These materials were purchased on the eBooks on EBSCOhost platform in collaboration with the UT Southwestern Department of Ophthalmology.
Note: Use of each section is restricted to three (3) concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 01: Update on General Medicine (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Offers a thorough overview on the general areas of medicine. Covers endocrine disorders, cerebrovascular disease, infectious diseases, cancer, behavioral and neurologic disorders, and geriatrics. Includes chapters on research to improve clinical practice, perioperative management in ocular surgery, and management of medical emergencies that the ophthalmologist might encounter. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 02: Fundamentals and Principles of Ophthalmology (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides essential scientific grounding for current ophthalmic practice. Discusses ocular anatomy, embryology, biochemistry and metabolism in the eye, and ocular pharmacology. Also includes clinical content on biosimilar drugs, ocular penetration of systemically administered antimicrobial agents, and pediatric dosing. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 03: Clinical Optics and Vision Rehabilitation (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides a comprehensive overview of clinical optics, including current applications of optical phenomena such as lasers, spectacles, IOLs, and refractive surgery. A chapter on vision rehabilitation addresses the wide range of vision rehabilitation interventions: smartphone accessibility features and apps, electronic magnification devices, audio devices, and various optical devices. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 04: Ophthalmic Pathology and Intraocular Tumors (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
This section presents materials in two parts: Part I, Ophthalmic Pathology, and Part II, Intraocular Tumors. The hierarchy of the chapters in Part I moves from general to specific to help clinicians derive a differential diagnosis for a specific issue. Part II is a compilation of selected clinical aspects of importance to the general ophthalmologist and contains extensive discussion of intraocular tumors. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 05: Neuro-Ophthalmology (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides a symptom-driven approach to diagnosing and treating major neuro-ophthalmic conditions. Accordingly, the emphasis is on the patient's examination, both basic and extended, and the appropriate use of adjunctive studies to determine the status of the patient's visual system as a whole. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 06: Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Discusses the pediatric eye examination and extraocular muscle anatomy. Includes chapters on amblyopia, sensory physiology and pathology, and the diagnostic evaluation of strabismus. Examines the clinical features, diagnosis and treatment of esodeviations and exodeviations, pattern strabismus, vertical deviations, nystagmus, and special forms of strabismus. Also, describes key aspects of extraocular muscle surgery and covers the full range of pediatric ocular disorders. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 07: Oculofacial Plastic and Orbital Surgery (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Details the anatomy of the orbit and adnexa and emphasizes a practical approach to the evaluation and management of orbital and eyelid disorders, including malpositions and involutional changes. Reviews current information on congenital, inflammatory, infectious, neoplastic, traumatic conditions of the orbit and accessory structures. Covers key aspects of orbital, eyelid and facial surgery and abnormalities of the lacrimal secretory and drainage systems. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 08: External Disease and Cornea (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Discusses the structure and function of the cornea and external eye and reviews relevant examination techniques. Includes the latest statistics on indications for corneal transplants from the Eye Bank Association of America. Covers infectious and ocular surface diseases; disorders and surgery of the ocular surface; immune-mediated and neoplastic disorders; and congenital anomalies and degenerations. Also covers the latest diagnostic imaging technologies, endothelial replacement surgery updates and best practices for sebaceous cell carcinoma early recognition and treatment. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 09: Uveitis and Ocular Inflammation (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides diagnoses and manages uveitis, scleritis, and ocular inflammation. Additionally, a discussion on nonbacterial causes of infectious uveitis includes a subsection on SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19, include scleritis, ocular involvement in HIV infection/AIDS, endophthalmitis, and masquerade syndromes. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 10: Glaucoma (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides a comprehensive discussion of glaucoma, including epidemiology, genetic factors, intraocular pressure and aqueous humor dynamics, clinical evaluation and imaging of the anterior and posterior segments, perimetry, and glaucoma in children and adolescents. Describes the various classes of medical therapy for glaucoma, including a discussion of the mechanism of action and adverse effects of available agents. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 11: Lens and Cataract (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Covers the epidemiology, evaluation, and management of cataract and gives an overview of cataract surgery, including in special situations. Provides appropriate differential diagnoses and management plans for intraoperative and postoperative complications of cataract surgery and includes a new discussion of sustainable cataract surgery and expanded discussion of preoperative considerations for cataract surgery, in particular the range and benefits of various intraocular lens designs. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 12: Retina and Vitreous (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides an overview of the retina and its relationship to the pigment epithelium, choroid, and vitreous, as well as discusses the major retinal disorders, diagnostic methods, and treatment. Covers specific diseases and trauma to the posterior segment and provides appropriate diagnostics and reviews, manages, and provides therapies for vitreoretinal diseases. Reviews cryotherapy for posterior segment diseases and includes select therapeutic topics, plus laser therapy and vitreoretinal surgery. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.
2024-2025 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 13: Refractive Surgery (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Covers the science of refractive surgery and patient evaluation. Examines specific procedures in refractive surgery and their potential complications, refractive surgery in ocular and systemic disease, and accommodative and nonaccommodative treatment of presbyopia. Includes information on lens implants. Note: Use of this item is restricted to 3 concurrent users at any given time.