LibGuides: Management, Health Policy, & Community Health Guide: Home

Electronic books are available within many of the Library’s electronic resource collections. This is a selected list of electronic books from multiple sources, and additional electronic books on management, health policy, and community health may be found by searching the Library’s eBooks on EBSCOhost collection.

Community Health Advocacy (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Sana Loue; Linda S. Lloyd; Daniel J. O'Shea Text recognizes health professionals' need for advocacy for the protection and enhancement of the health community. Provides a foundation for initiation of advocacy efforts and the evaluation of their success. Includes specific strategies, formation and development of coalitions, and advocacy efforts in legislatures, courts, and media. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare.
ISBN: 9780306473906
Publication Date: 2002-12-31
Crossing the Quality Chasm: A New Health System for the 21st Century (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Committee on Quality of Health Care in America Documents the causes of the quality gap, identifies current practices that impede quality care, and explores how systems approaches can be used to implement change.
ISBN: 9780309072809
Publication Date: 2001-08-19
Future of the Public's Health in The 21st Century (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Institute of Medicine U. S., Committee on Assuring the Health of the Public in the 21st Century Outlines a systems approach to assuring the nation's health in practice, research, and policy. Focuses on joining the unique resources and perspectives of diverse sectors and entities and challenges these groups to work in a concerted, strategic way to promote and protect the public's health.
ISBN: 9780309087049
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Healthcare Quality Book: Vision, Strategy, and Tools (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Scott B. Ransom; Maulik Joshi; David Nash Includes the most current information on a vast array of quality issues, tools, and strategies, with the book's core premise being that the key to effective improvement is centering all efforts on the needs of patients. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare.
ISBN: 9781567932249
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Health Performance Measurement in the Public Sector: Principles and Policies for Implementing an Information Network (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Edward B. Perrin; Jane S. Durch; Susan M. Skillman Focuses on data and information system issues at the federal, state, and local levels. Recommendations address policy framework for selecting performance measures and using performance measurement; operational principles related to data and data systems that support performance measurement; essential investments in data systems and in training and technical assistance; and research needed to improve performance measures and performance measurement.
ISBN: 9780309064361
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Health Services Management: Readings, Cases, and Commentary, 8th ed. (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Anthony R. Kovner; Duncan Neuhauser
ISBN: 9781567932201
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Managing Health Programs and Projects (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Beaufort B. Longest Describes how to effectively organize, implement, and evaluate health programs and projects. Defines and describes the work of managers in health programs and projects, explores the decision-making process, defines the process of communicating, probes the fundamentals of program planning, explains budgeting, covers staffing for programs and projects, and explains how leaders motivate participants in health programs and projects. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare.
ISBN: 9780787971854
Publication Date: 2004-07-08
Needs Assessment in Public Health (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Donna J. Peterson; Greg R. Alexander Follows the typical sequence of an actual needs assessment process, which is essential in the development of appropriate policy and programmatic solutions to persistent and emergent public health concerns. Uses case studies to illustrate conceptualization of the task through the application of needs-based data to effective public health solutions. This volume has been designed to serve both students and practitioners interested in improving their understanding and skills in the area of needs assessment. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare.
ISBN: 9780306465307
Publication Date: 2001-05-31
Priorities in Health (NCBI) by Dean T. Jamison; Joel G. Breman; Anthony R. Measham; George Alleyne; et. al. The companion volume to the Disease Control Priorities in Developing Countries, 2nd ed., 2006. Presents the contents of the larger volume into an easily readable format to provide an overview of the messages and analysis. Available from NCBI Bookshelf.
ISBN: 0821362627
Publication Date: 2006
Seeking Strategic Advantage Through Health Policy Analysis (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Beaufort B. Longest Addresses the links between public policymaking and strategymaking in healthcare organizations. Part of the eBooks on EBSCOhost collection, which is provided by UT Southwestern, the UT System Libraries, and TexShare.
ISBN: 9781567930474
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach, 9th ed. (AccessMedicine) by Thomas S. Bodenheimer; Kevin Grumbach; Rachel Willard-Grace Discusses health policy, individual patients, and caregivers and how they interact with each other and with the overall health system. Features clinical vignettes in every chapter.
ISBN: 9781265905026
Publication Date: 2023-12-05
Who Will Keep the Public Healthy?: Educating Public Health Professionals for the 21st Century (eBooks on EBSCOhost) by Kristine M. Gebbie; Linda Rosenstock; Lyla M. Hernandez Provides an overview of the past, present, and future of public health education, assessing its readiness to provide the training and education needed to prepare men and women to face 21st century challenges.
ISBN: 9780309085427
Publication Date: 2003-05-29

Find electronic journal titles related to management, health policy, and community health under the subject heading Health Services.

More Electronic Journals:

Search Ejournals A to Z for "community health"
Search Ejournals A to Z for “health policy”
Search Ejournals A to Z for “public health management”

Evidence-Based Practice Guide
by Cathy Nakashima Last Updated Mar 20, 2025 1478 views this year

AcademyHealth: Advancing Research, Policy, and Practice The professional home for health services researchers, policy analysts, and practitioners. Promotes interaction across the health research and policy arenas by bringing together a broad spectrum of players to share their perspectives, learn from each other, and strengthen their working relationships. Areas of interest include healthcare disparities, coverage and access, and public health systems research.
Center for Studying Health System Change The Center for Studying Health System Change (HSC) is a nonpartisan policy research organization that studies the U.S. health care system and chronicles the trends in policies and applications. The site offers reports on such topics as managed care, insurance coverage, and healthcare access, as well as the data sets and research methods used for these studies.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care The Dartmouth Atlas focuses on the accurate description of how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States, showing how Americans use health care resources and the influence of the local supply of resources on the rates of use of those resources. From the Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School. Includes interactive data tools, atlases and reports.
Department of Health and Human Services The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) governs public health programs, federal health agencies, and national health policy. This site includes general information about the Department, consumer health information, and resources in research, policy, and administration.
Health Care in America: Trends in Utilization Presents trends for the past decade in the utilization of health services across the spectrum of care, from ambulatory care, to hospitalization, to nursing home and home health and hospice care.
HIPAA and Administrative Simplification The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services site provides an overview of the HIPAA regulation. Includes discussions concerning misunderstandings about HIPAA, questions and answers, amendments to HIPAA, and statutory text.
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects) in Progress This is a free database containing more than 6,000 descriptions of ongoing health services research projects funded by government and state agencies, foundations, and private organizations. The database is also accessible as part of the "Other Collections" category of resources in the National Library of Medicine (NLM) Internet Gateway. The National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) coordinates its continued development for NLM.
Kaiser Family Foundation Provides health policy students and faculty easy access to data, literature, news and developments regarding major health policy topics and debates.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology This National Library of Medicine site attempts to make the results of health services research, including practice guidelines and technology assessments, readily available. Resources include access to health services databases, training opportunities, publications, and a health services research information gateway.
National Conference of State Legislatures Public Health Legislation The National Conference of State Legislatures brings you up-to-date, real-time information about bills related to public health and infectious disease prevention that have been introduced in the 50 states and the District of Columbia.
Public Agenda This non-profit organization provides surveys and public opinion research on a variety of social issues, including health care. Sections include facts and statistics, public views of policies, and areas of public consensus and division.
Texas Public Policy Foundation The foundation is a non-profit, non-partisan research institute guided by the principles of limited government, private property rights, and individual responsibility. Its mission is to improve Texas government by generating academically sound research and data on state issues and by recommending the findings to opinion leaders, policy makers, the media, and general public.
Data at WHO Combines an expert assessment of global health, including statistics relating to all countries, with a focus on a specific subject. Provides countries, donor agencies, international organizations, and others with the information they need to help them make policy and funding decisions.