LibGuides: Residents & Fellows Guide: Point of Care/Background Information Resources

Point of Care Resources

Some databases are mostly background information like textbooks, clinical guidelines, and/or point-of-care resources. Some of these resources also include information and handouts for your patients. Most of these databases have apps for convenient use on your phone or tablet. It's helpful to explore these resources and find the ones that work best for you personally as resources for quick reference, patient care and continuing education. To see more about mobile resources, see our Mobile Resources Guide.

If you're working on more in-depth research, remember background sources can also help you find keywords for database searches.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides the full text of medical textbooks, including many of the Lange Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment series. It also includes a searchable drug list with medication photos and costs and Lange's Self Assessment Tool, powered by USMLEasy. Users can browse each title's table of contents or search the full text. Clinical and basic science reference books feature an option at the chapter level to download full text to a personal digital assistant (PDA) or other mobile device.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination® (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course, featuring more than 8 hours of video content. Also includes clinical skills videos to help prepare for the Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCEs). Users may register and sign with a free personal account to access resources remotely for 90 days.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey is a medical search engine and database tool that offers access to Elsevier's medical content. Includes a large number of electronic books, electronic journals, video-based procedures, and more. ClinicalKey replaces MD Consult and First Consult.

LWW Health Library Premium Basic Science Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to clinical and educational content, as well as rich multimedia resources for teaching, learning, and practice. Includes more than 40 basic and anatomical science textbooks, plus Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.
MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window Provides a wide range of evidence based information as well as access to English and Spanish patient education handouts. Features comprehensive drug details (DRUGDEX®), drug interactions (DRUG-REAX®), imprint code identification (IDENTIDEX®), toxicology and hazard data (TOMES®), identification and management of drug overdoses and toxicologic exposures (POSINDEX®), evaluation of human reproductive risks of drugs (REPRORISK®), and answers to IV drug compatibility questions (IV INDEX®).
STAT!Ref @ TDS Health This link opens in a new window STAT!Ref is an intuitive full-text resource that enables users to cross-search evidence-based and authoritative healthcare references in seconds. With 400+ titles currently offered in over 50 healthcare disciplines, STAT!Ref provides the latest healthcare information in a customizable and convenient cross-searchable format. Provided by UT Southwestern and TexShare.
UpToDate® Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information resource, designed to give practical answers to clinicians at the point of care. Access is available for faculty, staff, students, residents, and fellows of UT Southwestern Medical Center, thanks to funding from the Office of the Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School.
USMLE First Aid eBook Collection (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 20 USMLE study aids published by McGraw-Hill, including the First Aid series.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window An image-based differential diagnosis tool that is designed to help quickly identify diseases or conditions at the point of care. Includes more than 25,000 medical images and over 1,300 pediatric and adult conditions.

Specialized Background Databases

AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction -- all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content -- optimized for viewing on any device.
AccessNeurology This link opens in a new window Offers a new approach to neurology reference, research, and curricular instruction and covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content. Helps students excel in their clerkship; assists residents in strengthening skills with instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading neurology textbooks that will establish a solid base for learning; and allows practicing neurologists to reinforce their medical knowledge for recertification.
AccessObGyn This link opens in a new window AccessObGyn is a comprehensive online ObGyn resource covers the entire spectrum of obstetrics and gynecology and may be viewed on any device. Updated regularly.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs, and supplements. The site provides access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window A comprehensive online physiotherapy resource that integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool. It provides PT students with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading physical therapy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning and allows physical therapists to brush up on their knowledge or access quick answers as the need arises.

User Responsibility

Even though some of the resources and web sites allow use of their materials for educational and non-commercial purposes, it is your responsibility to read and follow the usage and copyright policies of a media resource. Look for usage and copyright policies under “About Us,” “Frequently Asked Question,” “Terms and Conditions,” “Terms of Use,” “Copyright” or “Contact Us” on the media resource's website.

For more information, see:

Electronic Resources - Responsible Use.

UT Southwestern Licensed Resources

Using Media (Images, Video, Audio)
by Cathy Nakashima Last Updated May 8, 2024 245 views this year