LibGuides: Global Health Guide: Home

Data Sets & Statistics

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program: Data USAID-funded program to collect and analyze demographic and health data for regional and national family planning and public health programs. Includes STATcompiler and HIV/AIDS Survey Indicators Database.
Global Health Data Exchange Provides global health and demographic data. Users may use this site to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health.
Global Health Observatory Provides data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications, and links to relevant information.
Human Development Reports Provides global, regional, and national reports produced by the United Nations Development Programme on various topics, including human rights, poverty, education, economic reform, HIV/AIDS, globalization, capacity building, and partnerships worldwide.
ICPSR International Data Resource Center Includes conflict data, economic data, electoral systems and political behavior, environmental data, health data, social phenomena, public opinion data, and information about international organizations. Provided by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, which is part of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.
Research Datasets and Analytical Tools (World Bank) Provides datasets and computational tools for research in agriculture, domestic and household finance, education, environment, globalization, governance, health, population and demography, industry, infrastructure, international economics, labor and employment, macroeconomics and growth, poverty, private sector development, public sector management, rural development, social development, transition economies, and urban development.
UN Stats Provides statistical information for countries collected from the United Nations and related international governmental organizations. Includes population composition and change; human settlements, housing, geographic distribution of population; households and families, marital status, fertility; health, health services; impairment, disabilities; nutrition; education and learning; and more.
US Department of State - Policy issues including Global Health
WHO Statistical Information System Health and health-related statistical information from the World Health Organization's Global Programme on Evidence for Health Policy.

Databases

African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new window An online service that provides access to African-published research and increases worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship. Includes content from more than 650 peer-reviewed journals from more than 35 African countries.
Embase® Classic + Embase®: 1947 to the Present (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Contains more than 31 million bibliographic records in peer-reviewed journals, including many unique titles not found in MEDLINE. Ovid offers a single interface to search multiple biomedical databases and full-text resources including MEDLINE and PsycINFO.
Global Health (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973.
Global Index Medicus (WHO) This link opens in a new window WHO database for searching the literature of regional medical indices, including AIM (AFRO), LILACS (AMRO/PAHO), IMEMR (EMRO), IMSEAR (SEARO), WPRIM (WPRO).
Ovid MEDLINE® All: 1946 to the Present with Daily Update This link opens in a new window Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes Ovid MEDLINE® and Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process, In-Data-Review & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Daily, as well as Medline Versions. (Medline Versions includes records that have additional versions as well as any new record types that are added to Medline.)
PubMed This link opens in a new window The U.S. National Library of Medicine's database of peer-reviewed literature covers research in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the preclinical sciences. Contains more than 26 million references dating back to the 1940s. Easy access to the Library's ejournals is available through a customized PubMed version, which may be accessed from the Library's home page. Off-campus access to this customized version is available through EZProxy.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary scientific database covering 25 million abstracts from over 14,000 titles across 4,000 publishers. Includes journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and Web sites in the physical sciences, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences. Covers journals from 1966 to the present.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) This link opens in a new window Allows health professionals to easily find the highest-quality online materials to help support evidence-based practice. Search by keyword for evidence-based medicine materials, images, or patient information leaflets. Users may also browse more than 20 subject lists.

Featured Electronic Books

Understanding Global Health, 2nd ed. (AccessMedicine) by William Markle; Melanie Fisher Explores the current burden of disease in the world, how health is determined, and the problems faced by populations and health care workers around the world. Each chapter includes learning objectives, summarization, study questions, and references.
ISBN: 9781306078023
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Global Health: An Introduction to Current and Future Trends, 2nd ed. (Taylor & Francis) by Kevin McCracken; David R. Phillips Provides readers with a comprehensive, up-to-date, and thought-provoking outline and understanding of the constantly evolving global health landscape. Topics include emerging and re-emerging infectious disease threats; increasing awareness of and interest in antimicrobial resistance and superbugs terrorism; global conflict and health; and more.
ISBN: 9781317431213
Publication Date: 2017-07-14
Routledge Handbook on the Politics of Global Health (Taylor & Francis) by Richard Parker; Jonathan Garcia Evaluates how the global health industry has evolved and how the interests of diverse political and economic stakeholders are shaping the context of a rapidly changing institutional landscape. Provides an authoritative overview for students, practitioners, researchers, and policymakers working in or concerned with the politics of public health around the globe.
ISBN: 9781138238596
Publication Date: 2018-12-13

Web Resources

Coordinating Office for Global Health (CDC) An agency of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that coordinates U.S. efforts to address global health issues, including infectious disease transmission, disease surveillance, refugee health, and maternal and child health issues. The site provides details about the programs, information on surveillance, and training opportunities.
Demographic and Health Surveys Requires free registration. The project, funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), provides data for "informed decisions in population, health, and nutrition." Users can browse or search for data sets, which are available for most countries.
National Center for Cultural Competence (Georgetown University) The mission of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. From the Georgetown University Center for Child & Human Development.
OECD Data Explorer Search for complex statistical data and extract data from across the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) databases.
Office of Global Affairs (HHS) This site, put out by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), addresses global health and, more importantly, the link between domestic and international health issues. The site reviews HHS's work in these areas and offers useful pointers to data resources, international travel information, reports and publications, and more.
Pan American Health Organization Provides news, information, support, and data on health issues relevant to the Western Hemisphere. Of particular emphasis is the control of infectious diseases that are endemic to the American continents. Provides news, bulletins, journals, data, media, maps, and even a virtual library. Users can subscribe to RSS feeds to stay up-to-date with alerts and news.
Population Reference Bureau Supplies summaries in graphics and text of the demographic characteristics of the U.S. population. Selected topics include reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures-Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender.
UNICEF UNICEF is heavily involved in promoting improvements in health and health care within developing and under-developed countries. The site provides details about the programs, as well as data, information resources, and publications, such as The State of the World's Children.
United Nations Statistics Division The United Nations Statistics Division provides a wide range of statistical outputs and services for producers and users of statistics worldwide. The site provides access to datasets and statistics, as well as information on methods and other data sources.
United States Agency for International Development (USAID) - Health This federal agency supports programs to improve health conditions in under-developed countries, including environmental health, health care systems, HIV/AIDS, maternal and child health, nutrition, and family planning. The site provides details of the agency's programs, publications, funding opportunities, information about the countries that are served, and information resources.
World Bank The goal of The World Bank is to free the world of poverty. Towards that end, the organization sponsors programs in all aspects of economic and social development, including health and health care improvements. The site provides extensive details of individual programs and funding opportunities, data on individual countries and regions, and an archive of publications on a wide variety of health related topics.
World Health Organization The premier site for international health care, WHO has been collecting, analyzing and disseminating information worldwide for over 50 years. This site offers information on health policies, statistics, and systems; access to the library catalog,; WHOSIS, the statistical information server; and publications

Featured Electronic Journals

BMJ Global Health
ISSN: 2059-7908 (online)
Global Health Action
ISSN: 1654-9716 (print), 1654-9880 (online)
Journal of Global Health
ISSN: 2047-2978 (print), 2047-2986 (online)
The Lancet Global Health
ISSN: 2214-109X (online)

Language Resources

Pronunciator This link opens in a new window Pronunciator is a fun and easy way to learn to speak, read, and write in more than 100 languages. Includes live tutors, feature films, music with lyrics, pronunciation analysis, quizzes, and more! Also features ESL for over 75 non-English languages, plus free apps for Android, Apple, and Kindle Fire devices.