Even though some of the resources and web sites allow use of their materials for educational and non-commercial purposes, it is your responsibility to read and follow the usage and copyright policies of a media resource. Look for usage and copyright policies under “About Us,” “Frequently Asked Question,” “Terms and Conditions,” “Terms of Use,” “Copyright” or “Contact Us” on the media resource's website.
For more information, see:
Textbooks are a good resource for background information. To find electronic books in the Library Catalog, click on "Advanced Search"; then type in search keywords and select the "Electronic Book" item type.
denotes a mobile app is available. Please go to the Mobile Resources Portal to download links.
Clinical Imaging: An Atlas of Differential Diagnosis, 5th ed. (Books@Ovid) by
Outlines and illustrates typical radiologic findings for diseases in all organ systems. Features new material on PET and PET/CT imaging and expanded coverage of MRI and CT.
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, 63rd ed. (AccessMedicine) by
Offers current insights into symptoms, signs, epidemiology, and treatment for more than 1,000 diseases and disorders.
Evidence-Based Practice: An Implementation Guide for Healthcare Organizations (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
Provides a single source for critical pathways used at hospitals worldwide. Includes diagnostic and therapeutic protocols for specific disorders, complete with evidence-based rationale.
Evidence-Based Practice in Action: Comprehensive Strategies, Tools, and Tips from the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by
This book is an application-oriented EBP resource that is organized and based on the latest Iowa Model. The authors provide tools for topic selection, literature searches, critique of research and evidence reviews, implementation, sustaining change, and evaluation.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023 (ClinicalKey) by
Access current diagnostic and therapeutic information on more than 700 common medical conditions. Not necessarily based on high-level evidence, but still useful. Note: To view PDF content, users must sign in with a personal ClinicalKey account.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7th ed. (AccessMedicine) by
Provides on-the-spot test selection and interpretation of more than 350 diagnostic tests, including risks and costs. Features evidence-based information, algorithms, nomograms, and tables.
Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research, 9th ed. (ClinicalKey for Nursing) by
Learn how to properly evaluate and use existing research data and how to conduct your own original research. This book features enhanced coverage of the research methods most applicable to evidence-based practice (outcomes research, intervention research, and translational research), along with a significant increase in the coverage of qualitative research methodologies.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3rd ed. (JAMAevidence) by
Provides information about how to distinguish solid medical evidence from poor medical evidence, devise the best search strategies for each clinical question, critically appraise the medical literature, and optimally tailor evidence-based medicine for each patient. Includes current, authoritative content covering how to: avoid being misled by biased presentations of research findings; interpret the significance of clinical trials that are discontinued early; influence clinician behavior to improve patient care; and apply key strategies for teaching evidence-based medicine.
| RESOURCE | HELPFUL LIBRARIAN TIPS FOR SEARCHING |
|---|---|
| AccessMedicine |
Includes Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst’s the Heart, Williams Gynecology, and Williams Obstetrics. |
| AccessPharmacy | Comprehensive online pharmacy resource allows users to explore references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. |
| AccessObGyn | Comprehensive online ObGyn resource covers the entire spectrum of obstetrics and gynecology and may be viewed on any device. Updated regularly. |
| AccessPhysiotherapy | Comprehensive online physiotherapy resource that integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool. |
| Books@OVID | Includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from selected book editions, including Rockwood and Green's Fractures in Adults. |
| ClinicalKey |
Covers more than 30 medical specialties and includes full-text textbooks and journals, clinical procedure videos, drug information, point-of-care decision support, patient handouts, and CME. |
| ClinicalKey for Nursing |
Includes evidence-based nursing monographs, books, journals, practice guidelines, CNEs, and core measures with nursing recommendations. Links to Clinical Skills. |
| LWW Health Library Basic Science Ebook Collection | provides access to clinical and educational content, as well as rich multimedia resources for teaching, learning, and practice. Includes more than 40 basic and anatomical science textbooks, plus Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking. |
| STAT!Ref |
full-text resource that enables users to cross-search evidence-based and authoritative healthcare references in seconds. With 400+ titles currently offered in over 50 healthcare disciplines, STAT!Ref provides the latest healthcare information in a customizable and convenient cross-searchable format. |
| RESOURCE | HELPFUL LIBRARIAN TIPS FOR SEARCHING |
|---|---|
| VisualDx |
Visual diagnostic decision support system links to high-quality medical images and information prepared by respected physician scholars. Users can earn CME credits. |