PLEASE NOTE: Library Chat is no longer available.

What is AcESO?

AcESO: Academic Enhanced Search Option is the EBSCO Discovery Service for the UT Southwestern Library. Search the database system -- using both basic and advanced search options -- for all Library holdings, including electronic books, journals, full-text articles, digital images, and Institutional Repository content (i.e., theses, dissertations, academic lectures, posters, and presentations).

Browsable and searchable, Ejournals A to Z alphabetically lists all biomedical, academic, and general interest ejournals licensed by UT Southwestern.

What is the "Find It! UTSW Library" icon or link?

When you search selected Library resources for journal articles, you will see one of the "Find It! UTSW Library" icons or link on every citation. Whenever possible, the system will link you directly to the full-text article.

If the system is unable to link to the full-text (because of a problem somewhere in the linking chain), the "Find It! Options" page will appear, providing multiple options:

• Search Electronic Journals A to Z List
• Search Library Catalog
• Request through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). Users will have to register for ILLiad - if they have not already done so. The ILL request form will be auto-populated if a user has already registered in the ILLiad system.
• Report problem

What is the "Available on Shelf - UTSW Library" icon?

The "Available on Shelf - UTSW Library" icon will appear on your PubMed search results page if the Library owns the printed version of the journal. Clicking on the icon will bring up the item information in the Library Catalog. These holdings are currently at the Joint Library Facility and can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

What is the "Get Full Text - UTSW Library" icon?

The "Get Full Text - UTSW Library" icon will appear on your PubMed search results page when full-text is available.

What are the publisher icons for in PubMed and when do they appear in a citation?

Some journals have an agreement with PubMed to display icons that link to the article on the journal website. Clicking on these icons can have unpredictable results depending on where you are located and if the article is open access. Because of the unpredictable results, we suggest using the "Get Full Text - UTSW Library" or "Find It! UTSW Library" icons when available.

Why is electronic full text not always available?

If Find It! UTSW Library does not provide a direct link to the full-text, it may be because:

• The Library does not subscribe to that journal
• The article is relatively old and the publisher does not have it online
• The journal has not been activated in the service
• The citation contains incorrect or incomplete information

Take advantage of the other links provided on the "Find It! Options" page, including:

• Search Electronic Journals A to Z List, especially for newer articles
• Search Library Catalog for print journal, especially for older articles
• Request through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) if the Library does not own the item
• Report Problem

Which databases will have the "Find It! UTSW Library" icon or link?

The Find It! UTSW Library icon or link is available from within our major journal article databases, including:

• EBSCOHost (i.e., Academic Search Complete, CINAHL)
• Health Reference Center
• Ovid (i.e. MEDLINE and PsycINFO)
• PubMed and other NCBI databases
• Scopus
• Web of Science
• Google Scholar

I'm using Ovid or PubMed from off-campus. I cannot access the full text, even when a link appears on the "Find It! Options" Page. Why?

Most of our ejournals are only available from computers at UT Southwestern Medical Center. UT Southwestern faculty, staff, and students are authorized to use Library resources from remote, off-campus locations such as homes or offices. It is recommended that you use VPN or EZProxy so that you can gain access to full-text articles.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) is the electronic system you use to request a resource UT Southwestern Health Science Library and Learning Center does not carry or is listed in the Library Catalog or is housed offsite at the Joint Library Facility (JLF) in College Station, Texas.

Library Catalog FAQ

What is the direct URL to the Library Catalog?
It is http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/libcat.

Search Tips

Basic Search

• Enter keyword(s) in the search box above (e.g. diabetes mellitus)
• Limit the number of search results by providing two or more keywords
• You can also limit your search by title, author, subject, ISBN, series or call number by selecting the appropriate option in the search box drop-down menu.
• Different forms of a word (child, children, children's) are searched automatically.
• Results will display in the order of a "relevance" ranking by default

Advanced Search

• Advanced Search allows for combination of multiple search terms or phrase into separate box. Browse the search box drop-down menus to select specific search fields e.g. title, author, subject, publisher etc.
• You can also limit your search to type of material, shelving location, date of publication etc.

Search Results Page

• Use the faceted navigation on the left column to filter the search results
• Use the "Add to Cart" link to temporarily save item (for printing, emailing or downloading to a citation management software) in the "Cart" near the top of a screen. Use the check boxes to the left of each item if you like to add multiple items into your cart at once.

Remote Storage

What is remote storage?
Items with a remote storage location are at the Joint Library Facility (JLF) in College Station, Texas. Our Library provided the core of a shared resource for the University of Texas and Texas A&M university systems that is used by students and faculty throughout the state, including the new UT System medical schools in Austin and South Texas.

How do I know what materials are in remote storage?
Items that display in the catalog with JLF (Joint Library Facility), JLF--Resource in Common, or JLF--Resource in Common (Pending) are in remote storage.

Is there a difference between the different categories for remote storage?
Items marked as JLF were contributed to JLF from our Library's collection. Items marked as a "Resource In Common" can be claimed by our Library as a shared resource. Pending items have not yet completed processing but can still be requested by clients.

How do I get items from remote storage?
Request items from remote storage through ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).

Will I be charged if I need something from remote storage?
The delivery cost for ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) depends on affiliation and delivery speed. More information is available here.

Location Information

MAIN

ONLINE

REMOTE STORAGE

Interlibrary Loan

I found an item in the catalog that I need to order through Interlibrary Loan. How do I do that?
Use the link to Interlibrary Loan at the top of the catalog menu to order items you find in the catalog.

Cart

What is the cart?
Use the "Add to Cart" feature in the catalog to print or export a list of items to use in a citation manager, such as EndNote.

How do I add items to the cart?
After searching for ebooks or other resources in the catalog, click the checkbox next to an item to add it to the cart.

Where do I go to print or export the items in the cart?
Click on the cart icon area in the upper left corner of the window. Choose the Print or Download options.

Which download format do I choose for EndNote citations in the cart?
Select the RIS format. The default file will be named cart.ris.

Can I use the cart to directly order items from Interlibrary Loan?
Not at this time. Use the link to Interlibrary Loan at the top of the catalog menu to order items you find in the catalog.