LibGuides: Help Finding Print or Electronic Books: Home

UT Southwestern Library electronic books (ebooks) can be accessed on the following digital platforms:

AccessAPN This link opens in a new window A comprehensive online resource dedicated to the education of advanced practice nursing students that is provided by McGraw Hill in partnership with Sigma Theta Tau. Features a wide range of content that aligns perfectly with the curricula of advanced practice nursing programs, including those for Nursing Practitioners, Clinical Nurse Specialists, Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists, Certified Nurse Midwives, and Doctors of Nursing Practice.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides the full text of medical textbooks, including many of the Lange Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment series. It also includes a searchable drug list with medication photos and costs and Lange's Self Assessment Tool, powered by USMLEasy. Users can browse each title's table of contents or search the full text. Clinical and basic science reference books feature an option at the chapter level to download full text to a personal digital assistant (PDA) or other mobile device.
AccessObGyn This link opens in a new window AccessObGyn is a comprehensive online ObGyn resource covers the entire spectrum of obstetrics and gynecology and may be viewed on any device. Updated regularly.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs, and supplements. The site provides access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window A comprehensive online physiotherapy resource that integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool. It provides PT students with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading physical therapy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning and allows physical therapists to brush up on their knowledge or access quick answers as the need arises.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Advances in Chemistry Series Ebooks This link opens in a new window This book series was published from 1949 to 1998 and provided an opportunity to publish content and special topics beyond the scope of existing ACS journals. Browse the collection by year or search by keyword in the book title. For more detailed searching, use the search box at the top of the page.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Symposium Series Ebooks This link opens in a new window Includes high-quality, peer-reviewed electronic books covering a broad range of topics (e.g., agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, and materials). Browse the collection by year or search by keyword in the book title. For more detailed searching, use the search box at the top of the page.
American Society for Microbiology (ASM) Ebooks This link opens in a new window Search or browse the electronic books published by the American Society for Microbiology in a broad range of microbiology disciplines. Subscribed content is identified with a green padlock icon. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
Books@Ovid: Browse Books This link opens in a new window Includes the full text, references, updates, and graphics from selected book editions. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics.
Cambridge Core : Books This link opens in a new window Provides access to the specific electronic books (and other objects) published by Cambridge University Press to which the UT Southwestern subscribes or provides perpetual access.
Case Files® Collection This link opens in a new window Provides case content in an interactive format. Content includes basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases. Users must have a MyAccess personal account.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey is a medical search engine and database tool that offers access to Elsevier's medical content. Includes a large number of electronic books, electronic journals, video-based procedures, and more. ClinicalKey replaces MD Consult and First Consult.
ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new window Provides nursing professionals with clinically relevant answers from Elseviers content, including evidence-based nursing monographs, books, journals, practice guidelines, and core measures with nursing recommendations. Access to ClinicalKey for Nursing is available to UT Southwestern nursing staff, faculty, staff, students, residents, and fellows through funding provided by UT Southwestern Nursing Services.

De Gruyter Online Books Provides the complete set of electronic books that are published or maintained by De Gruyter. Look for the "Licensed Access" symbol for available materials. Provided by the UT Southwestern Library and UT System Digital Libraries.

eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Offers the full text of scholarly, reference, and professional books. Access is provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries and TexShare.
F.A. Davis PT Collection (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive digital collection of physical therapy books to support educators and students in physical therapy programs.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Group) This link opens in a new window Database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Includes some biomedical titles. Provided by UT Southwestern and UT System libraries.
GeriatricsCareOnline.org This link opens in a new window Provides high-quality, trustworthy information created to ensure that all health care professionals have the latest research on caring for older adults. Offers an optimized search tool to enable you to search across the AGS product portfolio and quickly find tools and products that meet your specific needs. Provided by the American Geriatrics Society.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window JAMAevidence combines three evidence-based (EBM) textbooks (Users Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3rd. ed.; The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis; Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience), as well as other educational tools for EBM training.
LWW Health Library Premium Basic Science Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to clinical and educational content, as well as rich multimedia resources for teaching, learning, and practice. Includes more than 40 basic and anatomical science textbooks, plus Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.
Pediatric Surgery NaT (Unbound Medicine) This link opens in a new window "Designed for both practicing and in-training pediatric surgeons, the Pediatric Surgery NaT is updated quarterly so you will know what strategies, techniques and procedures are being used right now. It is written for pediatric surgeons by pediatric surgeons and contains learning objectives, images, videos and links to MOC CME and the medical literature." (Publisher's website)
Project MUSE: Ebooks This link opens in a new window Provides access to electronic books from distinguished university press and scholarly societies in a wide range of subjects within medicine, science, and the humanities. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries, as part of a pilot project to acquire ebooks based on client usage and/or demand.
ProQuest Ebook Central: Spanish Language Resources This link opens in a new window Includes over 100,000 titles from more than 500 publishers, 95% from Latin America and Spain, as well as open access titles. Books for the collection are selected for both research and instructional value from leading commercial, academic and university press publishers from Spain and all countries in Latin America. The full range of academic topics is covered in the collection, as well as more general reference works. Provided by UT Southwestern and TexShare.
ProQuest Ebook Central: All Available Books This link opens in a new window Offers carefully curated ebooks spanning coverage in a variety of topics with exceptional strength in computers and IT, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math. Includes publishers such as Wiley, Island Press, World Scientific Press, University of North Carolina Press, Elsevier Science, Rutgers University Press, and Temple University Press. Provided by UT Southwestern and TexShare.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window PsychiatryOnline.com offers a single portal for a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Resources supporting diagnosis, treatment, research, and professional development are included. The MyPsychiatry Online feature allows the use of special features like PDA eBook downloads, bookmarks, and saved searches.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window Includes the full text, references, updates, and graphics from selected book editions.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty, and students with their research projects. Includes links to more than 1,000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
ScienceDirect® This link opens in a new window Contains full-text journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Also contains abstracts from non-Elsevier core journals in the major scientific disciplines and the ability to link directly to full-text articles licensed through other science, technology, and medicine publishers. Includes Scirus, a Web search engine that focuses on scientific content only and searches both Web and proprietary databases for information that complements ScienceDirect content. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
SpringerLink Home - Main This link opens in a new window SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for materials published by Springer. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
Stahl Online (Cambridge University Press) This link opens in a new window Provides full access to the entire current Cambridge portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Stephen Stahl. Includes prescribing information and patient guidance materials.
STAT!Ref @ TDS Health This link opens in a new window STAT!Ref is an intuitive full-text resource that enables users to cross-search evidence-based and authoritative healthcare references in seconds. With 400+ titles currently offered in over 50 healthcare disciplines, STAT!Ref provides the latest healthcare information in a customizable and convenient cross-searchable format. Provided by UT Southwestern and TexShare.
STS Cardiothoracic Surgery (Unbound Medicine) This link opens in a new window This essential resource in the field of adult and congenital cardiac surgery is intended to be used by health care professionals who provide heart, lung, esophageal, and other surgical procedures of the chest. Includes two volumes: Pearson's General Thoracic Surgery, an updated and expanded version of the popular Pearson's Thoracic textbook for general thoracic surgery, and Adult and Pediatric Cardiac Surgery. Developed by the Society of Thoracic Surgeons.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window A large collection of ebooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities, and social science. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Digital Libraries.
Thieme MedOne Plastic Surgery This link opens in a new window A learning and technical tool for practitioners and students in plastic surgery. This resource is a consolidated product that includes electronic books, electronic journals (with a 5-year rolling archive), procedures, media, etc. Funding provided by the UT Southwestern Department of Plastic Surgery.
USMLE First Aid eBook Collection (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 20 USMLE study aids published by McGraw-Hill, including the First Aid series.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Searchable interface to some full-text John Wiley & Sons journals, tables of contents, and abstracts. Journal subject coverage includes chemistry, engineering, life and medical sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, and psychology. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.

Additional Recommendations

Search Library Catalog (UT Southwestern) for print and electronic books.

Library Catalog (UT Southwestern)

Search WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) for books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records representing 400 languages. A service of TexShare.

If you did not find what you needed, go to the Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Login page to request a book or journal article.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Login ILLiad is the electronic system used to request an item through Interlibrary Loan. The name ILLiad can be thought of as an acronym for "Inter Library Loan Internet Accessible Database".

If you think that the Library should acquire a copy of a title, submit a Suggest a Book/Journal request.

Suggest a Book/Journal (UT Southwestern) Complete this form to submit a book or journal request to the UT Southwestern Library.

Note: All requests are carefully reviewed and prioritized based on certain criteria. For an explanation of the criteria, please view Collection Recommendations: Books & Journals.