LibGuides: COVID-19 Library Guide: PubMed and Database Searches

PubMed and PMC Searches

This section includes COVID-19/SARS-CoV-2 search strategies for PubMed and PubMedCentral® (PMC).

In addition to the general PubMed search, two additional searches, Clinical Queries/Diagnosis and Clinical Queries/Therapy, are included. These Clinical Queries are based on the work of Haynes RB, et. al.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is the free, full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the National Library of Medicine. (Note: Since an article may be in both PMC and PubMed or in only one of the two, it is recommended to review search results from both resources.)

To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms.

COVID-19 Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) Terms

Questions?

NCBI SARS-CoV-2 Resources
For PubMed COVID-19 and SARS-CoV-2 search
Public Health COVID-19 Initiative
For PMC’s COVID-19 related search

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

Disclaimer
It is the responsibility of the individual using the search string and/or reviewing the search results to use professional/clinical judgment to determine the accuracy, validity, and related interpretation of the search results.

PubMed Search – General

((((((("COVID-19"[Mesh] OR "SARS-CoV-2"[Mesh] OR "COVID-19 Vaccines"[Mesh] ) OR (Wuhan[Title/Abstract] AND (coronavirus[Title/Abstract] OR corona-virus[Title/Abstract]))) OR ("SARS-COV-2"[Title/Abstract] OR "SARS-COV2"[Title/Abstract] OR "Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2"[Title/Abstract] OR "Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Corona virus 2"[Title/Abstract] OR "SARS Coronavirus 2"[Title/Abstract] OR "SARS Corona virus 2"[Title/Abstract])) OR ("novel coronavirus"[Title/Abstract] OR "novel corona virus"[Title/Abstract] OR nCov[Title/Abstract] OR "novel CoV"[Title/Abstract] OR nCov19[Title/Abstract] OR nCov2019[Title/Abstract] OR "covid-19"[Title/Abstract] OR covid19[Title/Abstract] OR "covid-2019"[Title/Abstract] OR covid2019[Title/Abstract] OR 2019ncov[Title/Abstract] OR nCov2019[Title/Abstract])) OR ("coronavirus disease 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus disease 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "new coronavirus"[Title/Abstract] OR "new corona virus"[Title/Abstract])) OR ("coronavirus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "coronavirus 19"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 19"[Title/Abstract])) OR ("coronavirus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "coronavirus 19"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 19"[Title/Abstract])) OR (COVID[Title/Abstract]) AND (2019/12[PDAT]:2030[PDAT])

Current Search Results

(Note: Results include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

PubMed Search – Clinical Queries/Diagnosis

((Diagnosis/Broad[filter])) AND (((((((("COVID-19"[Mesh] OR "SARS-CoV-2"[Mesh] OR "COVID-19 Vaccines"[Mesh] ) OR (Wuhan[Title/Abstract] AND (coronavirus[Title/Abstract] OR corona-virus[Title/Abstract]))) OR ("SARS-COV-2"[Title/Abstract] OR "SARS-COV2"[Title/Abstract] OR "Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2"[Title/Abstract] OR "Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Corona virus 2"[Title/Abstract] OR "SARS Coronavirus 2"[Title/Abstract] OR "SARS Corona virus 2"[Title/Abstract])) OR ("novel coronavirus"[Title/Abstract] OR "novel corona virus"[Title/Abstract] OR nCov[Title/Abstract] OR "novel CoV"[Title/Abstract] OR nCov19[Title/Abstract] OR nCov2019[Title/Abstract] OR "covid-19"[Title/Abstract] OR covid19[Title/Abstract] OR "covid-2019"[Title/Abstract] OR covid2019[Title/Abstract] OR 2019ncov[Title/Abstract] OR nCov2019[Title/Abstract])) OR ("coronavirus disease 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus disease 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "new coronavirus"[Title/Abstract] OR "new corona virus"[Title/Abstract])) OR ("coronavirus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "coronavirus 19"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 19"[Title/Abstract])) OR ("coronavirus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "coronavirus 19"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 19"[Title/Abstract])) OR (COVID[Title/Abstract]) AND (2019/12[PDAT]:2030[PDAT]))

Current Search Results

(Note: Results include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

PubMed Search – Clinical Queries/Therapy

((Therapy/Broad[filter])) AND (((((((("COVID-19"[Mesh] OR "SARS-CoV-2"[Mesh] OR "COVID-19 Vaccines"[Mesh] ) OR (Wuhan[Title/Abstract] AND (coronavirus[Title/Abstract] OR corona-virus[Title/Abstract]))) OR ("SARS-COV-2"[Title/Abstract] OR "SARS-COV2"[Title/Abstract] OR "Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2"[Title/Abstract] OR "Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Corona virus 2"[Title/Abstract] OR "SARS Coronavirus 2"[Title/Abstract] OR "SARS Corona virus 2"[Title/Abstract])) OR ("novel coronavirus"[Title/Abstract] OR "novel corona virus"[Title/Abstract] OR nCov[Title/Abstract] OR "novel CoV"[Title/Abstract] OR nCov19[Title/Abstract] OR nCov2019[Title/Abstract] OR "covid-19"[Title/Abstract] OR covid19[Title/Abstract] OR "covid-2019"[Title/Abstract] OR covid2019[Title/Abstract] OR 2019ncov[Title/Abstract] OR nCov2019[Title/Abstract])) OR ("coronavirus disease 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus disease 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "new coronavirus"[Title/Abstract] OR "new corona virus"[Title/Abstract])) OR ("coronavirus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "coronavirus 19"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 19"[Title/Abstract])) OR ("coronavirus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 2019"[Title/Abstract] OR "coronavirus 19"[Title/Abstract] OR "corona virus 19"[Title/Abstract])) OR (COVID[Title/Abstract]) AND (2019/12[PDAT]:2030[PDAT]))

Current Search Results

(Note: Results include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

PubMedCentral® (PMC)

2019-nCoV OR 2019nCoV OR COVID-19 OR SARS-CoV-2 OR ((wuhan AND coronavirus) AND 2019/12[PDAT] : 2030[PDAT]))

Current Search Results

(Note: Results include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

Database Searches

CDC - COVID-19 Research Guide

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

Coronavirus (COVID-19)
This site includes COVID-19 pandemic content from the Cochrane Library: Special Collections, Cochrane Reviews, the new COVID-19 Study Register, and other resources.

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

iSearch COVID-19
The iSearch COVID-19 portfolio is NIH’s comprehensive, curated source for publications related to COVID-19. Updated daily, the portfolio includes articles from PubMed and preprints from arXiv, bioRxiv, ChemRxiv, medRxiv, and others.

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

ClinicalTrials.gov - Clinical Studies Related to the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. (IMPORTANT: Listing a study does not mean it has been evaluated by the U.S. Federal Government. Read our disclaimer for details.)
LitCovid LitCovid is a curated literature hub which is updated daily and tracks up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus in PubMed. Articles are categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

NCBI Databases Global Search COVID-19 Results
GenBank: Latest SARS-CoV-2 Sequences Wuhan coronavirus (2019-nCoV) sequence data
NCBI Virus: SARS-CoV-2 Data Hub
SARS-CoV-2 Reference Genome

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

Global Research on Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) - World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO is gathering the latest international multilingual scientific findings and knowledge on COVID-19. The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. This database represents a comprehensive multilingual source of current literature on the topic. While it may not be exhaustive, new research is added regularly.

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM) Oxford COVID-19 Evidence Service
COVID-19 Open Research Dataset - Allen Institute for AI
CORD-19 is a free resource of tens of thousands of scholarly articles about COVID-19, SARS-CoV-2, and related coronaviruses for use by the global research community.
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) – COVID-19 Special Collection
Includes best available evidence on infection prevention and infection control measures

Need more information?

Literature Search Request The Library's search service is available at no charge to UT Southwestern faculty, fellows, residents, postdocs, and staff. If a charge might be incurred, you will be contacted prior to performing the search. Librarians are available to assist you during regular business hours Monday through Friday. Allow at least 7-10 business days to complete your request.