LibGuides: UT Southwestern Alumni Guide: Post-Graduation Library Toolkit

Select Free Resources

Congratulations on your graduation from UT Southwestern Medical Center! As you start a new chapter in your professional career, most of you will have access to health sciences libraries and librarians. However just in case, you do not, the Library has developed the Post-Graduation Library Toolkit with helpful links to libraries and resources.

Disclaimer: While access to the following resources is free, there may be a fee for content within the resource. These lists are not intended to be comprehensive and should not be considered an endorsement. The information is provided as a resource to UT Southwestern Medical Center Library clients. The Library cannot guarantee the accuracy thereof.

Select Free Resources

Citation Matcher (PubMed) Enables users to verify citations using bibliographic information such as journal, volume, issue, page number, and year.
Google Scholar Searches a subsection of the Google database, which includes publications such as peer-reviewed papers, articles and abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositiories, universities, and other scholarly organizations; books; and theses.

NCBI Databases This link opens in a new window Quick links to the National Center for Biotechnology Information's literature, nucleotide, genome, sequence analysis, data mining, population, taxonomy and other databases.
OTseeker This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts of thousands of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. The database is designed to help occupational therapists use research evidence about occupational therapy interventions to inform their practice by quickly locating it. Maintained by occupational therapists on staff at the University of Queensland (School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences) and University of Sydney.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window Provides access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, and evidence based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PubMed.gov This link opens in a new window PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. This is the public link.

More Information on PubMed:

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book) This link opens in a new window Identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. Users may search the approved drug list by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant holder or applicant number. The data is updated concurrently with the publication of the annual edition or cumulative supplements. Provided by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's Center for Drug Evalutation and Research.
Dietary Supplement Label Database This link opens in a new window Offers information about ingredients in more than 2,000 selected brands of dietary supplements and enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers, but these claims have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.
Drug Information Portal (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.
Drugs@FDA This link opens in a new window Drugs@FDA provides one place where you can search for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic and discontinued human drugs, and includes most of the drug products approved since 1939. Updated daily.
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) This link opens in a new window A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
Physicians' Desk Reference - Prescribers' Digital Reference This link opens in a new window The PDR website includes drug information, drug communications and other resources.

Select links to Open Access books and journals:

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window Commercial publishing house that accepts submissions of original research in all biomedical fields, using a full peer-review process. While some content is freely available in the various BMC journals, subscriptions are required for complete access.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This is a searchable directory of thousands of open access journals across science, technology, medicine, social science, and humanities.
Free Medical Journals Provides links to medical journals freely available over the Internet. Free registration may be required to access some sites.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. For publicly-available content, select the "Full view only" option when searching for content in HathiTrust. UT Southwestern is a member through a consortial partnership between HathiTrust and The University of Texas System. Members can log into HathiTrust to create/edit collections or download a wide variety of "full view" items. UT Southwestern members should select their institution in the login screen when prompted, and enter their UT Southwestern username and password.
HighWire Press Archives This link opens in a new window Considered to be one of the largest science archives in the world and the largest in the life sciences, Stanford University's HighWire Press provides free, full-text online access to back issues of journals hosted by HighWire. Additional limited time, free trial access is also provided to new HighWire Press titles.

NCBI Bookshelf Collection of biomedical ebooks. The range of navigation for each book is determined on a case-by-case basis, in agreement with the publisher. Because of these agreements, some books may have navigation from the Table of Contents disabled, but keyword searching within the full text is available for each title.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) PLoS publishes a suite of journals across all areas of science and medicine, including PLoS ONE, PLoS Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Medicine, and PLoS Pathogens.

PMC (PubMed Central) This link opens in a new window A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Participation by publishers in PMC (PubMed Central) is voluntary, although participating journals must meet certain editorial standards. Although immediate free access to all content is most desirable, a journal may delay release of its full text in PMC for some period of time after publication.

For more information on open access journals, visit the Library's Open Access Publishing Guide.

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine - Resources EBM guides and practice how-tos for researchers, clinicians, students and teachers
Cochrane Reviews (Abstracts Only) The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of regularly updated evidence-based systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Each issue contains new and updated reviews and protocols.
ECRI Guidelines Trust™ ECRI Guidelines Trust™ is a publicly available, web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies. Users must complete registration for free access.
Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Evidence Reports The reports — prepared by Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPCs) supported by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) — provide organizations with comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies.
Guideline Central Guideline Central is dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible.
How to Read a Paper Provides links to articles in the BMJ that explain how to read and interpret different kinds of research papers.

Evidence-Based Practice Guide
by Cathy Nakashima Last Updated Jan 12, 2024 1134 views this year

Practice Guidelines Guide
by Cathy Nakashima Last Updated Mar 27, 2024 23 views this year

For the purposes of this guide, the term "media" – the plural of "medium," which simply means "a format for presenting information" – is being used as an inclusive term to group traditional presentation formats (images, video, audio) together.

Links to select free media can be found on the Library's Using Media Guide: What Is Public Domain? - Using Media (Images, Video, Audio) - LibGuides at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.

Free Media Attribution:

Creative Commons – How to give attribution
Works in public domain – Open Attribution Builder. This tool was developed to help you easily cite open material. The application automatically generates the attribution as you fill out the form.

Note: It is your responsibility to read and follow the usage and copyright policies of a media resource. Look for usage and copyright policies under “About Us,” “Frequently Asked Question,” “Terms and Conditions,” “Terms of Use,” “Copyright” or “Contact Us” on the media resource's website.

The mission of the Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM) is to advance the progress of medicine and improve the public health by providing all U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information and improving the public's access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health. The Program is coordinated by the National Library of Medicine and carried out through a nationwide network of health science libraries and information centers.

The National Library of Medicine, as part of the National Institutes of Health, prepares reliable information resources that are vetted by medical librarians for currency and accuracy. These resources also connect users to high-quality information from other NIH institutes and other organizations. This page highlights resources that will be helpful for many different aspects of work as a healthcare professional. Resources include:

ClinicalTrials.gov
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health MedlinePlus.gov
Databases, including Bookshelf, PubMed Special Clinical Queries, LactMed,
Drug Information Tools
Genetic Resources
Training

You can also gain access to these and other resources on NLM’s Portal for Healthcare Professionals.

Additionally, seven Health Sciences Libraries function as the Regional Medical Library (RML) for their respective region. The RMLs coordinate the operation of a Network of Libraries and other organizations to carry out regional and national programs. The RMLs ensure a continuity of quality service for core programs of the NNLM, and cooperatively design, implement and evaluate innovative approaches to serve the health information needs of health professionals and a diverse public.

To find your region and learn more about your RML’s resources and services, visit the Regions page on the NNLM website.

National Network of the Library of Medicine - Regions

Consumer Health Information in Many Languages Resources Provides links to consumer health Web resources with items in multiple languages (e.g., Arabic, Cambodian/Khmer, Chinese, French, German, Hmong, Korean, Laotian, Russian, Spanish, Thai, and Vietnamese) as well as language glossaries.
Easy-to-Read Health and Medical Sites The National Network of Libraries of Medicine offers this collection of links to easy-to-read Web sites for health-related information. The links lead to pages from National Institutes of Health Web sites and other authoritative sources and are selected for their brevity and clarity. Some links to Spanish language Web sites are provided.
MedlinePlus: Health Information in Multiple Languages

ACS Mobile Provides readers with a searchable, multi-journal, up-to-the-minute live stream of new peer-reviewed research content published across the American Chemical Society's preeminent portfolio of scholarly research journals. This application works with iOS and Android devices.
Calculate by QxMD Point-of-care tools in more than 10 medical specialties. Includes more than 200 unique calculators and decision support tools. Available for Windows, Android, and Apple (iOS) devices.
Electronic Preventive Services Selector (EPSS) Assists primary care clinicians in identifying the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services appropriate for their patients. Search terms include specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors. Developed by the Agency for Healthcare and Research Quality, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Multiple devices supported, including iOS, iOS, Windows Mobile (8) and BlackBerry.
ePocrates Free mobile drug and formulary reference. Includes information on more than 3,300 brand and generic drugs, a drug-drug interaction checker, health insurance and Medicare Part D formularies, and DocAlert clinical messages featuring safety alerts, drug recalls, and more. Compatible with multiple mobile devices. The paid version, ePocrates RX+, offers more features. (Not licensed by UT Southwestern.)
MedlinePlus: Health Information in Multiple Languages
mobilePDR vailable to U.S.-based MDs, DOs, dentists, optometrists, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants only. Requires free registration with DEA number. Content for Physicians Desk Reference (PDR) includes full FDA-approved product labeling, clinical slide sets, multi-drug interaction checker, clinical guidelines, journal reprints, and patient education. The mobilePDR app is available from both the AppStore and Google Play.
PubMed for Mobile Devices Search MEDLINE for journal abstracts and limited full-text from the convenience of your mobile device. Provided by the National Library of Medicine.
Skyscape Medical Library A free reader app that provides access to hundreds of Skyscape resources. Includes Rx (comprehensive drug guide), Clinical Consult (clinical resource with 850+ topics), Calculator (200+ interactive tools), and MedBeats (breaking clinical news and drug alerts).

UT Southwestern Image Archives (UT Southwestern Medical Library) This link opens in a new window The UT Southwestern Image Archives contains a selection of digital images from the Library's physical Archives and History of Medicine collections.
UT Southwestern Institutional Repository This link opens in a new window The UT Southwestern Institutional Repository collects, preserves, and distributes digital material pertaining to the clinical, educational, and research missions of the university. Collections within the Institutional Repository include UT Southwestern Electronic Theses and Dissertations, Library Publications and Presentations, and the campus Newsletter (1970-1976).
Texas Physicians Historical Biographical Database This link opens in a new window Consists of citations to biographical information related to early Texas physicians from the Texas State Journal of Medicine for 1905-1966. Additional citations from other sources range in date from the 1850's to 1966, and include early Texas medical journals such as the Texas Courier-Record of Medicine, Polk's Directories, Texas newspapers and assorted histories of Texas.
IndexCat This link opens in a new window The National Library of Medicine's digital version of the five series of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office. Also provides access to eTK for medieval Latin texts, eVK2 for medieval English texts, and links to other selected NLM resources.