The Texas Physicians Historical Biographical Database consists of citations to biographical information related to more than 10,000 Texas physicians who either practiced in or had strong historical connections to Texas.
Originating from a physical catalog of citations maintained by the UT Southwestern Library, the database includes online references to full text, and more recent entries.
Original citations were pulled from the Texas State Journal of Medicine for 1905-1966. Additional citations from other sources range in dates from the 1870s to 1966, and include early Texas medical journals such as the Texas Courier-Record of Medicine, Polk's Directories, Texas newspapers and assorted histories of Texas. Many of these citations are one-line death notices, rather than extensive obituaries, and so they were not indexed in standard sources such as Index Medicus.
The database consists of citations and does not include the full text of the biographical material. Where possible, online references link to full text. If a citation includes an OCLC number, your local library's interlibrary loan department can use this number to locate which libraries actually own the primary source.
Most records also include the year of birth or death, but not the entire birth or death date. The database is searchable by last name only or by last name and first initial. Some physicians are also searchable by the city in which they primarily practiced. You can also browse from an alphabetical index of last names.
The initial database creation was funded by Texas Treasures grants. The expansion is made possible by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. (2014).
