LibGuides: Obstetrics and Gynecology Guide: Home

Clinical Reference

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey is a medical search engine and database tool that offers access to Elsevier's medical content. Includes a large number of electronic books, electronic journals, video-based procedures, and more. ClinicalKey replaces MD Consult and First Consult.
UpToDate® Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information resource, designed to give practical answers to clinicians at the point of care. Access is available for faculty, staff, students, residents, and fellows of UT Southwestern Medical Center, thanks to funding from the Office of the Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School.

Library Services for Residents & Fellows

Featured Resource

AccessObGyn This link opens in a new window AccessObGyn is a comprehensive online ObGyn resource covers the entire spectrum of obstetrics and gynecology and may be viewed on any device. Updated regularly.

Featured Electronic Books

Case Files® on AccessObGyn AccessObGyn's Case Files® Collection provides case content in an interactive format. Users must have a MyAccess personal account.

Case Files: Gynecologic Surgery (Case Files® Collection) by Eugene C. Toy; Konrad P. Harms; Keith Reeves; Cristo Papasakelariou AccessMedicine's Case Files® Collection provides case content in an interactive format. Content includes basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases. Users must have a MyAccess personal account.
ISBN: 9780071592796
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Case Files: High-Risk Obstetrics (Case Files® Collection) by Eugene C. Toy; Joseph M. Ernest; Edward R. Yeomans; Linda Fonseca AccessMedicine's Case Files® Collection provides case content in an interactive format. Content includes basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases. Users must have a MyAccess personal account.
ISBN: 9780071605434
Publication Date: 2010-11-30
Case Files: Obstetrics & Gynecology, 6th ed. (Case Files® Collection) by Eugene C. Toy; Patti Jayne Ross; Benton Baker; John Jennings AccessMedicine's Case Files® Collection provides case content in an interactive format. Content includes basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases. Users must have a MyAccess personal account.
ISBN: 9781260468786
Publication Date: 2021-10-01
Comprehensive Gynecology, 8th ed. (ClinicalKey) by David M. Gershenson; Gretchen M. Lentz; Rogerio A. Lobo; Fidel A. Valea Provides comprehensive information on gynecology. Includes principles and theories of gynecologic physiology and disease. Note: Users must register for and login to a personal ClinicalKey account to open a book chapter in PDF. (Please note: Due to publisher restrictions, some titles may not provide PDFs of book chapters; for those titles, only HTML full-text is available.)
ISBN: 9780323653992
Publication Date: 2021-07-22
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Obstetrics & Gynecology, 12th ed. (AccessObGyn) by Lauren Nathan; Ashley S. Roman; Neri Laufer; Alan H. DeCherney Provides a review of obstetrics and gynecology. Covers more than 1,000 diseases and disorders, latest screening and management guidelines, more than 450 clinical photos and illustrations, treatments for common gynecologic infections and more. ISSN 0197-582X.
ISBN: 9780071833905
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Gabbe's Obstetrics, 9th ed. (ClinicalKey) by Mark B. Landon; Henry L. Galan; Eric R. M. Jauniaux; Deborah A. Driscoll; Vincenzo Berghella; et. al. Provides easy access to vital information on current diagnoses, therapy, and management of the obstetric patient. It provides the reader with a firm foundation of knowledge in anatomy, embryology, physiology, pathology, genetics, and teratology that is essential to successful practice in this fast-changing field. Note: Users must register for and login to a personal ClinicalKey account to open a book chapter in PDF. (Due to publisher restrictions, some titles may not provide PDFs of book chapters; for those titles, only HTML full-text is available.)
ISBN: 9780323937276
Publication Date: 2024-11-22
Williams Gynecology, 4th ed. (AccessObGyn) by Joseph I. Schaffer; Barbara L. Hoffman; Karen D. Bradshaw; Lisa M. Halvorson; et. al. Describes evaluation and medical treatment of gynecologic problems and also offers an illustrated atlas for the surgical correction of these conditions. Covers entire field of gynecology, including well woman care, ectopic pregnancy, pelvic pain, reproductive endocrinology, and gynecologic oncology.
ISBN: 9781260456868
Publication Date: 2020-04-24
Williams Obstetrics, 26th ed. (AccessObGyn) by F. Gary Cunningham; Kenneth J. Leveno; Jodi S. Dashe; Barbara L. Hoffman; Catherine Y. Spong; Brian M. Casey Delivers expert coverage of obstetrical complications, such as preterm labor, pregnancy-related hypertension, infection, and hemorrhage and offers foundational content on reproductive anatomy, physiology, and prenatal care. Includes 1,000+ full-color illustrations, plus an increased emphasis on the fast-growing subspecialty of maternal-fetal medicine.
ISBN: 9781260462739
Publication Date: 2022-04-13

Obstetrics and Gynecology Ebooks -- UT Southwestern Library Catalog Search the UTSW Library catalog for subject phrases "obstetrics" and "gynecology".

Featured Electronic Journals

American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology
ISSN: 0002-9378 (print), 1097-6868 (online)
Fertility and Sterility
ISSN: 0015-0282 (print), 1556-5653 (online)
Gynecologic Oncology
ISSN: 0090-8258 (print), 1095-6859 (online)
Human Reproduction
ISSN: 0268-1161 (print), 1460-2350 (online)
Obstetrics & Gynecology
ISSN: 0029-7844 (print), 1873-233X (online)

Professional Organizations

American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) is an independent, non-profit organization that certifies obstetricians and gynecologists in the United States.
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Founded in 1951, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) is the specialty's premier professional membership organization dedicated to the improvement of women's health.
American Society for Reproductive Medicine The American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) is a multidisciplinary organization dedicated to the advancement of the science and practice of reproductive medicine.
American Urogynecologic Society Founded in 1979, the American Urogynecologic Society (AUGS) is the premier non-profit organization representing more than 1,900 members including practicing physicians, nurse practitioners, physical therapists, nurses, and health care professionals, as well as researchers from many disciplines, all dedicated to treating female pelvic floor disorders.
Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine The Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine (SMFM) was established in 1977 to give maternal-fetal medicine physicians and scientists a place to share knowledge, research, and clinical best practices in order to improve care for pregnant women and babies.
Society of Gynecologic Oncology The Society of Gynecologic Oncology (SGO) is the premier medical specialty society for health care professionals trained in the comprehensive management of gynecologic cancers.

Web Resources

Cecil H. and Ida Green Center for Reproductive Biology Sciences An academic unit of UT Southwestern, which conducts laboratory research in the areas of reproductive endocrinology, obstetrics, and many areas of reproductive biology.
Committee Opinions of the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ACOG) Developed by the University of Minnesota, this is an alphabetical list of citations of opinions published primarily in medical journals. While the citations are not linked to the complete article, you may use the Library's Electronic Journals page, which is accessible from the Library's home page, to find the journal for opinions you need.

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) This link opens in a new window A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) Provides national leadership to the maternal and child health community in three key areas  systems-wide program development, education, and state-of-the-art knowledge  to improve the health and well-being of the nation's children and families.
PeriStats: An Interactive Perinatal Data Resource Developed by the March of Dimes, this site provides maternal, infant, and child heath-related data at the state level. For some indicators there is also data at the county and national levels, and there is an overview for Puerto Rico. The PeriStats database uses information compiled from the Centers for Disease Control, other governmental agencies, and the March of Dimes. In addition to the database, statistics "at a glance" are available for each state.

Obstetrics and Gynecology Guide: Home

Clinical Reference

Library Services for Residents & Fellows

Related Links

Featured Resource

Featured Electronic Books

Featured Electronic Journals

Professional Organizations

Web Resources