Child Pain, Migraine, and Invisible Disability (Taylor & Francis) by
Examines migraines in children and the socially disabling effects that chronic pain can have by using medical, political, and cultural discourse to convey a sense of invisible disability in children with migraine and its subsequent oppression within educational and medical policy.
Civil Disabilities: Citizenship, Membership, and Belonging (DeGruyter Online) by
Includes essays from leading scholars in a diversity of fields that offer critical perspectives on current citizenship studies, which still largely assume an ableist world. Presents a compelling case for reimagining citizenship that is more consistent, inclusive, and just, in both theory and practice.
Diversity in the Workforce: Current Issues and Emerging Trends, 2nd ed. (Taylor & Francis) by
Provides students with the tools and methodologies they need to effectively negotiate the multiple dynamics that emerge from difference, and to appropriately respond to issues of marginalization and social injustice. Written from an American perspective, the book not only covers the traditional topics of race, gender, ethnicity, and social class, but explores emerging trends around “isms” (racism, sexism).
Health Communication in Practice: A Case Study Approach (Taylor & Francis) by
Offers a comprehensive examination of the complex nature of health-related communication. Contains detailed case studies that demonstrate in-depth applications of communication theory in real-life situations.
Hidden Lives: True Stories from People Who Live with Mental Illness (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Includes a collection of personal essays written by sufferers of mental illness or their family members that aims to break down biases and stigmas. Rather than analyze the diagnoses and symptoms, these first-hand accounts focus on the very essence of a psycho-emotional breakdown, and respond to the mental, physical, and emotional turmoil it inevitably causes.
International Perspectives on Teaching with Disability: Overcoming Obstacles and Enriching Lives (Taylor & Francis) by
Brings together 25 multi-disciplinary scholars with disabilities from Africa, Canada, the Caribbean, the UK, Israel, and the United States to share their struggles and successes in teaching with disability. Chapters are written largely from autoethnographic perspectives grounded in solid academic research, but they are full of anecdotes and self-reflexive narratives that provide insights into the lived experiences of the authors.
Women with Visible and Invisible Disabilities: Multiple Intersections, Multiple Issues, Multiple Therapies (Taylor & Francis) by
Addresses the issues faced by women with disabilities, examines the social construction of disability, and makes suggestions for the development and modification of culturally relevant therapy to meet the needs of disabled women.
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms. For more information on searching PubMed, please visit the PubMed Database Guide.
((("hidden illness"[Title/Abstract:~10]) OR ("hidden disability"[Title/Abstract:~10])) OR ("hidden disabilities"[Title/Abstract:~10])) OR ((("invisibility illness"[Title/Abstract:~10]) OR ("invisible illness"[Title/Abstract:~10])) OR (((((("invisible disability"[Title/Abstract:~10]) OR ("invisible disabled"[Title/Abstract:~10])) OR ("invisible disabilities"[Title/Abstract:~10])) OR ("invisibility disabilities"[Title/Abstract:~10])) OR ("invisibility disability"[Title/Abstract:~10])) OR ("invisibility disabled"[Title/Abstract:~10])))
Current PubMed Invisible Disabilities Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
Are we missing a specific resource? Please fill out the UT Southwestern Library Collection Development Form so we can improve our collection.