scirus, a Web search engine that focuses on scientific content only and searches both Web and proprietary databases for information that complements ScienceDirect content. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.

Provides graphical access to Chemical Abstracts Service and MEDLINE. Covers the full spectrum of chemical and biomedical information, including biochemistry, organic/inorganic chemistry, and chemical engineering/applied chemistry. Substructure and reaction searching are also available. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.

Multidisciplinary scientific database covering 25 million abstracts from over 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers. Includes journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and Web sites in the physical sciences, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences. Covers journals from 1966 to the present.

A comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information resource, designed to give practical answers to clinicians at the point of care. Access is available for faculty, staff, students, residents, and fellows of UT Southwestern Medical Center, thanks to funding from the Office of the Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School.