LibGuides: Medical Students Guide : Home

Commonly Used Resources

Welcome! This guide covers Library resources and services for medical students at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

Ask Questions, Request Training, View Video Tutorials
Ask a Librarian Question Form	Request Individual/Small Group Training
UTSW Library FAQs	UTSW Library Video Tutorials

Popular Resources for UTSW Medical Students
EndNote Citation Manager	Find Full-Text Journals and Articles
UTSW UpToDate Access	Find E-Books
PubMed@UTSW	Mobile Resources Guide
Interlibrary Loan	Clinical Reference Guide

Research and Clinical Help Guides
Systematic Review Service Guide	Responsible Literature Searching Guide
Evidence-Based Practice Guide	Research Cycle Guide
Grants & Funding Guide	Poster & Presentation Support Guide
Author Profiles Guide	Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Guide

The UTSW Library provides access to over 300 medical and academic databases. The databases listed below are some of the most commonly used resources for medical students. You can view and search a complete list of Library databases at the following link:

A-Z Databases

Databases that have more point-of-care and background resources can be found on the Point of Care/Background Information Resources page of this guide.

PubMed This link opens in a new window The U.S. National Library of Medicine's database of peer-reviewed literature covers research in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the preclinical sciences. Contains more than 26 million references dating back to the 1940s. Easy access to the Library's ejournals is available through a customized PubMed version, which may be accessed from the Library's home page. Off-campus access to this customized version is available through EZProxy.
Ovid MEDLINE 1946 to the Present with Daily Update This link opens in a new window Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary scientific database covering 25 million abstracts from over 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers. Includes journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and Web sites in the physical sciences, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences. Covers journals from 1966 to the present.
Embase: 1974 to the Present (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Try Embase, an Ovid-based biomedical and pharmacological database, added to The Health Sciences Digital Library and Learning Center resources. Contains more than 31 million bibliographic records in peer-reviewed journals, including 2,900 unique titles not found in MEDLINE. Ovid offers a single interface to search multiple biomedical databases and full-text resources including MEDLINE and PsycINFO.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window Covers more than 12,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 150,000 conferences. Includes cited reference searching and Citation Maps (i.e., a graphical representation that shows citation relationships between a paper and other papers). Access is provided to the Science Citation Index Expanded® (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index® (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science Edition (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings: Social Sciences & Humanities Edition (1990-present). Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new window A peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical, and physical research in a video format. Note: The following sections are fully licensed by the UT Southwestern Library: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology & Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. Other sections are not licensed, although some content may be available through open access.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window An image-based differential diagnosis tool that is designed to help quickly identify diseases or conditions at the point of care. Includes more than 25,000 medical images and over 1,300 pediatric and adult conditions.
APA PsycInfo (APA PsycNET) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes more than 3 million references from journals, books, reviews, and dissertations from the early 1800s to the present. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
Premier Human Anatomy Package (Primal Pictures) This link opens in a new window Provides detailed views of the human anatomy at various anatomical levels, from bone to surface structure and every layer in between. Anatomy and clinical text are provided for each section, and models may be rotated to view parts from all perspectives. Authorized users may download, save, and print images, but please note that all material, unless otherwise noted, is protected by copyright law. Interactive MRI and self-guided quizzes are also available. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Digital Libraries.
Pronunciator This link opens in a new window Pronunciator is a fun and easy way to learn to speak, read, and write in more than 100 languages. Includes live tutors, feature films, music with lyrics, pronunciation analysis, quizzes, and more! Also features ESL for over 75 non-English languages, plus free apps for Android, Apple, and Kindle Fire devices.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window An image-based differential diagnosis tool that is designed to help quickly identify diseases or conditions at the point of care. Includes more than 25,000 medical images and over 1,300 pediatric and adult conditions.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Covers more than 12,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 150,000 conferences. Includes cited reference searching and Citation Maps (i.e., a graphical representation that shows citation relationships between a paper and other papers). Access is provided to the Science Citation Index Expanded® (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index® (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science Edition (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings: Social Sciences & Humanities Edition (1990-present). Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.

Some databases are mostly background information like textbooks, clinical guidelines, and/or point-of-care resources. Some of these resources also include information and handouts for your patients. Most of these databases have apps for convenient use on your phone or tablet. It's helpful to explore these resources and find the ones that work best for you personally as resources for quick reference, patient care and continuing education. To see more about mobile resources, see our Mobile Resources Guide.

If you're working on more in-depth research, remember background sources can also help you find keywords for database searches.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides the full text of medical textbooks, including many of the Lange Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment series. It also includes a searchable drug list with medication photos and costs and Lange's Self Assessment Tool, powered by USMLEasy. Users can browse each title's table of contents or search the full text. Clinical and basic science reference books feature an option at the chapter level to download full text to a personal digital assistant (PDA) or other mobile device.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey is a medical search engine and database tool that offers access to Elsevier's medical content. Includes a large number of electronic books, electronic journals, video-based procedures, and more. ClinicalKey replaces MD Consult and First Consult.
UpToDate® Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information resource, designed to give practical answers to clinicians at the point of care. Access is available for faculty, staff, students, residents, and fellows of UT Southwestern Medical Center, thanks to funding from the Office of the Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School.
STAT!Ref @ TDS Health This link opens in a new window STAT!Ref is an intuitive full-text resource that enables users to cross-search evidence-based and authoritative healthcare references in seconds. With 400+ titles currently offered in over 50 healthcare disciplines, STAT!Ref provides the latest healthcare information in a customizable and convenient cross-searchable format. Provided by UT Southwestern and TexShare.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination® (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course, featuring more than 8 hours of video content. Also includes clinical skills videos to help prepare for the Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCEs). Users may register and sign with a free personal account to access resources remotely for 90 days.
LWW Health Library Premium Basic Science Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to clinical and educational content, as well as rich multimedia resources for teaching, learning, and practice. Includes more than 40 basic and anatomical science textbooks, plus Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.
MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window Provides a wide range of evidence based information as well as access to English and Spanish patient education handouts. Features comprehensive drug details (DRUGDEX®), drug interactions (DRUG-REAX®), imprint code identification (IDENTIDEX®), toxicology and hazard data (TOMES®), identification and management of drug overdoses and toxicologic exposures (POSINDEX®), evaluation of human reproductive risks of drugs (REPRORISK®), and answers to IV drug compatibility questions (IV INDEX®).
USMLE First Aid eBook Collection (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 20 USMLE study aids published by McGraw-Hill, including the First Aid series.