Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ovid Database Guide: Epub Ahead of Print and In-Process, In-Data-Review & Other Non-Indexed Citations

Access Database

Coverage: 1946 to present

This database contains records with the following possible status besides MEDLINE: Publisher, In-Data-Review, In-Process and PubMed-not-MEDLINE records from NLM.

Search Tips

Clarification Regarding Records

The Publisher records in this database have recently been added to PubMed via electronic submission from a publisher and will proceed soon to the next stage ("In-Process"). This tag is also on citations received before late-2003 if they are from (1) journals not indexed for MEDLINE or (2) a journal that was accepted for MEDLINE after the citations' publication date. Bibliographic data on these citations have not been reviewed.

The In-Data-Review records have been submitted to the National Library of Medicine electronically by the publisher. The journal title, date of publication, and volume/issue (i.e., source data) are being checked.

The In-Process records are undergoing a citation level review – i.e., the author names, article title, and pagination are being checked.

Search Tips

  • Use keyword searching technique. Terms will include spelling variations (English, British) and synonyms.
  • Select a search field with applicable. For example, the Text Word (TW) index is an alias for all of the fields in a database that contain text words and are appropriate for a subject search. The Text Word index in Ovid includes Title (TI) and Abstract (AB).