LibGuides: Ovid Database Guide: Home

Access Databases

Ovid MEDLINE® All: 1946 to the Present with Daily Update This link opens in a new window Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes Ovid MEDLINE® and Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process, In-Data-Review & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Daily, as well as Medline Versions. (Medline Versions includes records that have additional versions as well as any new record types that are added to Medline.)
Ovid MEDLINE 1946 to the Present with Daily Update This link opens in a new window Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Ovid MEDLINE® Epub Ahead of Print and In-Process, In-Data-Review & Other Non-Indexed Citations This link opens in a new window Contains records with the following possible status besides MEDLINE: Publisher, In-Data-Review, In-Process and PubMed-not-MEDLINE records from NLM. The Publisher records have recently been added to PubMed via electronic submission from a publisher, and are soon to proceed to the next stage, In-Process. This tag is also on citations received before late 2003 if they are from journals not indexed for MEDLINE, or from a journal that was accepted for MEDLINE after the citations' publication date. These citations bibliographic data have not been reviewed. The In-Data-Review records have been submitted to NLM electronically by the publisher, and the journal title, date of publication and volume/issue (source data) are being checked. The In-Process records are undergoing a citation level review; i.e., the author names, article title, and pagination are being checked. The PubMed-not-MEDLINE records have undergone quality review but are not assigned MeSH headings because the cited item is not in scope for MEDLINE either by topic or by date of publication, or is from a non-MEDLINE journal. These records are constantly changing. PubMed-not-MEDLINE records will not be added to the Medline database. Ovid receives records from NLM on a daily basis, however we are dependent upon NLM's update schedule. Note: To search this database by keyword, users will need to deselect the "Map Term to Subject Heading" checkbox because the file does not include MeSH. Also, be aware that these citations have not gone through NLM's quality control process.
Ovid MEDLINE® and Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process, In-Data-Review & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Daily This link opens in a new window Includes citations submitted by publishers to PubMed for articles that appear on the publisher's website in advance of the journal release. The full text of these citations may not be available until the print version of the journal is published because many publishers limit online access to "ahead of print" articles to individual subscribers. Note: The search default is set to "text word" searching only because the file does not include Medical Subject Headings. Also, be aware that these citations have not gone through the National Library of Medicine's quality control process.
Embase® Classic + Embase®: 1947 to the Present (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Contains more than 31 million bibliographic records in peer-reviewed journals, including many unique titles not found in MEDLINE. Ovid offers a single interface to search multiple biomedical databases and full-text resources including MEDLINE and PsycINFO.
APA PsycINFO: 1987 to the Present (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes references and abstracts to nearly 2,500 journals, as well as selected dissertations, book chapters, and books in the English language. Covers 1987 to the present. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
APA PsycINFO: 1806 to the Present (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes references and abstracts to nearly 2,500 journals, as well as selected dissertations, book chapters, and books in the English language. Covers 1806 to the present. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI): 1985 to the Present (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Books@Ovid: Browse Books This link opens in a new window Includes the full text, references, updates, and graphics from selected book editions. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics.
UTSW Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window Provides access to full-text articles, bibliographic citations, abstracts, references, and tables of contents for Ovid journals to which the UT Southwestern Library subscribes. This database is a subset of the complete Journals@Ovid Abstracts and TOC database. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
Journals@Ovid Abstracts and TOC This link opens in a new window An aggregate of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. Provides access to every title for bibliographic citations, references, abstracts, and tables of contents. Covers 1996 to the present for many journals, but the coverage of some journals dates back as far as 1993. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
Biological Abstracts: 1980 to 2003 (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Provides citations for journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the life sciences, animal science, and biology. This closed database file provides information covering 1980 through 2003 via the Ovid database system.

More Information

Ovid is a single interface to multiple biomedical databases and full-text resources, including books and journal articles. Faculty, staff, students, residents, and fellows of UT Southwestern are eligible to use Ovid either on-campus or remotely via EZProxy or VPN.

More information about each database – e.g., general description, search tips, and help – is available by selecting the tab for each database above.

Contact LibAsk
Personal/Group Training Request The Library offers biomedical and other databases and resources in support of the clinical, education, and research activities of the campus. Experts are available to assist you in developing strategies to locate the information you need or enhance your skill set. Training is available for individuals as well as groups.
UTSW Off Campus Access Most of the UT Southwestern Library’s electronic resources (e.g., journals, databases) are available for use off-campus by faculty, staff, students, residents, and fellows of UT Southwestern Medical Center and employees of UT Southwestern University Hospitals. Your status at UT Southwestern and your location will determine which access method is required or recommended.