The following electronic books serve as a starting point on this topic.
Biomedical Research: An Insider's Guide (Springer) by
"This comprehensive yet concise book introduces people at all levels of training--undergraduate, graduate, and medical students, residents, fellows, and junior faculty--to the basic joys and challenges of biomedical research. By discussing many key research issues, would-be and early-stage academics will not only be better informed about the world of biomedical research, but will learn a basic set of instructions to help jumpstart their careers. Biomedical Research: An Insider's Guide is divided into five sections. The first focuses on decision points regarding whether or not to enter research and if so what type: basic, clinical, or translational. The second section focuses on the practicalities of pursuing medical research, including institutional review boards and animal care committees as well general suggestions regarding idea generation and collaboration. The third section covers a core aspect of research: writing--detailing the evolution of both grants and papers. The fourth section addresses a range of issues, including conferencing to patents to working with industry to obtaining philanthropic support. The final section deals with all-important broader life issues from job choices to being a mentor to thoughts on how to keep the big picture front and center." - Publisher
Human Medical Research: Ethical, Legal and Socio-Cultural Aspects (Springer) by
"Medical research involving human subjects has contributed to considerable advancements in our knowledge, and to medical benefits. At the same time the development of new technologies as well as further globalisation of medical research raises questions that require the attention of researchers from a range of disciplines. This book gathers the contributions of researchers from nine different countries, who analyse recent developments in medical research from ethical, historical, legal and socio-cultural perspectives. In addition to reflections on innovations in science such as genetic databases and the concept of "targeted therapy" the book also includes analyses regarding the ethico-legal regulation of new technologies such as human tissue banking or the handling of genetic information potentially relevant for participants in medical research. Country and culture-specific aspects that are relevant to human medical research from a global perspective also play a part. The value of multi- and interdisciplinary analysis that includes the perspectives of scholars from normative and empirical disciplines is a shared premise of each contribution." - Publisher
Design of Studies for Medical Research (Wiley Online Library) by
Describes what principles can be used to structure research effectively allowing for the required degree of accuracy. Includes many examples from medical literature and will be of great value to all groups conducting studies at the interface of clinical and laboratory research.
Writing Clinical Research Protocols: Ethical Considerations (ScienceDirect) by
Provides a foundation for improving skills in the understanding of ethical requirements in the design and conduct of clinical research. Includes practical information on ethical principles in clinical research, designing appropriate research studies, writing consent and assent documents, getting protocols approved, special populations, confidentiality issues, and the reporting of adverse events.
10/26/2022 Update: The Office of Research Support and Regulatory Management (RSRM) has created a dedicated myUTSW webpage (VPN required) with links to NIH policy announcements and UTSW-specific information regarding data management plans.
A data management plan (DMP) is a written document that describes the data you expect to acquire or generate during the course of a research project, how you will manage, describe, analyze, and store those data, and what mechanisms you will use at the end of your project to share and preserve your data. … Many funding agencies require a DMP with every funding request.— Stanford Libraries
(Note: Includes Mediated Searches, Systematic Reviews, and Consultations.)
Finding quality biomedical information is a critical part of being an effective health care professional. We developed the Responsible Literature Searching Library Guide to help you quickly learn in a self-paced context how to do just that. In most cases, we think that it is advantageous for us to teach you how to search responsibly rather than to provide you with a collection of search results. This is particularly appropriate for medical, graduate, public health, and health professions students.
For these students, we are pleased to do consultations and classes. However, we will not perform mediated literature searches for students or UT Southwestern employees enrolled in an accredited college or university course.
We do perform mediated searches and assist with systematic reviews for our other clients. There are limits on searches based upon the current search queue and priorities.
Please see the links below for further information on related topics.
The International Center for Academic Integrity defines academic integrity as:
a commitment to five fundamental values: honesty, trust, fairness, respect, and responsibility. We believe that these five values, plus the courage to act on them even in the face of adversity, are truly foundational to the academy. Without them, everything that we do in our capacities as teachers, learners, and researchers loses value and becomes suspect.
Many thanks to the McMaster University Health Sciences Library, which gave us permission to use their research cycle as a template to develop ours.