LibGuides: Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Guide: Protocols

Featured Protocols

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new window Interactive online methods database developed by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. Includes protocols in cell and molecular biology, genetics, protein science, imaging, and bioinformatics.
Current Protocols This link opens in a new window Includes step-by-step protocols with annotations; alternate and support protocols to accommodate different equipment and desired results; materials lists for each protocol; and more. Access is provided only to full-text content published during the time the Library actively subscribed to each title.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new window A peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical, and physical research in a video format. Note: The following sections are fully licensed by the UT Southwestern Library: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology & Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience. Other sections are not licensed, although some content may be available through open access.
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window Springer Nature Experiments helps researchers search for and evaluate methods and protocols contained within Springer Protocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, and Protocol Exchange (free, open repository for sharing protocols among researchers).

JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments

This is an online video encyclopedia of advanced research experiments. This resource enables scientists in academia and biotech to learn new experiments and research technologies.

JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments : Biological Techniques This link opens in a new window This collection contains video protocols on biological techniques in a wide variety of subject areas including genome editing, gene transfer, staining, chromatography, electrophoresis, PCR, biomolecular interaction detection, spectroscopy, and microscopy.
JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments : Biology This link opens in a new window Systematically covers methods relevant to model organisms in biomedical research, including Drosophila melanogaster (fruit fly) and Caenorhadbitis elegans (worm).
JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments : Cancer Research This link opens in a new window Includes advanced research experiments, categorized by organs of origin, relating to the detection, treatment, and prevention of cancer. For each experiment, the encyclopedia includes an animation visualizing its theory and a video demonstrating its practice in a real university laboratory. This visual resource enables quick in-depth learning, makes training more efficient and systematic and helps increase researchers' productivity.
JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments : Immunology This link opens in a new window This collection provides videos that demonstrate immunology techniques in various subject areas including immune systems and components, immune response, immunopathology, immunodiagnostics, antibody-based technologies, and immunotherapy.
JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments : Neuroscience This link opens in a new window This collection provides videos that demonstrate neuroscience techniques in various subject areas including neuronal cultures, neurophysiology, and neuropathology.

JoVE Core Manuals

This is a video textbook library dedicated to teaching the practice and theory of scientific experiments through engaging and easy-to-understand visual demonstrations.

JoVE Core : Analytical Chemistry This link opens in a new window This collection simplifies complex chemical principles by breaking them down into clear, engaging animations, making topics from SI Units to NMR spectroscopy more accessible and straightforward.
JoVE Core : Biology This link opens in a new window This collection contains more than 300 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons that explain key concepts in biology, plus more than 150 scientist-in-action videos that show actual research experiments conducted in today’s laboratories.
JoVE Core : Cell Biology This link opens in a new window This collection focuses on the essential components and functions of cells, including organelles and membranes, cellular transport, and cell energetics.
JoVE Core : Introduction to Psychology This link opens in a new window This collection offers an engaging learning experience on the fundamental principles of psychology through concise video lessons. Students will explore important topics such as cognitive processes, emotional regulation, and neural mechanisms, establishing a strong foundation in the study of the mind and human behavior.
JoVE Core : Molecular Biology This link opens in a new window This collection showcases the molecular processes of the cell through clear and concise animated video lessons. Additionally, in scientist-in-action videos, these concepts' application is demonstrated through real experiments in modern laboratories.
JoVE Core : Organic Chemistry This link opens in a new window This collection explains basic concepts of stereochemistry, reactions, and mechanisms using concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons. Additionally, the scientist-in-action videos demonstrate the application of related concepts in classical and original research experiments performed in today's laboratories worldwide.
JoVE Core : Physics This link opens in a new window This collection introduces the theory and application of fundamental physics topics, including kinematics, dynamics, fluid mechanics, statics, waves, and acoustics, with concise and easy-to-understand animated videos.
JoVE Core : Social Psychology This link opens in a new window This collection brings the foundations of our social world to life. It explains key concepts in the field through 66 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons.

JoVE Journals

These peer-reviewed videos show experimental techniques accompanied with detailed text protocols with the goal of increasing scientific reproducibility and productivity.

Other Protocols

Look for other protocols on the library's Basics Sciences Guide. Select the Protocols tab.

Basic Sciences Guide
by John Carter Last Updated Apr 18, 2025 42 views this year

User Responsbility

Even though some of the resources and web sites allow use of their materials for educational and non-commercial purposes, it is your responsibility to read and follow the usage and copyright policies of a media resource. Look for usage and copyright policies under “About Us,” “Frequently Asked Question,” “Terms and Conditions,” “Terms of Use,” “Copyright” or “Contact Us” on the media resource's website.

For more information, see:

Copyright Guide
by Cathy Nakashima Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 1503 views this year
Using Media (Images, Video, Audio)
by Cathy Nakashima Last Updated Mar 27, 2025 572 views this year

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Guide

Library Services for Grad School and Postdocs

Postdoctoral Scholars Handbook

Need Assistance?