Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Electronic Books
Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health (Gale Group) by Offers an accurate and complete picture of the aging process and elder health. Includes a historical and demographic overview of aging in America, a guide to biological changes accompanying aging, an analysis of the diversity of the U.S. elder population, legal issues commonly affecting older adults, and the ethics of using cognitively impaired elders in research. Provided by UT Southwestern and UT System libraries.
Publication Date: 2007-11-29
Encyclopedia of Public Health (Gale Group) by Examines topics as broad in range as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics, and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions, and biographical entries. Provided by UT Southwestern and UT System libraries.
Publication Date: 2008-06-09
Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health, 4th ed. (ProQuest Ebook Central) by Combines theory and practice in presenting traditional and new epidemiologic concepts. Covers the basic concepts and data sources, including a major emphasis on study design and separate chapters devoted to each of the three main analytic designs: experimental, cohort, and case-control studies. Includes up-to-date examples from the epidemiologic literature on diseases of public health importance.
Publication Date: 2018-09-12
Introduction to Public Health, 4th ed. (ClinicalKey for Nursing) by Defines the discipline of public health, the nature and scope of public health activity, and the challenges that face public health in the 21st century. Designed for undergraduate health science and nursing students, the text helps readers with their understanding of the nature and scope of public health and the challenges facing the field into the future. Note: Users must register for and login to a personal ClinicalKey account to open a book chapter in PDF. (Due to publisher restrictions, some titles may not provide PDFs of book chapters; for those titles, only HTML full-text is available.)
Publication Date: 2019-04-08
Understanding Public Health: Productive Processing of Internal and External Reality (Taylor & Francis) by Develops a new model of the genesis of health, on the basis of the interplay between genetic and environmental factors. Offers a comprehensive interdisciplinary theory of health genesis and success: Productive Processing of Reality (PPR) to show that health is the lifelong dynamic process of dealing with the internal reality of physical and psychological impulses and the external reality of social and material impulses.
Publication Date: 2019-12-06
Featured Electronic Journals
Public Health Education & Training
Evidence Based Public Health
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Wiley) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of regularly updated evidence-based systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Each issue contains new and updated reviews and protocols.
Health Technology Assessment Database (INAHTA) This link opens in a new window International Network of Agencies for Health Technology Assessment (INAHTA) brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Wiley) This link opens in a new window Assists decision-makers by systematically identifying economic evaluations from around the world, appraising their quality, and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. The database contains reliable information about the costs and the effects of drugs, treatments and procedures.