LibGuides: Family Medicine Guide: Evidence Based Medicine &amp; Practice Guidelines

Evidence Based Medicine & Practice Guidelines

Centers For Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Federal agency to protect the health and safety of people - at home and abroad. Serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of regularly updated evidence-based systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Each issue contains new and updated reviews and protocols.

CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care (AccessMedicine) by Jacob A. David Offers screening, prevention, and treatment guidelines for more than 60 common outpatient conditions. Features major updates to disease management guidelines and more international guidelines.
ISBN: 9781265025892
Publication Date: 2025-02-05

ECRI Guidelines Trust™ ECRI Guidelines Trust™ is a publicly available, web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies. Users must complete registration for free access.
Family Physicians Inquiries Network (FPIN) Provides opportunities to make evidence-based family medicine and clinical scholarship more accessible to family physicians in clinical practice.

Ovid MEDLINE® All: 1946 to the Present with Daily Update This link opens in a new window Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes Ovid MEDLINE® and Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process, In-Data-Review & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Daily, as well as Medline Versions. (Medline Versions includes records that have additional versions as well as any new record types that are added to Medline.)
PubMed This link opens in a new window The U.S. National Library of Medicine's database of peer-reviewed literature covers research in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the preclinical sciences. Contains more than 26 million references dating back to the 1940s. Easy access to the Library's ejournals is available through a customized PubMed version, which may be accessed from the Library's home page. Off-campus access to this customized version is available through EZProxy.
UpToDate® Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information resource, designed to give practical answers to clinicians at the point of care. Access is available for faculty, staff, students, residents, and fellows of UT Southwestern Medical Center, thanks to funding from the Office of the Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School.