The UT Southwestern Archives is responsible for collecting, processing, preserving, and providing access to the records essential to documenting the administrative, intellectual, and social life of UT Southwestern Medical Center. The archives is dedicated to documenting:
The UT Southwestern Special Collections and Archives has a small collection of artifacts, most dating from the late 1800s to the early 1900s. Examples of items include microscopes, boxed sets of surgical instruments, pharmaceutical containers, and medicine kits.
The UT Southwestern Digital Collections contains two image-based collections, one covering the history of medicine in Dallas from 1890 to 1975, and the other focusing on the history of UT Southwestern from 1943 to the present.
The UT Southwestern Institutional Repository collects, preserves, and distributes digital material pertaining to the clinical, educational, and research missions of the university. Repositories are important tools for preserving an organization’s legacy; they facilitate digital preservation and scholarly communications.
Content in the institutional repository of interest to the Special Collections and Archives includes:
The Texas Physicians Historical Biographical Database consists of citations to biographical information related to over 10,000 Texas Physicians who practiced in Texas, or had strong historical connections to Texas.
The UT Southwestern Rare Book Collection contains primary and secondary resource books.
Primary resource books are those which—through their groundbreaking content—have influenced the development of medicine and health care.
Secondary resource books are descriptive—presenting discoveries, individuals, institutions and events—which have played a role in the evolution of health care.
Use the library's online catalog to identify books on your desired topic. Contact archives@utsouthwestern.edu for an appointment to view materials.