Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tutorials, FAQs, and Videos

What is AcESO?

AcESO: Academic Enhanced Search Option is the EBSCO Discovery Service for the UT Southwestern Library. Search the database system -- using both basic and advanced search options -- for all Library holdings, including electronic books, journals, full-text articles, digital images, and Institutional Repository content (i.e., theses, dissertations, academic lectures, posters, and presentations).

Browsable and searchable, Ejournals A to Z alphabetically lists all biomedical, academic, and general interest ejournals licensed by UT Southwestern.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) is the electronic system you use to request a resource UT Southwestern Health Science Library and Learning Center does not carry or is listed in the Library Catalog or is housed offsite at the Joint Library Facility (JLF) in College Station, Texas.

Library Catalog FAQ

What is the direct URL to the Library Catalog?
It is http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/libcat.

Search Tips

Basic Search
  • Enter keyword(s) in the search box above (e.g. diabetes mellitus)
  • Limit the number of search results by providing two or more keywords
  • You can also limit your search by title, author, subject, ISBN, series or call number by selecting the appropriate option in the search box drop-down menu.
  • Different forms of a word (child, children, children's) are searched automatically.
  • Results will display in the order of a "relevance" ranking by default
Advanced Search
  • Advanced Search allows for combination of multiple search terms or phrase into separate box. Browse the search box drop-down menus to select specific search fields e.g. title, author, subject, publisher etc.
  • You can also limit your search to type of material, shelving location, date of publication etc.
Search Results Page
  • Use the faceted navigation on the left column to filter the search results
  • Use the "Add to Cart" link to temporarily save item (for printing, emailing or downloading to a citation management software) in the "Cart" near the top of a screen. Use the check boxes to the left of each item if you like to add multiple items into your cart at once.

Remote Storage

What is remote storage?
Items with a remote storage location are at the Joint Library Facility (JLF) in College Station, Texas. Our Library provided the core of a shared resource for the University of Texas and Texas A&M university systems that is used by students and faculty throughout the state, including the new UT System medical schools in Austin and South Texas.

How do I know what materials are in remote storage?
Items that display in the catalog with JLF (Joint Library Facility), JLF--Resource in Common, or JLF--Resource in Common (Pending) are in remote storage.

Is there a difference between the different categories for remote storage?
Items marked as JLF were contributed to JLF from our Library's collection. Items marked as a "Resource In Common" can be claimed by our Library as a shared resource. Pending items have not yet completed processing but can still be requested by clients.

How do I get items from remote storage?
Request items from remote storage through ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).

Will I be charged if I need something from remote storage?
The delivery cost for ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) depends on affiliation and delivery speed. More information is available here.

Location Information

MAIN
Catalog Info Location Access
Archives (E3.314F) Main Library (Middle Floor - Level 3) By appointment (archives@utsouthwestern.edu)
Archives (E3.314G)
Archives (K Annex)
History of Medicine (E3.314F)
History of Medicine (K Annex)
History of Medicine Oversize (E3.314F)
History of Medicine Oversize (K Annex)
History of Medicine Reference (E3.314F)
History of Medicine Reference (K Annex)
Middle Floor (E3.314)
Oversize
Rare Book Room
Rare Book Room Oversize
ONLINE
Catalog Info Location Access
ACE-Skillsoft Link provided in catalog Available 24/7
Ebooks AtoZ
Ejournals AtoZ
Institutional Repository
Internet
REMOTE STORAGE
Catalog Info Location Access

JLF (Joint Library Facility)

These items have been sent to JLF from the Library's collection.

College Station, Texas Request through ILLiad (interlibrary loan)

JLF--Resource in Common (Pending)

These items were not sent to JLF from the Library's collection but can be used as a shared resource when processing is complete.

JLF--Resource in Common

These items were not sent to JLF from the Library's collection but can be used as a shared resource.

Interlibrary Loan

I found an item in the catalog that I need to order through Interlibrary Loan. How do I do that?
Use the link to Interlibrary Loan at the top of the catalog menu to order items you find in the catalog.

Cart

What is the cart?
Use the "Add to Cart" feature in the catalog to print or export a list of items to use in a citation manager, such as EndNote.

How do I add items to the cart?
After searching for ebooks or other resources in the catalog, click the checkbox next to an item to add it to the cart.

Where do I go to print or export the items in the cart?
Click on the cart icon area in the upper left corner of the window. Choose the Print or Download options.

Which download format do I choose for EndNote citations in the cart?
Select the RIS format. The default file will be named cart.ris.

Can I use the cart to directly order items from Interlibrary Loan?
Not at this time. Use the link to Interlibrary Loan at the top of the catalog menu to order items you find in the catalog.