LibGuides: Data Sets Guide: Data Sets

Administration on Aging: Aging Statistics Includes census data, projections of future growth of the older population, minority aging data, disabilities data, and historical population estimates.
Administration for Children and Families Statistics Profiles of social issues regarding children, including child care, child welfare, and refugees. The site is maintained by the Department of Health and Human Services, which governs Aid for Families with Dependent Children (AFDC).
All of Us Project The All of Us Research Hub matches a broad research community with a diverse set of research participants. Its goal is to advance precision medicine research and fuel new insights into human health. The Research Hub houses one of the largest, most diverse, and most broadly accessible datasets ever assembled. It also provides an interactive Data Browser where anyone can learn about the type and quantity of data that All of Us collects. Users can explore aggregate data, including survey responses, physical measurements, electronic health record information, and wearables data for adults.
Ambulatory Health Care Data (CDC) The Centers for Disease Control's National Center for Health Statistics conducts this annual survey of physician visits as part of its National Health Care Survey, which also covers hospitals, nursing homes, hospices, and home health care. The National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey is a national probability survey of visits to office-based physicians. Information on visits to doctors in hospital outpatient departments is provided in a companion report recently released.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) The nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
Bureau of Labor Statistics An independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor. BLS data must satisfy a number of criteria, including relevance to current social and economic issues, timeliness in reflecting today's rapidly changing economic conditions, accuracy and consistently high statistical quality, and impartiality in both subject matter and presentation.
CDC WONDER An integrated information and communication system for public health that provides a single point of access to a wide variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data. Search for and retrieve MMWR articles and Prevention Guidelines published by CDC. Query data about mortality, cancer incidence, hospital discharges, AIDS, behavioral risk factors, diabetes, and many other topics. Developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Center for Clinical Observational Investigations (LHNCBC-NLM) Data Profiles Large clinical datasets are an essential resource for biomedical research as they can allow for greater strength and reliability in findings and may reduce the need for some traditional research trials.  The mission of the Center for Clinical Observational Investigations (CCOI) is to reduce barriers to finding and evaluating for use relevant clinical datasets by providing a curated metadata profile comprised of an overview, basic statistics, and concept counts for each clinical dataset.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services: Research, Statistics, Data and Systems Offers access to the vast data resources of the CMS, including Medicare data, payment data, reports on research, and trends in health care utilization.
DATA2010 The comprehensive database for tracking the Healthy People 2010 objectives. The site provides details on the source of the data, as well as links to the original data sets. Data is organized by focus area, objective, population, and data source.
FASTATS - National Center for Health Statistics This is a list of subjects for which statistics are available through the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). It is meant to provide users quick access to the data they need.
HCUPnet Identifies, tracks, and analyzes national and state hospital statistics. Includes trends, state statistics and national quality indicators.
Health Care Indicators Retrieve the latest data and analysis of recent trends in health care spending, employment, and prices. From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
Health, United States Annual report that presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, financing of health care, and managed care. Current and previous editions back to 1975 are available. From the Department of Health and Human Services.
About HIV Surveillance and Monitoring CDC uses data from public health labs, healthcare systems, and population surveys to capture information about people with, or with risk factors for, HIV. It is through these systems and subsequent analyses that CDC can better understand the distribution of HIV among populations and communities.
MedlinePlus Choose a specific condition and go to the Statistics and Research section to get an idea of where to find specific statistics. Great as a starting point for finding who produces the statistics you are looking for.
National Center for Health Statistics

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the primary Federal organization responsible for the collection, analyses, and dissemination of health statistics. The intent of this site is to provide users access to the health information that NCHS produces. Users can:

browse the publications and statistical tables
download selected public-use data files
conduct on-line database queries and searches in CDC Wonder
track progress toward Healthy People 2030 Objectives
Data Briefs provide comprehensible public health topics information in a compact publication (PDF)
or access FASTATS from A-Z

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) A population-based survey run by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that collects information on the health and nutrition of the U.S. household population. Includes two parts: the home interview and the health examination. This very large data set has been collected in selected years from 1959 to 1994, and then continuously since 1999. The site offers access to the data sets, summary reports for all available years, information about the collection of data, and tutorials on accessing and analyzing the data.
National Health Care Surveys A family of provider-based surveys designed to meet the need for objective, reliable information about the organizations and providers that supply health care, the services rendered, and the patients they serve. Managed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's National Center for Health Statistics, these surveys may be used to answer questions related to health care resource usage of physicians, emergency services, hospitals, ambulatory surgery, home and hospice care, and nursing homes. The site offers indirect access to the data files, which are managed by the CDC's Resource Data Center, as well as details about the surveys, news and updates, documentation, summary reports or "Advance Data", and more.
National Health Interview Survey The principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population of the United States and one of the major data collection programs of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) which is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This survey has been conducted continuously since 1957, providing a rich source of longitudinal data ready for analysis. The site offers access to the data sets, documentation, summary reports since 1963, and alerts to newly-released reports.
National Health Statistics Reports (CDC) Reports permit early release of data from health and demographic surveys by National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). Series sets contain PDF-format reports on surveys. Topics include hospital discharge, ambulatory medical care, adoption, injury statistics, and office visits to physicians. Previously named Advance Data.
National Vital Statistics Reports Regular issues cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics. Special reports are issued four to six times a year and cover final data on births for the previous year. Available from Vol. 47 to the present in Adobe Acrobat format. Previously known as Monthly Vital Statistics Report.
Racial Equity Dataset Compiled by The Network for Public Health Law. This searchable collection of enacted state legislation related to racial equity has great potential utility for various purposes. These laws are organized into categories of the social determinants of health (healthcare, education, built environment, social and community context, and economic stability) along with subcategories for each.
Statistical Abstracts Series The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011.
Vital and Health Statistics Series (the Rainbow Series) Bibliography of approximately 20 series of health statistics monographs that cover U.S. and international mortality, natality, nutrition, health care expenditures. Includes the National Health Interview Survey. Selected full text available online. Complete paper series available in the UT Southwestern Medical Center Library.
World Factbook [Electronic Book] Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for the use of U.S. Government. Provides "essential elements of basic intelligence on all areas of the world." Information provided by the Bureau of the Census (Department of Commerce); Bureau of Labor Statistics (Department of Labor); Central Intelligence Agency; Defense Intelligence Agency (Department of Defense); National Imagery and Mapping Agency (Department of Defense); Office of Naval Intelligence (Department of Defense); US Board on Geographic Names (Department of the Interior), and others.

Framingham SNP Health Association Resource (SHARe) Enables qualified researchers worldwide to access clinical and genetic data from more than 9,300 participants – spanning three generations and more than 900 families – in the Framingham Heart Study. Study participants had their DNA tested for 550,000 genetic variations, and researchers will be able to relate genetic variations to participants' clinical and laboratory tests. The Framingham Heart Study is funded by the National Institutes of Health's National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, Boston University School of Medicine, and Boston University School of Public Health.
Heart and Stroke Statistics Each year, the American Heart Association, in conjunction with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Institutes of Health and other government agencies, compiles up-to-date statistics on heart disease, stroke and other vascular diseases in the Heart Disease and Stroke Statistical Update.

About HIV Surveillance and Monitoring CDC uses data from public health labs, healthcare systems, and population surveys to capture information about people with, or with risk factors for, HIV. It is through these systems and subsequent analyses that CDC can better understand the distribution of HIV among populations and communities.
Kaiser Family Foundation The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, an independent philanthropy focusing on the major health care issues facing the nation, provides facts and analysis on topics such as health coverage & the uninsured, Medicare, HIV/AIDS, prescription drugs, and minority health.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Office of Applied Studies (SAMHSA) This division of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) manages several data sets related to the epidemiology of substance abuse, as well as program and outcomes evaluations. Data sets include National Surveys on Drug Use & Health (NSDUH), Treatment Episode Data Set (TEDS), Drug Abuse Warning Network (DAWN), Drug and Alcohol Services Information System (DASIS), and National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services (N-SSATS).
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive This site, managed by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), provides a unified interface to data from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).

Google Dataset Search Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

CDC WONDER An integrated information and communication system for public health that provides a single point of access to a wide variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data. Search for and retrieve MMWR articles and Prevention Guidelines published by CDC. Query data about mortality, cancer incidence, hospital discharges, AIDS, behavioral risk factors, diabetes, and many other topics. Developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
FASTATS - National Center for Health Statistics This is a list of subjects for which statistics are available through the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). It is meant to provide users quick access to the data they need.
Health, United States Annual report that presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, financing of health care, and managed care. Current and previous editions back to 1975 are available. From the Department of Health and Human Services.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries. Also included are reports on topics of international interest and notices of events of interest to the public health community. This file format contains hypertext links and is viewable only with the Adobe(TM) Acrobat(TM) Reader*.
National Vital Statistics Reports Regular issues cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics. Special reports are issued four to six times a year and cover final data on births for the previous year. Available from Vol. 47 to the present in Adobe Acrobat format. Previously known as Monthly Vital Statistics Report.
Vital and Health Statistics Series (the Rainbow Series) Bibliography of approximately 20 series of health statistics monographs that cover U.S. and international mortality, natality, nutrition, health care expenditures. Includes the National Health Interview Survey. Selected full text available online. Complete paper series available in the UT Southwestern Medical Center Library.

FedStats This site, maintained by the United States Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy, provides centralized access to the statistics produced by the more than 70 federal agencies. You can use the alphabetical index or search the titles or agency to find specific information. There is also a FastFacts page which lists the major statistical resources, like the Statistical Abstract.
ICPSR International Data Resource Center Includes conflict data, economic data, electoral systems and political behavior, environmental data, health data, social phenomena, public opinion data, and information about international organizations. Provided by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, which is part of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.
Public Agenda Issues Informs the public on controversial topics, including topics relevant to the medical community such as Medical Research, Health Care, Medicare, Race, Poverty and Welfare, and more. Provides "facts and figures, different perspectives and analysis of public attitudes".
Statistical Abstracts Series The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011.
World Factbook [Electronic Book] Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for the use of U.S. Government. Provides "essential elements of basic intelligence on all areas of the world." Information provided by the Bureau of the Census (Department of Commerce); Bureau of Labor Statistics (Department of Labor); Central Intelligence Agency; Defense Intelligence Agency (Department of Defense); National Imagery and Mapping Agency (Department of Defense); Office of Naval Intelligence (Department of Defense); US Board on Geographic Names (Department of the Interior), and others.

Framingham SNP Health Association Resource (SHARe) Enables qualified researchers worldwide to access clinical and genetic data from more than 9,300 participants – spanning three generations and more than 900 families – in the Framingham Heart Study. Study participants had their DNA tested for 550,000 genetic variations, and researchers will be able to relate genetic variations to participants' clinical and laboratory tests. The Framingham Heart Study is funded by the National Institutes of Health's National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, Boston University School of Medicine, and Boston University School of Public Health.

Administration on Aging: Aging Statistics Includes census data, projections of future growth of the older population, minority aging data, disabilities data, and historical population estimates.
Health Data Interactive (HDI) Provides interactive access to tables of data related to key health indicators and health resource utility in the United States. Data sources include the Current Population Survey, the Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey, National Home and Hospice Care Survey (NHHCS), population estimates, and more. Provided by the National Center for Health Statistics.

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care The Dartmouth Atlas focuses on the accurate description of how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States, showing how Americans use health care resources and the influence of the local supply of resources on the rates of use of those resources. From the Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School. Includes interactive data tools, atlases and reports.
HCUPnet Identifies, tracks, and analyzes national and state hospital statistics. Includes trends, state statistics and national quality indicators.
WHO Statistical Information System Health and health-related statistical information from the World Health Organization's Global Programme on Evidence for Health Policy.

CDC WONDER An integrated information and communication system for public health that provides a single point of access to a wide variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data. Search for and retrieve MMWR articles and Prevention Guidelines published by CDC. Query data about mortality, cancer incidence, hospital discharges, AIDS, behavioral risk factors, diabetes, and many other topics. Developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) A population-based survey run by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that collects information on the health and nutrition of the U.S. household population. Includes two parts: the home interview and the health examination. This very large data set has been collected in selected years from 1959 to 1994, and then continuously since 1999. The site offers access to the data sets, summary reports for all available years, information about the collection of data, and tutorials on accessing and analyzing the data.

PeriStats: An Interactive Perinatal Data Resource Developed by the March of Dimes, this site provides maternal, infant, and child heath-related data at the state level. For some indicators there is also data at the county and national levels, and there is an overview for Puerto Rico. The PeriStats database uses information compiled from the Centers for Disease Control, other governmental agencies, and the March of Dimes. In addition to the database, statistics "at a glance" are available for each state.

Cancer Facts and Statistics (American Cancer Society) The ACS presents data on cancer incidence, mortality, survival, cancer risk factors, and annual estimates of expected new cases and deaths. It also tracks data regarding behaviors that influence the risk of developing cancer and the use of screening tests.
National Cancer Data Base Founded as a joint project of the Commission on Cancer of the American College of Surgeons and the American Cancer Society, the NCDB is a nationwide oncology outcomes database for 1,600 hospitals in 50 states. The data collection arm of the NCDB is, in effect, a national hospital cancer registry for over 25 cancers. Statistics can include patient demographics, survival rates, tumor characteristics and treatment by stage.
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute The SEER Program of the National Cancer Institute is the most authoritative source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States. Information on more than 2.5 million cancer cases is included in the SEER database, and approximately 160,000 new cases are accessioned each year within the SEER catchment areas. SEER data, publications, and resources are available free of charge.
Texas Cancer Data Center Provides online cancer information on health professionals, facilities and services, cancer statistics, population, and community resources.

Administration for Children and Families Statistics Profiles of social issues regarding children, including child care, child welfare, and refugees. The site is maintained by the Department of Health and Human Services, which governs Aid for Families with Dependent Children (AFDC).
Child Trends DataBank Includes research papers and briefs, literature reviews, and a growing collection of "what works" interactive tables that identify programs proven by research to be effective in promoting child and youth development. Child Trends works with federal and state officials and other researchers to improve the quality, scope, and use of data on children and their families. The Child Trends DataBank has a large and diverse list of publications including research papers, research briefs, literature reviews, and a growing collection of "what works" interactive tables that identify programs proven by research to be effective in promoting child and youth development.
ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics Official Web site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics that includes the annual America's Children reports. Offers easy access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including population and family characteristics; economic security; health, behavior and social environment; and education.
KidsCount Data Book The Annie E. Casey Foundation maintains this site of statistics and publications for the purpose of "tracking the status of children in the United States." Users can view statistical profiles, graphs, charts and maps based on specific socioeconomic indicators.
PeriStats: An Interactive Perinatal Data Resource Developed by the March of Dimes, this site provides maternal, infant, and child heath-related data at the state level. For some indicators there is also data at the county and national levels, and there is an overview for Puerto Rico. The PeriStats database uses information compiled from the Centers for Disease Control, other governmental agencies, and the March of Dimes. In addition to the database, statistics "at a glance" are available for each state.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive This site, managed by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), provides a unified interface to data from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).
Texas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) The Texas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, initiated in 1987, is a federally-funded telephone survey conducted on a monthly basis of 500 randomly selected adult Texans to collect data on lifestyle risk factors contributing to the leading causes of death and chronic diseases. This is an extension of the national BRFSS, with added questions that are developed for local purposes. The site provides documentation, including counties surveyed, and copies of the questionnaires, as well as summary reports and presentations. They also map the data to state-wide health objectives.

Administration for Children and Families Statistics Profiles of social issues regarding children, including child care, child welfare, and refugees. The site is maintained by the Department of Health and Human Services, which governs Aid for Families with Dependent Children (AFDC).
National Health Statistics Reports (CDC) Reports permit early release of data from health and demographic surveys by National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). Series sets contain PDF-format reports on surveys. Topics include hospital discharge, ambulatory medical care, adoption, injury statistics, and office visits to physicians. Previously named Advance Data.
Ambulatory Health Care Data (CDC) The Centers for Disease Control's National Center for Health Statistics conducts this annual survey of physician visits as part of its National Health Care Survey, which also covers hospitals, nursing homes, hospices, and home health care. The National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey is a national probability survey of visits to office-based physicians. Information on visits to doctors in hospital outpatient departments is provided in a companion report recently released.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) The nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
CDC WONDER An integrated information and communication system for public health that provides a single point of access to a wide variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data. Search for and retrieve MMWR articles and Prevention Guidelines published by CDC. Query data about mortality, cancer incidence, hospital discharges, AIDS, behavioral risk factors, diabetes, and many other topics. Developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics Official Web site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics that includes the annual America's Children reports. Offers easy access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including population and family characteristics; economic security; health, behavior and social environment; and education.
City Health Dashboard Created by our team at NYU Grossman School of Medicine's Department of Population Health, and with support from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the City Health Dashboard launched in 2018. The Dashboard now offers data on over 40 measures of health and drivers of health for over 970 cities across the U.S. – all cities over population 50,000 plus a growing set of smaller places. We're committed to constant improvement, over the years adding new measures and features, including multi-year data, new data visualizations, and easier data access through an API.
Community Health Checkup (Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council) Hospitals in Dallas, Tarrant, Collin, Denton, Johnson and Parker counties collaborate to produce a set of comprehensive needs assessment documents. Hospital representatives from the six counties work together to create the "Community Health Checkup", which are used by North Texas hospitals to meet state regulatory requirements and to prepare for community health planning, service development, new service locations, and grant writing.
Community Health Information System (CHIS) Vital and demographic information for Harris and surrounding counties, including the Houston metropolitan area. Developed by the University of Texas Houston School of Public Health.
DataFerret for "TheDataWeb" TheDataWeb is a central repository of datasets, systems, and software from a wide array of governmental entities. DataFerret is the search engine that enables users to find the best dataset for their needs.
Demographic and Health Surveys Requires free registration. The project, funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), provides data for "informed decisions in population, health, and nutrition." Users can browse or search for data sets, which are available for most countries.
Framingham SNP Health Association Resource (SHARe) Enables qualified researchers worldwide to access clinical and genetic data from more than 9,300 participants – spanning three generations and more than 900 families – in the Framingham Heart Study. Study participants had their DNA tested for 550,000 genetic variations, and researchers will be able to relate genetic variations to participants' clinical and laboratory tests. The Framingham Heart Study is funded by the National Institutes of Health's National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, Boston University School of Medicine, and Boston University School of Public Health.
Health Data Interactive (HDI) Provides interactive access to tables of data related to key health indicators and health resource utility in the United States. Data sources include the Current Population Survey, the Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey, National Home and Hospice Care Survey (NHHCS), population estimates, and more. Provided by the National Center for Health Statistics.
About HIV Surveillance and Monitoring CDC uses data from public health labs, healthcare systems, and population surveys to capture information about people with, or with risk factors for, HIV. It is through these systems and subsequent analyses that CDC can better understand the distribution of HIV among populations and communities.
Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, an independent philanthropy focusing on the major health care issues facing the nation, provides facts and analysis on topics such as health coverage & the uninsured, Medicare, HIV/AIDS, prescription drugs, and minority health.
KidsCount Data Book The Annie E. Casey Foundation maintains this site of statistics and publications for the purpose of "tracking the status of children in the United States." Users can view statistical profiles, graphs, charts and maps based on specific socioeconomic indicators.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries. Also included are reports on topics of international interest and notices of events of interest to the public health community. This file format contains hypertext links and is viewable only with the Adobe(TM) Acrobat(TM) Reader*.
National Center for Health Statistics

browse the publications and statistical tables
download selected public-use data files
conduct on-line database queries and searches in CDC Wonder
track progress toward Healthy People 2030 Objectives
Data Briefs provide comprehensible public health topics information in a compact publication (PDF)
or access FASTATS from A-Z

National Center for Injury Prevention and Control This site, sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, provides facts, data, publications, funding, and more on injuries and injury prevention. There are public health fact sheets, the Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS), the CDC Injury Fact Book, injury maps, podcasts, and more.
National Neighborhood Data Archive The National Neighborhood Data Archive (NaNDA) is a publicly available data archive containing measures of the physical, economic, demographic, and social environment at multiple levels of spatial scale (eg, census tract, ZIP code tabulation area, county). Each NaNDA dataset covers all or most of the entire nation (including both rural and urban areas) and represents a set of measures on a single topic of interest, including socioeconomic disadvantage, healthcare, housing, partisanship, and public transit, with temporal coverage dating back to 2000.
National Vital Statistics Reports Regular issues cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics. Special reports are issued four to six times a year and cover final data on births for the previous year. Available from Vol. 47 to the present in Adobe Acrobat format. Previously known as Monthly Vital Statistics Report.
NationMaster.com A central data source that allows users to graphically compare nations, the site is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, the United Nations, and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
NHLBI Morbidity and Mortality Chartbook The NHLBI Chartbook is a biennial compilation of data on the size and trends of morbidity and mortality from the cardiovascular, lung, and blood diseases. While most charts describe national prevalence, hospitalizations, and mortality statistics, some of them provide additional information by state or country. Risk factors estimates and the economic costs of these diseases are also included. Adobe Acrobat Rreader is needed to download the full report.
OECD Data Explorer Search for complex statistical data and extract data from across the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) databases.
PeriStats: An Interactive Perinatal Data Resource Developed by the March of Dimes, this site provides maternal, infant, and child heath-related data at the state level. For some indicators there is also data at the county and national levels, and there is an overview for Puerto Rico. The PeriStats database uses information compiled from the Centers for Disease Control, other governmental agencies, and the March of Dimes. In addition to the database, statistics "at a glance" are available for each state.
Public Health Information & Data Tutorial Provides instruction for members of the public health workforce on issues related to information access and management. Each module features a case study and exercises.
State Health Facts (Texas) Provided by the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, this section of the State Health Facts site provides data about births and prenatal care, deaths and infant mortality, childhood and adult immunizations, smoking and overweight/obesity rates, mental health and major diseases.
State Health Facts Online This resource from the Kaiser Family Foundation contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
Status of Women and Girls in Dallas County: A Review of the Academic Literature (University of North Texas) UT Southwestern Medical Center Library Comprehensive assessment from 2000-2002 of the status of women and girls in Dallas County, including sections on economics, health, families, and adolescent girls.
Texas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) The Texas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, initiated in 1987, is a federally-funded telephone survey conducted on a monthly basis of 500 randomly selected adult Texans to collect data on lifestyle risk factors contributing to the leading causes of death and chronic diseases. This is an extension of the national BRFSS, with added questions that are developed for local purposes. The site provides documentation, including counties surveyed, and copies of the questionnaires, as well as summary reports and presentations. They also map the data to state-wide health objectives.
Texas State Data Center Functions as a focal point for the distribution of census information for Texas. Also disseminates population estimates and projections for Texas as well as other information from the federal government, state government, and other sources. Contains the U.S. Census Bureau's 2000 Census redistricting data for the state of Texas.
United Nations Statistics Division The United Nations Statistics Division provides a wide range of statistical outputs and services for producers and users of statistics worldwide. The site provides access to datasets and statistics, as well as information on methods and other data sources.
WHO Statistical Information System Health and health-related statistical information from the World Health Organization's Global Programme on Evidence for Health Policy.

Community Health Checkup (Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council) Hospitals in Dallas, Tarrant, Collin, Denton, Johnson and Parker counties collaborate to produce a set of comprehensive needs assessment documents. Hospital representatives from the six counties work together to create the "Community Health Checkup", which are used by North Texas hospitals to meet state regulatory requirements and to prepare for community health planning, service development, new service locations, and grant writing.
Community Health Information System (CHIS) Vital and demographic information for Harris and surrounding counties, including the Houston metropolitan area. Developed by the University of Texas Houston School of Public Health.
HCUPnet Identifies, tracks, and analyzes national and state hospital statistics. Includes trends, state statistics and national quality indicators.
State Health Facts (Texas) Provided by the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, this section of the State Health Facts site provides data about births and prenatal care, deaths and infant mortality, childhood and adult immunizations, smoking and overweight/obesity rates, mental health and major diseases.
Texas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) The Texas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, initiated in 1987, is a federally-funded telephone survey conducted on a monthly basis of 500 randomly selected adult Texans to collect data on lifestyle risk factors contributing to the leading causes of death and chronic diseases. This is an extension of the national BRFSS, with added questions that are developed for local purposes. The site provides documentation, including counties surveyed, and copies of the questionnaires, as well as summary reports and presentations. They also map the data to state-wide health objectives.
Texas Cancer Data Center Provides online cancer information on health professionals, facilities and services, cancer statistics, population, and community resources.
Texas County Information Includes economic, demographic and federal census information.
Texas Department of State Health Service - Data and Reports Reports Texas health data relating to patterns of birth defects, lifestyle risk factors, cancer incidence, vital statistics, and more.
Texas DSHS Center for Health Statistics Provides a portal for comprehensive health data in Texas.
Texas State Data Center Functions as a focal point for the distribution of census information for Texas. Also disseminates population estimates and projections for Texas as well as other information from the federal government, state government, and other sources. Contains the U.S. Census Bureau's 2000 Census redistricting data for the state of Texas.

Finding and Using Health Statistics: A Self-Study Course Prepared by Dan Melnick Research Inc. for the National Library of Medicine. Although this self-study course is designed for librarians, this course may be of value to all users of health statistics. Presents sources of statistics based on four broad areas: health correlates, health conditions, health care and health consequences. Also demonstrates how to identify and find important results; assess the benefits and limitations of these results; and progress from summaries to detailed original reports. Instruction in this self-study class is reinforced by a series of 15 exercises.
Public Health Information & Data Tutorial Provides instruction for members of the public health workforce on issues related to information access and management. Each module features a case study and exercises.

Statistical Software

SAS Guide
by Jane Scott Last Updated May 7, 2024 38 views this year
SPSS Guide
by Jane Scott Last Updated Dec 13, 2023 31 views this year

User Responsibility

Even though some of the resources and web sites allow use of their materials for educational and non-commercial purposes, it is your responsibility to read and follow the usage and copyright policies of a media resource. Look for usage and copyright policies under “About Us,” “Frequently Asked Question,” “Terms and Conditions,” “Terms of Use,” “Copyright” or “Contact Us” on the media resource's website.

For more information, see:

Copyright Guide
by Cathy Nakashima Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 1481 views this year
Using Media (Images, Video, Audio)
by Cathy Nakashima Last Updated Mar 27, 2025 572 views this year