These materials were purchased on the eBooks on EBSCOhost platform in collaboration with the UT Southwestern Department of Ophthalmology.
Note: Use of each section is restricted to three (3) concurrent users at any given time.
Section 01: Update on General Medicine (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
A thorough, yet concise, update on all areas of medicine. Covers systemic medical conditions most likely to affect ophthalmic patients, such as infectious, metabolic, neurologic and cardiovascular diseases; cancer; and rheumatic and endocrine disorders.
Section 02: Fundamentals and Principles of Ophthalmology (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides the essential scientific grounding for current ophthalmic practice. Discusses ocular anatomy, embryology, biochemistry and metabolism in the eye, and ocular pharmacology. Features genetics information, including an overview of appropriate uses for the latest genetic techniques. Includes an imaging chapter, Ophthalmic Radiology, which covers MRI and CT and ordering imaging studies.
Section 03: Clinical Optics and Vision Rehabilitation (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides a comprehensive overview of clinical optics, including current applications of optical phenomena such as lasers, spectacles, IOLs and refractive surgery. Includes a Quick-Start Guide to Optics and How to Refract. Reviews optics of the human eye; basic concepts of geometric optics; ophthalmic instruments and contact lenses. Vision rehabilitation is also discussed.
Section 04: Ophthalmic Pathology and Intraocular Tumors (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Presents materials in two parts: Part I, Ophthalmic Pathology; and Part II, Intraocular Tumors. Part I uses a hierarchy that moves from general to specific to help derive a differential diagnosis for a specific tissue. Part II is a compilation of selected clinical aspects of importance to the general ophthalmologist.
Section 05: Neuro-Ophthalmology (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides a symptom-driven approach to the diagnosis and treatment of major neuro-ophthalmic conditions. With the focus on the patient, this book emphasizes examination and appropriate adjunctive studies, including a discussion of diagnostic imaging modalities, including a section devoted to interpreting optical coherence tomography results, and leads the reader through the sometimes-subtle manifestations of neuro-ophthalmic disease to anatomical localization of lesions and definitive diagnosis. An overview of the anatomy of visual pathways is accompanied by many illustrations.
Section 06: Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Discusses the pediatric eye examination and extraocular muscle anatomy. Includes chapters on amblyopia, sensory physiology and pathology, and the diagnostic evaluation of strabismus. Examines the clinical features, diagnosis and treatment of esodeviations and exodeviations, pattern strabismus, vertical deviations, nystagmus, and special forms of strabismus. Also, describes key aspects of extraocular muscle surgery. The second part of this book covers the full range of pediatric ocular disorders.
Section 07: Oculofacial Plastic and Orbital Surgery (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Details the anatomy of the orbit and adnexa and emphasizes a practical approach to the evaluation and management of orbital and eyelid disorders, including malpositions and involutional changes. Reviews current information on congenital, inflammatory, infectious, neoplastic, traumatic conditions of the orbit and accessory structures. Covers key aspects of orbital, eyelid and facial surgery and abnormalities of the lacrimal secretory and drainage systems.
Section 08: External Disease and Cornea (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Discusses the structure and function of the cornea and external eye and reviews relevant examination techniques. Includes the latest statistics on indications for corneal transplants from the Eye Bank Association of America. Covers infectious and ocular surface diseases; disorders and surgery of the ocular surface; immune-mediated and neoplastic disorders; and congenital anomalies and degenerations. A chapter on the genetics of corneal dystrophies reflects the IC3D classification. Toxic and traumatic injuries and corneal transplantation are also reviewed. Also covers the latest diagnostic imaging technologies, endothelial replacement surgery updates and best practices for sebaceous cell carcinoma early recognition and treatment.
Section 09: Uveitis and Ocular Inflammation (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Reviews immune-mediated eye disease, summarizing basic immunologic concepts, ocular immune responses and special topics in ocular immunology. Includes an interactive uveitis diagnostic algorithm and a chapter covering scleritis. Discusses the clinical approach to uveitis and reviews noninfectious (autoimmune) and infectious forms of uveitis, with an expanded section on viral uveitis and material on infectious and noninfectious scleritis. Enhanced detection of infectious agents by immunologic and genetic methods and biologic therapeutics are detailed. Also covers endophthalmitis, masquerade syndromes, complications of uveitis and ocular aspects of AIDS.
Section 10: Glaucoma (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides a comprehensive discussion of glaucoma, including epidemiology and the social and economic impacts of the disease; hereditary and genetic factors; intraocular pressure and aqueous humor dynamics; and clinical evaluation and surgical therapy. The various classes of medical therapy for glaucoma are described in terms of efficacy, mechanism of action and safety. Contains numerous images illustrating disease entities and surgical techniques.
Section 11: Lens and Cataract (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Reviews the anatomy, physiology, embryology and pathology of the lens. Covers the epidemiology, evaluation and management of cataracts and gives an overview of lens and cataract surgery, including special situations. Walks the reader through making an appropriate differential diagnosis and designing a management plan for intraoperative and postoperative complications of cataract surgery.
Section 12: Retina and Vitreous (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Describes the major vitreoretinal disorders and appropriate diagnostic methods and treatment principles. An overview of the structure and function of the retina and its relationship to the pigment epithelium, choroid and vitreous is provided. Includes the management of age-related macular degeneration, diabetic macular edema, and venous occlusive disease chapter covering retinovascular disease associated with cardiovascular disease. An emphasis on imaging is demonstrated in this text with more than 175 images and ten surgical videos to illustrate common vitreoretinal procedures and nine interactive figures. Separate chapters are devoted to age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy and retinopathy of prematurity, including the latest imaging techniques and choroidal detail. Selected therapeutic topics include laser therapy and vitreoretinal surgery.
Section 13: Refractive Surgery (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Covers the science of refractive surgery, accommodative and nonaccommodative treatment of presbyopia and patient evaluation. Examines specific procedures in refractive surgery and their potential complications, and refractive surgery in ocular and systemic disease. Includes information on lens implants used in the United States and other countries.
2021-2022 Basic and Clinical Science CourseThese materials were purchased on the eBooks on EBSCOhost platform in collaboration with the UT Southwestern Department of Ophthalmology.
Note: Use of each section is restricted to three (3) concurrent users at any given time.
2020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science CourseThese materials were purchased on the eBooks on EBSCOhost platform in collaboration with the UT Southwestern Department of Ophthalmology.
Note: Use of each section is restricted to three (3) concurrent users at any given time.
2019-2020 Basic and Clinical Science CourseThese materials were purchased on the eBooks on EBSCOhost platform in collaboration with the UT Southwestern Department of Ophthalmology.
Note: Use of each section is restricted to three (3) concurrent users at any given time.