LibGuides: Academic Writing Guide: Plagiarism

What Is Plagiarism?

According to the Merriam-Webster online dictionary, "plagiarize" means:

Steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own
Use (another's production) without crediting the source
Commit literary theft
Present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source

Source: Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Plagiarize. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved April 30, 2025, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/plagiarize

Academic Misconduct & Plagiarism

UT Southwestern Handbook of Institutional Policies and Operating Procedures
Contains the official policies and guiding principles established for UT Southwestern Medical Center. The scope of each policy indicates to whom and under what circumstances the policy applies. All individuals indicated in the scope must abide by the rules and regulations included in the Handbook. The Policy Handbook defines a statement and expectation that governs the standard principles of UT Southwestern and the expected behavior of those affiliated with, doing business with, or visiting the Medical Center.
ETH-103 STANDARDS OF CONDUCT, Chapter 3: Ethics, Compliance and Standards of Behavior
Applies to all members of the UT Southwestern community, including – but not limited to – employees, faculty, students, trainees, vendors, contractors, volunteers, committees, and organizations.
EDU-151 STUDENT CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINE, Chapter 10: Students, Postdoctoral Scholars, Residents and Fellows
"Any student who commits an act of scholastic dishonesty is subject to discipline. Scholastic dishonesty means any act designed or intended to give an unfair advantage to a student, regardless of whether an unfair advantage is actually gained. Examples of scholastic dishonesty include but are not limited to cheating, plagiarism, collusion, submitting work or materials that are attributable in whole or in part to another person, taking an examination for another person, or violation of exam instructions or exam security procedures. Scholastic dishonesty also includes the attempt to commit such acts, whether or not the attempt is successful."

Plagiarism and Ethical Writing

Disguised Academic Plagiarism: A Typology and Case Studies for Researchers and Editors (Springer Nature) by M. V. Dougherty
ISBN: 9783030467104

Publication Date: 2020-07-12
Student Plagiarism in Higher Education: Reflections on Teaching Practice (Taylor & Francis) by Diane Pecorari; Philip Shaw
ISBN: 9781138055155

Publication Date: 2018-10-23

Artificial Intelligence and Plagiarism

Note: Due to the rapidly evolving nature or AI/Generative Artificial Intelligence, to view the most current literature in PubMed or Scopus, see AI Search String. You can cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed or Scopus (use the "Article Title" dropdown in the Basic Search mode) and combine with additional search terms.

For pre-print, see Preprint Databases:

Search Results | medRxiv – artificial intelligence in title/abstract
Search Results | bioRxiv – artificial intelligence in title/abstract
Advanced Search | arXiv e-print repository – artificial intelligence in title/abstract

Search terms will vary based on your topic of interest. The following suggestions are to be used as a starting point:

plagiarism
plagiarize

Academic Writing Guide

Video Tutorials on Plagiarism

Quick Links

What Is Plagiarism?

Academic Misconduct & Plagiarism

Plagiarism and Ethical Writing

Artificial Intelligence and Plagiarism