Links to resources that relate to clinical education and professional practice.
Career Handoff: A Healthcare Leader's Guide to Knowledge & Wisdom Transfer Across Generations (AccessAPN) by
Helps healthcare and nurse leaders proactively preserve and pass on their valuable knowledge and wisdom to new generations. Emphasizes mentoring and sustainability of expertise and aims to facilitate smooth transitions and the continued viability of healthcare organizations.
Critical Conversations in Healthcare: Scripts and Techniques for Effective Interprofessional and Patient Communication, 2nd ed. (AccessAPN) by
Provides scripts and scenarios to facilitate better, more effective communication in healthcare settings. Features dos and don'ts, reflective questions, and practical tools to help improve on-the-job interactions.
Cultural Sensibility in Healthcare: A Personal and Professional Guidebook (AccessAPN) by
Offers healthcare providers a process that encourages them to first consider their own attitudes, biases, beliefs, and prejudices through self-reflection. Challenges readers to examine cultural issues beyond just theory and to instead explore culture as it affects their professional roles thus creating culturally sensibility health care encounters.
De-Escalating Violence in Healthcare: Strategies to Reduce Emotional Tension and Aggression (AccessAPN) by
Provides tools and techniques to help nurses and other healthcare professionals manage aggressive behavior and foster a safer workplace.
Emotion in the Clinical Encounter (AccessMedicine) by
An essential guide to help both trainees and established clinicians sharpen their skills in learning the science of emotion, as it relates to clinical care; understanding the role of emotion in illness; recognizing the connection between clinical response to patient emotions and care outcomes; developing effective strategies for emotion recognition; building strong emotional dialogue skills for medical encounters; identifying biases that may shape clinical interactions and subsequent outcomes; understanding emotion regulation in patients, providers, and in the clinical relationship; addressing challenges and opportunities for clinical emotional wellness; and identifying a new path forward for delivering emotion-based medical school curricula.
Fast Facts for the Nurse Preceptor, 2nd ed. (ProQuest Ebook Central) by
Provides novice nurse preceptors with step-by-step guidance on how to successfully orient new nurses to the hospital environment. Explains all the requisites for demonstrating, guiding, and mentoring new nurses through the process of delivering safe, evidence-based, patient-centered care.
Fostering Clinical Success: Using Clinical Narratives for Interprofessional Team Partnerships from Massachusetts General (AccessAPN) by
Presents the model developed by nurse leaders at Massachusetts General Hospital for creating, embedding, and fostering a narrative culture. Demonstrates the hospital's systematic use of clinical narratives to improve patient care and increase patient, family, and staff satisfaction while reducing costs.
Johns Hopkins Nursing Professional Practice Model: Strategies to Advance Nursing Excellence (AccessAPN) by
Presents a model that inspires professional nurses to deliver exceptional care delivery and outcomes. Describes how to adapt the Johns Hopkins Nursing Professional Practice Model to a work setting and guides the reader in creating and sustaining an environment where professional nursing practices flourish.
Learning in Adulthood, 4th ed. (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Integrates foundational research and current knowledge to present fresh, original perspectives on teaching and learning in adulthood. Draws from work in sociology, philosophy, critical social theory, psychology, and education to provide an inclusive overview of adult learning.
Mastering Precepting, 2nd ed. (ProQuest Ebook Central) by
Teaches preceptors both the science and art of education and empowers them to seek the support they need to be effective. Emphasizes the importance of providing nurse preceptors with positive and supportive experiences.
Mastering Simulation: A Handbook for Success, 2nd ed. (AccessAPN) by
Guides students and practitioners in developing clinical competencies and provides a solid foundation for improving patient outcomes. Includes creating simulation scenarios and improving learner performance; designing program evaluations and managing risk and quality improvement; and developing interprofessional programs and designing research using simulation.
Nurse Burnout: Combating Stress in Nursing (AccessAPN) by
Explores the stress-fatigue-burnout connection, the risks involved, and defines the health concerns and practice considerations for how to move the profession forward. Provides nurses with the tools they need to set boundaries and combat compassion fatigue in order to renew energy to be at their personal and professional best.
Nursing Professional Development for Clinical Educators (ProQuest Ebook Central) by
Provides essential guidance in understanding the roles and responsibilities of nursing staff development, orienting nursing staff to the clinical unit, developing educational programs, and helping staff develop as professionals.
Relationship-Based Care: A Model for Transforming Practice (ProQuest Ebook Central) by
Provides practical guidance on transforming care delivery systems to patient- and family-centered systems. Offers solutions to complex struggles with patient, staff and physician dissatisfaction; difficulty recruiting and retaining and developing talented staff members; conflicted work relationships; and related quality issues. Note: Use of this item is restricted to three (3) concurrent user at any given time.
Successful Transition to Practice: A Guide for the New Nurse Practitioner (AccessAPN) by
A much-needed guide to help navigate the path from new graduate to the certification and on-boarding process and successful employment. Explains the most confusing aspects of transitioning, from studies to full-time work, including applying for licensure, what to expect in an interview, insurance needs, hospital credentialing and more.
Ultimate Guide to Competency Assessment in Health Care, 3rd ed. (ProQuest Ebook Central) by
Includes ready-to-use tools to help develop, implement, and evaluate competencies. Focuses on why competency assessment is so important: to provide safe, excellent care to patients, residents, and other customers. Note: Use of this item is restricted to three (3) concurrent user at any given time.
Even though some of the resources and web sites allow use of their materials for educational and non-commercial purposes, it is your responsibility to read and follow the usage and copyright policies of a media resource. Look for usage and copyright policies under “About Us,” “Frequently Asked Question,” “Terms and Conditions,” “Terms of Use,” “Copyright” or “Contact Us” on the media resource's website.
For more information, see: