Use this format if you are citing an entry in an online drug information database.
You will need (minimum information in bold):
- Author(s) (if available)
- Entry title (in sentence case - not in italics)
- Editor(s) (if available)
- Database title (in italics - in Title Case)
- Publisher's name
- Published date (at least year, if available) OR Updated date (if different to published date - at least year, if available)
- Accessed date
- URL
Standard Database Pattern
Author AA, Author BB. Title of entry [type of entry, if applicable]. In: Editor AA, Editor BB, eds (if available). Title of Database. Publisher’s name. Published (or Updated) date (at least year, if available). Accessed date. URL
Examples
Paracetamol. In: Brayfield, A, ed. Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference. Pharmaceutical Press. Updated October 31, 2014. Accessed February 20, 2015. http://www.medicinescomplete.com
Paracetamol (Systemic). Drug monograph. In: AusDI database. Phoenix Medical Publishing. Updated May 28, 2020. Accessed September 1, 2020. https://ausdi.hcn.com.au/productMonograph.hcn?file=0460
Ginger. In: Natural Standard: The Authority on Integrative Medicine. Natural Standard. Updated July 10, 2020. Accessed September 1, 2020. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/databases/food,-herbs-supplements/professional.aspx?productid=961
Liquid paraffin. In: Australian Medicines Handbook. Australian Medicines Handbook. Accessed September 1, 2020. https://amhonline.amh.net.au/chapters/gastrointestinal-drugs/laxatives/stool-softeners/liquid-paraffin?menu=vertical
Prevention of endocarditis. In: eTG Complete. Therapeutic Guidelines. April, 2019. Updated August 2020. Accessed September 1, 2020. https://tgldcdp.tg.org.au/viewTopic?topicfile=infection-prevention-endocarditis&guidelineName=Antibiotic&topicNavigation=navigateTopic#toc_d1e47
Prozac (Product info). In: MIMS Online. MIMS Australia. Updated September, 2020. Accessed September 1, 2020. https://www.mimsonline.com.au/Search/AbbrPI.aspx?ModuleName=Product%20Info&searchKeyword=Prozac+Capsules&PreviousPage=~/Search/QuickSearch.aspx&
SearchType=&ID=5050001_2
If you were referring to the database as a whole, rather than an individual entry in the database, you would skip the reference to the authors and title of the entry and begin with the Editors (if there are any) or the title of the database.
MIMS Online. MIMS Australia; September 2020. Accessed September 1, 2020. https://www.mimsonline.com.au
Notes
- If there are no authors, begin with the title of the entry.
