LibGuides: Family Medicine Guide: Core Topics

Core Topics

Acute Diarrhea in Adults & Children Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of acute diarrhea in adults and children. Developed by Shelley Roaten, M.D., Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Anxiety Disorders Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of anxiety disorders. Developed by Amimi Osayande, M.D., Assistant Professor, and Mary Anne Carling, L.C.S.W., Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Cervical Cancer Screening Provides guidance for screening of cervical cancer. Developed by Zubair Syed, M.D., Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Chest Pain Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of chest pain. Developed by Natalia Gutierrez-Chefchis, M.D., Assistant Instructor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Chronic Cough in Adults Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of chronic cough in adults. Developed by Rahele Lameh, M.D., Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Conjunctivitis in Children Provides diagnostic and treatment information for conjunctivitis in children. Developed by Adam Khadbai, M.D., and Zaiba Jetpuri, D.O., Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center (October 2015).
Dermatitis Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of dermatitis. Developed by Amimi Osayande, M.D., Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Diabetes Mellitus, Followup (Type 2) Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of followup for Type 2 diabetes. Developed by Rahele Lameh, M.D., Assistant Professor, and Shobha Rao, M.D., Associate Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Diabetes Mellitus, New Onset (Type 2) Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of new onset of Type 2 diabetes. Developed by Rahele Lameh, M.D., Assistant Professor, and Shobha Rao, M.D., Associate Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Earache Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of earaches. Developed by Rabia A. Malik, M.D., Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Headaches Provides diagnostic and treatment information for headaches. Developed by Zaiba Jetpuri, D.O., Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center (March 2015).
Hypertension Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of hypertension. Developed by Manjula Cherukuri, M.D., Assistant Professor, and Amer Shakil, M.D., Associate Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Hypertension, Severe Provides diagnostic and treatment information for severe hypertension. Developed by Rebecca Romack, M.D., and Nora Gimpel, M.D., Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center (March 2015).
Low Back Pain Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of low back pain. Developed by Bruce Elliston, M.D., Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Obesity in Adults & Children Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of obesity in adults and children. Developed by Bruce Elliston, M.D., Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Osteoarthritis Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of osteoarthritis. Developed by Nitin Budhwar, M.D., Assistant Professor, and Shobha Rao, M.D., Associate Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Pharyngitis Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of pharyngitis (sore throat). Developed by Patti Pagels, P.A., Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Prevention Care in Adults Provides information on preventive measures for various diseases or conditions. Developed by Hong Xiao, M.D., Associate Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Reflux in Adults Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of heartburn or gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD). Developed by Nitin Budhwar, M.D., Assistant Professor, and Tamara McGregor, Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Sprains and Strains Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of sprains and strains. Developed by Dan Sepdham, M.D., Associate Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.
Urinary Tract Infection Provides guidance for diagnosis & treatment of urinary tract infection. Developed by Amimi Osayande, M.D., Assistant Professor, Family & Community Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center.