LibGuides: Practice Guidelines Guide: Home

ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available, web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies. Users must complete registration for free access.

Evidence-based Practice (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) Includes evidence reports and technology assessments based on all relevant scientific literature on clinical, behavioral, organizational, and financial topics.
Guideline Central Guideline Central is dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible.
Guidelines Central - Download the mobile app Includes guidelines, calculators, drugs & More
NIH Consensus Statements Each NIH consensus statement is the product of an independent, non-Federal panel of experts and is based on the panel's assessment of medical knowledge available at the time the statement was written.

Links to Guidelines Compiled by UT Southwestern Subscribed Databases

ClinicalKey - Guidelines Browse guidelines by title, specialty or authoring organization.
ClinicalKey for Nursing - Guidelines Browse guidelines by title, specialty or authoring organization.
UpToDate - Guidelines Browse and access Society Guidelines.
UpToDate - Overview of Clinical Practice Guidelines

HIV Treatment Guidelines: Clinical Guidelines Portal (hiv.gov) Provides guidelines for the treatment of HIV/AIDS, which are reviewed and updated by experts in the field. Topics include antiretroviral treatment, maternal-child transmission, post-exposure prophylaxis, management of HIV complications, and testing. Guidelines are also presented by age group: adult and adolescent, perinatal, and pediatric.

Cardiology Practice Guidelines: including ACC, AHA, ACCF, etc. (ClinicalKey) Includes current cardiology guidelines from various authoring organizations.
Guidelines and Clinical Documents (American College of Cardiology) Provides evidence-based guidelines and quality standards developed by leaders in the field of cardiovascular medicine to help address contemporary practice issues. Can be searched alphabetically by topic and by keyword.
Society Guidelines in Cardiovascular Medicine (UpToDate) Includes practice guidelines for cardiovascular medicine.

AAFP Clinical Recommendations Includes policy statements, immunizations, AAFP clinical practice guidelines, and AAFP endorsed clinical guidelines. From the American Academy of Family Physicians

Current Guidelines (ACP) Includes evidence-based clinical practice guidelines covering many areas of internal medicine, such as screening for cancer or other major diseases, diagnosis, treatment, and medical technology. From the American College of Physicians.

2023-2024 Perianesthesia Nursing Standards, Practice Recommendations, and Interpretive Statements (R2 Digital Library) by American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses Provides a framework for the expanding scope of care for a diverse patient population across all perianesthesia settings inclusive of all ages and all phases of care. Reviewed and updated on an ongoing basis by a team of clinical practice experts. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
ISBN: 9780017688415
Publication Date: 2023-01-01

AORN eGuidelines+ (Association of periOperative Registered Nurses) This link opens in a new window Provides quick and easy access to evidence-based recommendations in multiple views: quick view (photos, illustrations, videos, and bulleted overviews), outline (a list of all recommendations with the ability to expand), or full view (the entire text of each guideline with evidence cited). Ambulatory supplements are also included for select guidelines. Access is provided by the Office of Health System Administration; contact Margie Stickles, Assistant Vice President for Perioperative Services for assistance.

Infusion Therapy Standards of Practice, 9th ed. (Journals@Ovid) by Nickel, Barbara; Gorski, Lisa; Kleidon, Tricia; Kyes, Amy; DeVries, Michelle; et. al. Provides a framework that guides clinical practice by helping define and develop organizational infusion-based policies and procedures for all practice settings. Journal of Infusion Nursing, January/February 2024, Volume 47, (1S), p. S1-S285.
Publication Date: 2024

Best Evidence Statements: BESts (Cincinnati Children's Hospital) Contains clinical recommendations based on best evidence on a limited topic or single clinical question. Depends more on synthesized evidence, such as published guidelines and other systematic reviews when available, than on primary research.

American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders (PsychiatryOnline) by American Psychiatric Association Provides evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders. Practice guidelines are intended to assist in clinical decision making by presenting systematically developed patient care strategies in a standardized format.
ISBN: 9780890423837
Publication Date: 2005-04-01

Expert Consensus Guidelines Psychiatric treatment guidelines for difficult questions facing clinicians from the "Expert Consensus Guideline Series" of the Journal of Clinical Psychiatry.

Guidelines & Resources (ACCP) Provides evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, systematic reviews, and consensus statements from the American College of Chest Physicians.

Treatment Guidelines of the American College of Rheumatology Officially sanctioned guidelines on such disorders as rheumatoid arthritis, glucocorticoid-induced osteoporosis, and osteoarthritis.

Screening Guidelines for Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Including HIV Infection (AccessMedicine) by Jeffrey D. Klausner; Edward W. Hook Chapter One of Current Diagnosis & Treatment of Sexually Transmitted Diseases, 2007. Includes current U.S. screening guidelines for sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV).
ISBN: 9780071456067
Publication Date: 2007-05-07

Sexually Transmitted Diseases Treatment Guidelines with Updates Provides guidelines for the treatment of persons who have sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Tobacco Cessation Guideline New findings about the latest drugs and counseling techniques for treating tobacco use and dependence from the Office of the Surgeon General. Includes "Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence: A Clinical Practice Guideline," which contains evidence-based information about treating tobacco addiction.

User Responsibility

Even though some of the resources and web sites allow use of their materials for educational and non-commercial purposes, it is your responsibility to read and follow the usage and copyright policies of a media resource. Look for usage and copyright policies under “About Us,” “Frequently Asked Question,” “Terms and Conditions,” “Terms of Use,” “Copyright” or “Contact Us” on the media resource's website.

For more information, see:

Electronic Resources - Responsible Use.

UT Southwestern Licensed Resources

Using Media (Images, Video, Audio)
by Cathy Nakashima Last Updated May 8, 2024 689 views this year

Practice Guidelines Guide: Home

TOC

Links to Guidelines Compiled by UT Southwestern Subscribed Databases

User Responsibility