Advanced Practice Nursing Leadership: A Global Perspective (Springer Nature) by
Highlights global APN leadership and includes case studies on leadership from various regions around the world. Provides a specific emphasis on academic, clinical, and policy leadership and is relevant for all readers.
Building a Culture of Ownership in Healthcare: The Invisible Architecture of Core Values, Attitude, and Self-Empowerment, 2nd ed. (AccessAPN) by
Takes readers on a journey from accountability to ownership -- providing a proven model, strategies, and practical solutions to help improve organizational culture in the healthcare setting. Describes how investing in your organization and your people can enable a significant, successful change in productivity; employee engagement; nurse satisfaction, recruitment, and retention; quality of care; patient satisfaction; and financial outcomes.
De-Escalating Violence in Healthcare: Strategies to Reduce Emotional Tension and Aggression (AccessAPN) by
Provides tools and techniques to help nurses and other healthcare professionals manage aggressive behavior and foster a safer workplace.
High Reliability Organizations: A Healthcare Handbook for Patient Safety and Quality, 2nd ed. (AccessAPN) by
Equips nurses and healthcare professionals with the tools necessary to establish an error detection and prevention system. This new edition builds on the foundation of the first book with best practices, relevant exemplars, and important discussions about cultural aspects essential to sustainability. New material focuses on high reliability performance during a pandemic; organizational learning and tiered safety huddles; high reliability in infection prevention and ambulatory care; the emerging field of human factors engineering within healthcare; and creating a virtual resource toolkit for frontline staff.
Influencer: The New Science of Leading Change, 2nd ed. (AccessAPN) by
Combines the insights of behavioral scientists and business leaders with the astonishing stories of high-powered influencers from all walks of life. Describes how to identify high-leverage behaviors that lead to rapid and profound change; apply strategies for changing both thoughts and actions; and marshal six sources of influence to make change inevitable.
Lean Hospitals: Improving Quality, Patient Safety, and Employee Engagement, 3rd ed. (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Explains how to use the Lean methodology and mindsets to improve safety, quality, access, and morale while reducing costs, increasing capacity, and strengthening the long-term bottom line.
Nurse's Healthcare Ethics Committee Handbook: Use of Leadership, Advocacy, and Empowerment to Develop a Nurse-Led Ethics Committee (AccessAPN) by
Focuses on a nurse-led ethics consultative service. Provides tools that nursing students, professionals, administrators, and other members of the healthcare team need to develop infrastructure and processes that support nurses in an ethics committee leadership role. Outlines a step-by-step process for nurses to evaluate ethical cases and the risks involved
Nurse Burnout: Combating Stress in Nursing (AccessAPN) by
Explores the stress-fatigue-burnout connection, the risks involved, and defines the health concerns and practice considerations for how to move the profession forward. Provides nurses with the tools they need to set boundaries and combat compassion fatigue in order to renew energy to be at their personal and professional best.
Nurse Manager's Guide to Budgeting and Finance, 3rd ed. (AccessAPN) by
Provides practical tools, tips, and strategies for running a unit that were not taught in nursing school:, including operating and capital budget development and planning for the year; formulas and calculations for full-time employee hours, variances, and benefit costs; explanation of financial statements, budgets, and reimbursement documents; the relationship between high reliability organizations (HROs) and finance/budgets; and differences between not-for-profit and for-profit institutions.
Nurse on Board: Planning Your Path to the Boardroom (AccessAPN) by
Provides the tools needed to attain and succeed in one's first board role -- or advance into ever-greater board responsibilities. Guides readers by sharing best practices, data, and advice from seasoned board leaders; explanations of different types of boards, how they work, and the required skills and experiences; how boards recruit new members and how to best position oneself as a candidate; and how to develop, nurture, and leverage personal and professional networks when board roles become available.
Road to Leadership (AccessAPN) by
Presents nine valuable leadership lessons from award-winning author and international nurse leader Carol Huston. From finding a mentor to learning the art of communication, this engaging book will help you break free of professional limits and define your own effective leadership skills.
Strategic Planning for Advanced Nursing Practice (Springer Nature) by
Explains the usefulness of negotiation and diplomacy skills in order to support the development of an advanced nursing practice (ANP) initiative that involves the identification of pivotal issues. Includes a definition of strategic planning, essential factors to bear in mind, and frameworks to use in the context of formulating effective policies.