LibGuides: Maternal & Child Health Guide: Home

Electronic Resources

AccessObGyn This link opens in a new window AccessObGyn is a comprehensive online ObGyn resource covers the entire spectrum of obstetrics and gynecology and may be viewed on any device. Updated regularly.

Featured Electronic Journals

Search Ejournals A to Z for "child health"
Search Ejournals A to Z for "maternal health"
Search Ejournals A to Z for "perinatal health"

Other Guides of Interest

Obstetrics and Gynecology Guide
by Liz Barksdale Last Updated Feb 13, 2024 22 views this year

Featured Electronic Books

Electronic books are available within many of the Library’s electronic resource collections. This is a selected list of electronic books from multiple sources, and additional electronic books on management, health policy, and community health may be found by searching the Library’s eBooks on EBSCOhost collection

Improving Birth Outcomes: Meeting the Challenges in the Developing World (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Judith R. Bale; Barbara J. Stoll; Adetokunbo O. Lucas Provides results from a study from the Institute of Medicine's Board on Global Health on what is needed to improve birth outcomes in the developing world. Addresses the steps needed to reduce that gap in birth outcomes between the developing and developed countries. Reviews available statistics and current knowledge and practices to identify cost-effective opportunities for improving birth outcomes and supporting families with an infant handicapped by birth problems. Recommends priority research, capacity building, and institutional and global efforts to reduce adverse birth outcomes in developing countries. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare
ISBN: 9780309525992
Publication Date: 2003-10-28
Inheriting the World: The Atlas of Children's Health and the Environment (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Bruce Gordon; Richard Mackay; Eva Rehfuess This atlas, published by the World Health Organization, provides summarized data on various aspects of children's health around the world. Topics include access to water, infectious diseases, exposure to toxins, and more. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare.
ISBN: 9781417531141
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Web Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Child and Adolescent Health This subsection of the AHRQ provides agency resources relevant to public health aspects of mothers and their children. Such resources include conferences and workshops, research funding and training opportunities, current research projects, insurance initiatives, programs and data, and program reports. There are also resources and tools external to the AHRQ, as well as an email alert of updates.
Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs Supports state maternal and child health programs. Resources on the site provide information about legislation, policy and advocacy, best practices and guidelines, conference presentations, and reports on the wide variety of topics associated with MCH. There are also career resources, such as certification, and job opportunities.
Bright Futures This initiative supported by the American Academy of Pediatrics, provides resources on children's health needs. There are preventive resources and materials, training resources for professionals, guidelines, multimedia materials, and family resources.
Maternal and Child Health Bureau Provides organizational and financial support for MCH programs. The site provides details about the bureau's Title V funding program, as well as other resources and publications, including needs assessments, program evaluations, and resource guides. A division of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).
Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology Program (MCH EPI) A collaborative effort between the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) that provides epidemiological specialists in the field who are focused on maternal and child health issues. The site provides information about the program, as well as related resources, such as data sets, publications, and resources on specific health topics. In addition, there are training opportunities and partnerships between other organizations.
Maternal and Child Health Library The Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University provides the MCH community with accurate and timely information on a broad range of topics. Materials include the weekly newsletter MCH Alert, resource guides, full-text publications, databases, and links to quality MCH sites.
National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) Provides national leadership to the maternal and child health community in three key areas  systems-wide program development, education, and state-of-the-art knowledge  to improve the health and well-being of the nation's children and families.
PeriStats: An Interactive Perinatal Data Resource Developed by the March of Dimes, this site provides maternal, infant, and child heath-related data at the state level. For some indicators there is also data at the county and national levels, and there is an overview for Puerto Rico. The PeriStats database uses information compiled from the Centers for Disease Control, other governmental agencies, and the March of Dimes. In addition to the database, statistics "at a glance" are available for each state.
UNICEF UNICEF is heavily involved in promoting improvements in health and health care within developing and under-developed countries. The site provides details about the programs, as well as data, information resources, and publications, such as The State of the World's Children.
USAID Maternal and Child Health The United States Agency for International Development (USAID) provides research and expertise on MCH issues. While much of the site describes the myriad of programs supported, there are also pages that provide background to selected MCH topics, as well as technical guides for managing these problems in the field.