LibGuides: Residents & Fellows Guide: Databases and Finding Articles

Popular Databases

The UTSW Library provides access to over 300 medical and academic databases. The databases listed below are some of the most commonly used resources for Residents & Fellows. You can view and search a complete list of Library databases at the following link:

Databases A to Z (UT Southwestern) Lists all biomedical, academic, and general interest databases licensed by UT Southwestern. Use the drop-down menu to find subject-specific databases.

Databases that have more point-of-care and background resources can be found on the Point of Care/Background Information Resources page of this guide.

APA PsycINFO: 1806 to the Present (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes references and abstracts to nearly 2,500 journals, as well as selected dissertations, book chapters, and books in the English language. Covers 1806 to the present. Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of regularly updated evidence-based systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Each issue contains new and updated reviews and protocols.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window Covers more than 12,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 150,000 conferences. Includes cited reference searching and Citation Maps (i.e., a graphical representation that shows citation relationships between a paper and other papers). Access is provided to the Science Citation Index Expanded® (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index® (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science Edition (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings: Social Sciences & Humanities Edition (1990-present). Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Embase: 1974 to the Present (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Try Embase, an Ovid-based biomedical and pharmacological database, added to The Health Sciences Digital Library and Learning Center resources. Contains more than 31 million bibliographic records in peer-reviewed journals, including 2,900 unique titles not found in MEDLINE. Ovid offers a single interface to search multiple biomedical databases and full-text resources including MEDLINE and PsycINFO.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new window A peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical, and physical research in a video format. Note: The following sections are fully licensed by the UT Southwestern Library: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology & Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. Other sections are not licensed, although some content may be available through open access.
Ovid MEDLINE® All: 1946 to the Present with Daily Update This link opens in a new window Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes Ovid MEDLINE® and Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process, In-Data-Review & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Daily, as well as Medline Versions. (Medline Versions includes records that have additional versions as well as any new record types that are added to Medline.)
Pronunciator This link opens in a new window Pronunciator is a fun and easy way to learn to speak, read, and write in more than 100 languages. Includes live tutors, feature films, music with lyrics, pronunciation analysis, quizzes, and more! Also features ESL for over 75 non-English languages, plus free apps for Android, Apple, and Kindle Fire devices.
PubMed This link opens in a new window The U.S. National Library of Medicine's database of peer-reviewed literature covers research in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the preclinical sciences. Contains more than 26 million references dating back to the 1940s. Easy access to the Library's ejournals is available through a customized PubMed version, which may be accessed from the Library's home page. Off-campus access to this customized version is available through EZProxy.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary scientific database covering 25 million abstracts from over 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers. Includes journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and Web sites in the physical sciences, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences. Covers journals from 1966 to the present.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window An image-based differential diagnosis tool that is designed to help quickly identify diseases or conditions at the point of care. Includes more than 25,000 medical images and over 1,300 pediatric and adult conditions.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Covers more than 12,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 150,000 conferences. Includes cited reference searching and Citation Maps (i.e., a graphical representation that shows citation relationships between a paper and other papers). Access is provided to the Science Citation Index Expanded® (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index® (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science Edition (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings: Social Sciences & Humanities Edition (1990-present). Provided by UT Southwestern and the UT System Libraries.

User Responsibility

Even though some of the resources and web sites allow use of their materials for educational and non-commercial purposes, it is your responsibility to read and follow the usage and copyright policies of a media resource. Look for usage and copyright policies under “About Us,” “Frequently Asked Question,” “Terms and Conditions,” “Terms of Use,” “Copyright” or “Contact Us” on the media resource's website.

For more information, see:

Electronic Resources - Responsible Use.

UT Southwestern Licensed Resources

Using Media (Images, Video, Audio)
by Cathy Nakashima Last Updated May 8, 2024 245 views this year