LibGuides: COVID-19 Library Guide: Open Access and Miscellaneous Resources

COVID-19 Open Access Resources

According to SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), "Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment. Open Access ensures that anyone can access and use these results—to turn ideas into industries and breakthroughs into better lives." The following open access resources have value to the UT Southwestern community:

arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, quantitative biology, and other fields - from Cornell University.
bioRxiv - the preprint server for biology - Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
ChemRxiv - the preprint server for chemistry - American Chemical Society (ACS) et. al.
COVID-19 SARS-CoV-2 preprints from medRxiv and bioRxiv
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Frontiers Journals - Covers more than 600 academic disciplines
medRxiv - the preprint server for the health sciences - Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, BMJ, Yale
Outbreak Science Rapid PREreview (beta)
Rapid Reviews: COVID-19
Rapid Reviews: COVID-19 is an open-access overlay journal that seeks to accelerate peer review of COVID-19-related research and prevent the dissemination of false or misleading scientific news. The editorial team identifies papers related to the novel coronavirus and its impacts that have been posted to preprint servers and commissions cross-linked, rapid peer reviews of these manuscripts. The journal also offers publishing options to the authors of papers that are positively reviewed, providing a vital outlet for research communications produced in the wake of the pandemic.

COVID-19 Open Research

CORD-19: COVID-19 Open Research Dataset
CORD-19 is a free resource of tens of thousands of scholarly articles about COVID-19, SARS-CoV-2, and related coronaviruses for use by the global research community.
COVID-19 Open Research Map - Allen Institute for AI and partners
Global Research on Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) - World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO is gathering the latest international multilingual scientific findings and knowledge on COVID-19. The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. This database represents a comprehensive multilingual source of current literature on the topic. While it may not be exhaustive, new research is added regularly.
NIH’s COVID-focused Sequence Read Archive (SRA) datasets are now open access on AWS While searching for SARS-CoV-2 sequences, have you longed for a COVID-focused SRA dataset? Great news — now there is one! We are happy to announce the addition of COVID-focused datasets (including source and normalized SRA file formats) to the AWS Public Dataset Program. These data can now be explored at the Registry of Open Data on AWS.
Sequence Read Archive (SRA) Cloud Sequences - NCBI

COVID-19 Related Resources (Accessible, Not Necessarily Open)

APA COVID-19 Information and Resources
Continually updated by American Psychological Association (APA) for psychologists, health-care workers and the public.
COVID-19 Best Evidence
From the Taubman Health Sciences Library and the Department of Learning Health Sciences at the University of Michigan. Search assembled meta-analyses, literature syntheses, and clinical guideline documents from multiple highly-reliable sources via a single search.
COVID-19: Overview and Evaluation – Pediatric Collection
From the American Academy of Pediatrics - They are fast-tracking COVID-19 research and making it available in the free collection.
Information Services Providers Address the Global Crisis - the International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC)
Expanded access from selected publishers.
Links to COVID-19 Resources - Copyright Clearance Center
OCLC partners provide extended and free e-content during the COVID-19 crisis
Treatments Considered for COVID-19
The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics

Open Access Tools

Unpaywall
Unpaywall is another Chrome browser extension that allows access to subscription and open access full-text.

COVID-19 Library Guide

New Resources

Books

COVID-19 Open Access Resources

COVID-19 Open Research

COVID-19 Related Resources (Accessible, Not Necessarily Open)

Open Access Tools