Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence-Based Practice Guide

Unfiltered resources are large databases of articles that are prescreened for quality. When answers are not found in Filtered Resources, you will need to search these databases and apply search strategies and techniques to filter through the many references to identify the best information. —Sources: Dicenso et al., 2009; Grandage et al., 2002.

Mobile app available denotes a mobile app is available. Please go to the Mobile Resources Portal to download links.

 

RESOURCE HELPFUL LIBRARIAN TIPS FOR SEARCHING

Mobile app availableCINAHL Complete


For more information, consult CINAHL Complete Database Guide

Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords. Click "Show More" under "Limit To' in left side bar. Go to the "Clinical Queries" box and select a strategy: "Therapy", "Prognosis", "Review", "Qualitative", and "Causation (Etiology)". For more information, see "CINAHL Clinical Queries".
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords.

Embase


For more information, consult
Ovid Database Guide 

Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords. Click on the "Additional Limits" button. Go to the "Clinical Queries" box. There are seven categories provided, and you can choose to emphasize "Sensitivity" (i.e., retrieves most relevant articles but also off target articles), "Specificity" (i.e., retrieves fewer relevant articles but also fewer off target articles), or "Best Balance" (i.e., the combination of terms that optimizes the trade-off between sensitivity and specificity). Click the "Limit a Search" button.
Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Perform your search using keywords in the search box or click on the specific link of interest.
Family Physicians Inquiries Network (FPIN) Clinical Inquiries Provide short, concise, evidence-based answers to clinical questions common in family medicine. The answers include a summary of the evidence and commentary that puts the answers into perspective.

OTseeker

[Basic Search Help]

Perform your search using keywords in the search box and click the "Basic Search" button.

Ovid MEDLINE

For more information, consult
Ovid Database Guide 

To retrieve filtered results, search options include:

  1. Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords. Click on the "Additional Limits" button. Using "Clinical Queries" limits results to clinically sound studies for all categories except costs. There are nine categories provided, and you can choose to emphasize "Sensitivity" (i.e., retrieves most relevant articles but also off target articles), "Specificity" (i.e., retrieves fewer relevant articles but also fewer off target articles), or "Best Balance" (i.e., the combination of terms that optimizes the trade-off between sensitivity and specificity). Click the "Limit a Search" button.

-- OR --

  1. Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords. Click on the "Additional Limits" button. In the "Publication Types" drop down, hold down the control (Ctrl) key and select "Meta-Analysis" and "Systematic Reviews". Click the "Limit a Search" button.

PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database

[Search Help]

Perform your search using keywords in the search box and click search.

PsycINFO

For more information, consult
Ovid Database Guide 

To retrieve filtered results, search options include:

  1. Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords. Click on the "Additional Limits" button. Go to the "Clinical Queries" box. There are three categories provided, and you can choose to emphasize "Sensitivity" (i.e., retrieves most relevant articles but also off target articles), "Specificity" (i.e., retrieves fewer relevant articles but also fewer off target articles), or "Best Balance" (i.e., the combination of terms that optimizes the trade-off between sensitivity and specificity). Click the "Limit a Search" button.

-- OR --

  1. Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords. Click on the "Additional Limits" button. In the "Methodology" drop down, hold down the control (Ctrl) key and select "Meta-Analysis" and "Systematic Reviews". Click the "Limit a Search" button.
Mobile app availablePubMed

For more information, consult PubMed Database Guide
Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords. Click on the "Publication Type" filter and select "Meta-Analysis" and "Systematic Reviews".

PubMed Clinical Queries

[Tutorial]

Perform your search using keywords. The "Clinical Queries" page filters searches by three clinical research areas: "Clinical Study Categories", "Systematic Reviews", and "Medical Genetics". Use the "Clinical Study Categories" dropdown menu to filter the search results by type of clinical question and to select between a more sensitive (i.e., broad) or more specific (i.e., narrow) search.

Scopus

For more information, consult Scopus Database Guide

Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords.
SUMSearch 2 Perform your search using a combination of keywords or Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).  Select from available limits and click "Submit Query".

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)

[Tutorials]

Perform your search using keywords in the "Search" or "PICO" mode.

Web of Science

Perform your search using a combination of subject headings and keywords.