Advanced Practice Nursing: Core Concepts for Professional Role Development, 4th ed. (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Remains a key title serving graduate-level advanced practice nurses (APNs) and recent graduates about to launch their careers. Outlines what is required of the APN, with guidelines for professional practice for each of the four APN roles: the nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse midwife, and certified registered nurse anesthetist.
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, 4th ed. (AccessAPN) by
A practical and useful guide that removes the fear and confusion surrounding the writing and publishing process. Provides important insights to help craft a quality manuscript and get it accepted for publication.
Business Administration for Clinical Trials: Managing Research, Strategy, Finance, Regulation, and Quality (AccessAPN) by
Provides research professionals with a deeper understanding of strategic planning, financial management, and regulatory implementation. Demonstrates a strategy for managing a portfolio of clinical trials, provides tactics and real-world examples, and helps the reader adapt them to their own research site.
Business Basics for Nurses (AccessAPN) by
A practical guide that informs and expands thinking for nurses considering or already involved in business. Provides guidance on evaluating business processes; understanding marketing, demonstrating leadership, and leveraging technology; determining value; building business plans; creating or assessing infrastructure; ensuring compliance, understanding finance, and capitalizing on expertise; and influencing external and internal environments.
Career Handoff: A Healthcare Leader's Guide to Knowledge & Wisdom Transfer Across Generations (AccessAPN) by
Helps healthcare and nurse leaders proactively preserve and pass on their valuable knowledge and wisdom to new generations. Emphasizes mentoring and sustainability of expertise and aims to facilitate smooth transitions and the continued viability of healthcare organizations.
Case Studies in Gerontological Nursing for the Advanced Practice Nurse (Wiley Online Library) by
A resource for advanced practice nurses in any setting that presents readers with a range of both typical and atypical cases from real clinical scenarios. Each case follows a similar format including the patient's presentation, critical thinking questions, and a thorough discussion of the case resolution through which students and clinicians can enhance their clinical reasoning skills.
Critical Conversations in Healthcare: Scripts and Techniques for Effective Interprofessional and Patient Communication, 2nd ed. (AccessAPN) by
Provides scripts and scenarios to facilitate better, more effective communication in healthcare settings. Features dos and don'ts, reflective questions, and practical tools to help improve on-the-job interactions.
Cultural Sensibility in Healthcare: A Personal and Professional Guidebook (AccessAPN) by
Offers healthcare providers a process that encourages them to first consider their own attitudes, biases, beliefs, and prejudices through self-reflection. Challenges readers to examine cultural issues beyond just theory and to instead explore culture as it affects their professional roles thus creating culturally sensibility health care encounters.
De-Escalating Violence in Healthcare: Strategies to Reduce Emotional Tension and Aggression (AccessAPN) by
Provides tools and techniques to help nurses and other healthcare professionals manage aggressive behavior and foster a safer workplace.
Delivering Quality Healthcare for People with Disability (AccessAPN) by
Provides a road map for nurses, nursing students, and other healthcare professionals to deliver quality healthcare for individuals with disability. From social determinants of health to disability models to an understanding of different types of disability, the author helps nurses take the lead in redefining education and addressing the needs of people with disability.
Emotion in the Clinical Encounter (AccessMedicine) by
An essential guide to help both trainees and established clinicians sharpen their skills in learning the science of emotion, as it relates to clinical care; understanding the role of emotion in illness; recognizing the connection between clinical response to patient emotions and care outcomes; developing effective strategies for emotion recognition; building strong emotional dialogue skills for medical encounters; identifying biases that may shape clinical interactions and subsequent outcomes; understanding emotion regulation in patients, providers, and in the clinical relationship; addressing challenges and opportunities for clinical emotional wellness; and identifying a new path forward for delivering emotion-based medical school curricula.
Fast Facts for the Nurse Preceptor, 2nd ed. (ProQuest Ebook Central) by
Provides novice nurse preceptors with step-by-step guidance on how to successfully orient new nurses to the hospital environment. Explains all the requisites for demonstrating, guiding, and mentoring new nurses through the process of delivering safe, evidence-based, patient-centered care.
Fostering Clinical Success: Using Clinical Narratives for Interprofessional Team Partnerships from Massachusetts General (AccessAPN) by
Presents the model developed by nurse leaders at Massachusetts General Hospital for creating, embedding, and fostering a narrative culture. Demonstrates the hospital's systematic use of clinical narratives to improve patient care and increase patient, family, and staff satisfaction while reducing costs.
Learning in Adulthood, 4th ed. (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Integrates foundational research and current knowledge to present fresh, original perspectives on teaching and learning in adulthood. Draws from work in sociology, philosophy, critical social theory, psychology, and education to provide an inclusive overview of adult learning.
Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research, and Practice, 4th ed. (AccessAPN) by
Offers theoretical and practical guidance about the provision of client-focused care by integrating cultural values, beliefs, and lifeways into an individualized plan of care. Presents a global comparative perspective about Western and non-Western cultures and examines the potential future directions for transcultural nursing with insights into rural and urban cultures in the United States including the culture of homeless mothers and children.
Mastering Precepting, 2nd ed. (ProQuest Ebook Central) by
Teaches preceptors both the science and art of education and empowers them to seek the support they need to be effective. Emphasizes the importance of providing nurse preceptors with positive and supportive experiences.
Nurse's Healthcare Ethics Committee Handbook: Use of Leadership, Advocacy, and Empowerment to Develop a Nurse-Led Ethics Committee (AccessAPN) by
Focuses on a nurse-led ethics consultative service. Provides tools that nursing students, professionals, administrators, and other members of the healthcare team need to develop infrastructure and processes that support nurses in an ethics committee leadership role. Outlines a step-by-step process for nurses to evaluate ethical cases and the risks involved
Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project: Taking Your Paper from Graduation to Publication (AccessAPN) by
A concise guide to preparing and polishing work for publication. Offers information on everything from honing essential writing skills to choosing a publisher to submitting your manuscript -- and all the steps in between.
Nurse Burnout: Combating Stress in Nursing (AccessAPN) by
Explores the stress-fatigue-burnout connection, the risks involved, and defines the health concerns and practice considerations for how to move the profession forward. Provides nurses with the tools they need to set boundaries and combat compassion fatigue in order to renew energy to be at their personal and professional best.
Nursing Professional Development for Clinical Educators (ProQuest Ebook Central) by
Provides essential guidance in understanding the roles and responsibilities of nursing staff development, orienting nursing staff to the clinical unit, developing educational programs, and helping staff develop as professionals.
Role Development for the Nurse Practitioner, 2nd ed. (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides a comprehensive framework for interactive discussions on the role of the nurse practitioner, giving students a full understanding of the skills and knowledge needed for this dynamic profession. Offers a variety of nurse practitioner real-world stories to illustrate important points and to assist in the transition from RN to NP.
Successful Transition to Practice: A Guide for the New Nurse Practitioner (AccessAPN) by
A much-needed guide to help navigate the path from new graduate to the certification and on-boarding process and successful employment. Explains the most confusing aspects of transitioning, from studies to full-time work, including applying for licensure, what to expect in an interview, insurance needs, hospital credentialing and more.
Teaching in the Hospital (R2 Digital Library) by
Offers a unique perspective on the goals of inpatient teaching and practical advice for hospitalists and attendings who teach on the wards. Provides hospital-based educators with tools and techniques for establishing and communicating expectations and responsibilities; conducting rounds to ensure education complements patient care; enhancing learning by using illustrations, analogies, mnemonics, and other tricks of the trade; and coaching learners in the science of clinical reasoning, communication, time management, and interpersonal relations.
