This page highlights examples of filtered resources.
Information resources synthesized from primary studies represent a very high level of evidence.
—Greenhalgh, 2019 Straus, 2011
Per Greenhalgh (2019), "point-of-care resources are rather like electronic textbooks or detailed clinical handbooks, but explicitly evidence-based. continuously updated and designed to be user-friendly." Practice Guidelines are "systematically developed statements to assist practitioner and patient decisions about appropriate healthcare for specific clinical circumstances. In a good guideline, the scientific evidence is assembled systematically, the panel developing the guideline includes representatives from all relevant disciplines, including patients, and the recommendations are explicitly linked to the evidence from which they are derived."
Unfiltered resources are large databases of articles that are prescreened for quality. When answers are not found in Filtered Resources, you will need to search these databases and apply search strategies and techniques to filter through the many references to identify the best information.
—Sources: Dicenso et al., 2009; Grandage et al., 2002.
denotes a mobile app is available. Please go to the Mobile Resources Guide to download links.
| RESOURCE | DESCRIPTION |
|---|---|
|
For more information, consult CINAHL Ultimate Database Guide |
Provides full text for more than 1,600 nursing and allied health journals dating and for more than 275 books or monographs. Includes Pre-CINAHL, which provides current awareness and citation information about recently published articles before being fully indexed. Coverage 1937 to present. |
|
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials For more information, consult Search Cochrane |
Created from multiple sources, CENTRAL is a single searchable source for high-quality evidence of randomized controlled trials. |
|
For more information, consult Embase tab in Ovid Database Guide |
Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. Coverage 1974 to present. |
| Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health | Perform your search using keywords in the search box or click on the specific link of interest. |
| Family Physicians Inquiries Network (FPIN) Clinical Inquiries | Provide short, concise, evidence-based answers to clinical questions common in family medicine. The answers include a summary of the evidence and commentary that puts the answers into perspective. |
| Perform your search using keywords in the search box and click the "Basic Search" button. | |
|
For more information, consult MEDLINE tab in Ovid Database Guide |
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and healthcare. |
| The PEDro Partnership was established in 1999 by a small group of physiotherapists, both clinicians and academics. Based in the Institute for Musculoskeletal Health at the University of Sydney and Sydney Local Health District the mission is to maximize the effectiveness of physiotherapy services by facilitating the clinical application of the best available evidence. | |
|
For more information, consult APA PsycINFO tab in Ovid Database Guide |
APA PsycInfo® is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. |
|
For more information, consult PubMed Database Guide |
Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords. Click on the "Publication Type" filter and select "Meta-Analysis" and "Systematic Reviews". |
|
[Tutorial] |
Perform your search using keywords. The "Clinical Queries" page filters searches by three clinical research areas: "Clinical Study Categories", "Systematic Reviews", and "Medical Genetics". Use the "Clinical Study Categories" dropdown menu to filter the search results by type of clinical question and to select between a more sensitive (i.e., broad) or more specific (i.e., narrow) search. |
|
For more information, consult Scopus Database Guide |
Scopus is a multidisciplinary scientific database covering 25 million abstracts from more than 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers. Includes journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and web sites in the physical sciences, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences. |
| TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. | |
|
For more information, consult Web of Science Database Guide |
Web of Science covers more than 12,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage. |
The UT Southwestern Library provides access to more than 300 medical and academic databases. The databases listed above are some of the most commonly used resources to retrieve the best primary literatures. You can view and search a complete list of Library databases at the following link: