Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This portal covers the process, mechanics, and ethics of scholarly writing, including various citation styles. Graduate students may also want to refer to the Dissertation and Thesis Preparation Guide.
To assist you with your writing project, the Library offers literature searches to affiliated users, as well as classes and individual training sessions on database searching and EndNote.
Academic Dishonesty (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Ethics & Behavior, v. 11, no. 3. A special issue with articles focusing on cheating and academic integrity in colleges and universities. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare.
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Academic Dishonesty: An Educator’s Guide (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Covers the full spectrum of issues relating to academic dishonesty. Reviews existing literature about academic dishonesty among college and university students and how faculty respond to the problem. Offers practical advice to help faculty and administrators deal proactively and effectively with the problem. Addresses the broader question of academic integrity as a system-wide issue within institutions of higher education. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Crisis on Campus: Confronting Academic Misconduct (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Written for faculty, administrators, and students, this book discusses the phases in handling academic misconduct and the circumstances that influence the occurrence of academic misconduct. It also gives advice for both investigators and those accused of misconduct. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare.
Publication Date: 2001-12-21
Ethical Issues in Biomedical Publication (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Identifies the important ethical matters in biomedical publication, traces the history and development of these ethical issues, sets them in the larger context of the ethical conduct of research, and outlines the current debates about these issues. Includes conflicts of interest, peer review, and repetitive and divided publication. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare.
Publication Date: 2000-04-10
Psychology of Academic Cheating (ScienceDirect) by The psychological reasons for academic cheating are evaluated and analyzed in this work. Reasons for cheating, including achievement and social issues, are addressed. A chapter is included that focuses on the detection and prevention of cheating.
Publication Date: 2006-11-17
The following is a selected list of electronic books on academic writing and English grammar. The Library has access to many additional electronic books related to writing in the Library catalog.
Cabells Predatory Reports Highlights the deceptive practices that undermine quality research. It evaluates more than 60 journal indicators.
AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed. (Oxford University Press) by "Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this 11th edition thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues, authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, and intellectual property, in addition to preparation of articles for publication, style, terminology, measurement, and quantification" --From Publisher.
Publication Date: 2020-03-02
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 2nd ed. (NCBI) by Provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations. As with previous editions, it is not the purpose of the National Library of Medicine to create a new bibliographic standard with this publication, but rather to apply existing standards to complex biomedical material. Available from NCBI Bookshelf.
Publication Date: 2007
NCBI Style Guide (NCBI) by Provides advice on style guides, examples of common word forms at the National Center for Biotechnology Information, and helpful grammar and language tips to help users communicate more effectively. Divided into two main parts: "General Writing Skills" and "NCBI-Specific Styles". Available from NCBI Bookshelf.
Publication Date: 2004-
TurnItIn is a program for researchers and professional writers to check their original works for potential plagiarism. TurnItIn is available in D2L's BrightSpace Faculty Classroom course and Student Educational Technology Resources course. The TurnItIn Library account link below is intended for UTSW staff and faculty who do not have access to D2L.