Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley)This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of regularly updated evidence-based systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Each issue contains new and updated reviews and protocols.
Community GuideA key resource for evidence-based public health practice. Includes practice guidelines and reviews of interventions which include recommendations based on the scope and quality of evidence. Organized by topics (including alcohol, motor vehicle, violence, and diabetes) or user community (public health professional, healthcare providers, researchers, etc.). Also known as the CDC Guide to Community Preventive Services.
Council on Linkages Between Academia and Public Health PracticeThis coalition of multiple organizations in academic public health and public health practice focuses on issues related to workforce development and evidence-based public health practice. The site includes Public Health Systems Research (PHF), which addresses research issues including locating data sets, funding, and designing studies.
Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Evidence ReportsThe reports — prepared by Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPCs) supported by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) — provide organizations with comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies.
Evidence-Based Practice for Public HealthProvides general information on evidence based public health (EBPH) supported by the University of Massachusetts Lamar Soutter Library and the Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce (National Library of Medicine). Includes resources on evidence-based guidelines, systematic reviews, pre-set searches of PubMed, and best practices.
From Evidence to PracticeA self-paced, Web-based course, that teaches the evidence-based public health decision-making process. Course objectives include: understanding and employing the evidence-based framework to do research; developing intervention strategies; and finding supporting data to accurately describe and evaluate the problem. Provided by the New York State Department of Health and the University of Albany. CE credits are available for nurses, health educators, and physicians.
Health Technology Assessment Database (INAHTA)This link opens in a new windowInternational Network of Agencies for Health Technology Assessment (INAHTA) brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Wiley)This link opens in a new windowAssists decision-makers by systematically identifying economic evaluations from around the world, appraising their quality, and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. The database contains reliable information about the costs and the effects of drugs, treatments and procedures.
Public Health Training Network (PHTN)PHTN provides distance education to the nation's public health workforce using a variety of media, including print, videorecordings, and multimedia. A unique feature is the regular Web broadcasts of training sessions and seminars, which are then archived for later use. The site includes a calendar of information sessions, a catalog of all training materials, newsletters, and an alert service.
