Skip to Main Content

Special Collections Library & Archives

About Special Collections & Archives

The Special Collections Library and Archives is the home of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center's collection of archival materials, artifacts, history of medicine journals, monographs, and rare books. The UT Southwestern Special Collections Library and Archives supports education and research using their unique collections. 

We promote diverse and engaging perspectives on the history of health sciences and UT Southwestern through our archival records, rare books, exhibits, and the UT Southwestern Institutional Repository.

Visiting Special Collections & Archives

The UT Southwestern Special Collections Library and Archives is located on the third floor of the Florence ("E") building, suite E3.314.

The hours are Monday through Thursday, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. Appointment is required to view materials.

To ask a question or make an appointment, email archives@utsouthwestern.edu.

Please review the Special Collections and Archives Access and Use Policy prior to your visit.

A Research Agreement Form is required as part of the visit.

Research Values Statement

The UT Southwestern Special Collections Library and Archives provides researchers access to institutional records created or received in the course of official UT Southwestern business as well as manuscript collections donated by students, faculty, alumni, and university affiliated organizations. These materials allow internal and external researchers to discover how UT Southwestern Medical Center has evolved and grown as a preeminent educational, research, and clinical care academic medical institution.

Medical & Vital Records

The Special Collections Library and Archives frequently receives requests for medical and vital records but we do not store these items. 

For Medical Records from UT Southwestern please contact the Department of Medical Records by email Medical.Records@UTSouthwestern.edu. You can also get more information on receiving medical records on their website https://utswmed.org/locations/clements/william-p-clements-jr-university-hospital/patients/medical-records/

For Vital Records from the City of Dallas please visit their website at https://dallascityhall.com/departments/community-care/Pages/vital_statistics.aspx

For Vital Records outside the City of Dallas please visit the State of Texas's vital records website at https://www.texas.gov/texas-vital-records/

Request Materials

The Special Collections Library and Archives takes requests for reproductions and publishing permission. There is a fee associated for both services with the money going to the archives to purchase preservation materials. 

In order to request a reproduction or publishing permission please fill out our Reproductions and Publishing Form and send the completed copy to archives@utsouthwestern.edu

Reproduction Price List

Due to variations in size and condition of collection materials, some reproduction processes may not be available. Reproduction of items requiring special care may incur additional costs.

If a reproduction is being used for publication, the intended use section of the Reproduction and Permission to Publish form must be provided before the request will be processed.

*A second copy of the form will need to be completed if the client would like to republish an item that they previously ordered from the UT Southwestern Special Collections Library and Archives.

Previously digitized materials are made available at a set cost no matter the length or the size of the item.

Pre-payment is required for all reproduction requests.

Delivery

Depending on the size of the item we will either email it to the recipient or it will be delivered via an OneDrive or a Google Drive link.

Prices per Item

Photographs and Documents:

Up to size 11x17 at 300 dpi                                                                      $25

                                    Additional cost per 300 dpi increment                                            $15    

                         Previously Digitized                                                                                  $25

Audiovisual Materials

Up to 15 minutes                                                                                       $30

                                    Additional cost per 15 minute increments                                      $15

                         Previously Digitized                                                                                   $35

              Thesis/ Dissertations

                        Up to 200 pages                                                                                         $40

                                Additional cost per 50 pages                                                               $5

 

Publishing of Image or Reuse of Item Fee

                    Publishing Fee                                                                                                 $20

 

Rush Orders

             Theses/ Dissertations                                                                                             $70
                         *Has a 2 day turn around time

                Photographs/ Audiovisual Materials/ Other Document Types                             $50
                          *Has a 3 day turn around time

 

Payments

Payments can be made by cash, check, credit card, or IDS. 

For credit card payments, please click the blue button below to go to the payment portal.  Enter your credit/debit card, your first and last name, amount of the invoice, invoice number and select the appropriate option in the Service Type dropdown so that we can post the payment to your account correctly and promptly.  Contact LibADS@utsouthwestern.edu if you have any questions or issues.