LibGuides: Consumer Health Guide: Selected Other Resources

Subscription Resources

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full-text articles for more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports, as well as pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers and health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic integrates tens of millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and thousands of health-related multimedia assets, all available 24/7 through an intuitive, state-of-the-art platform with daily content updates. Provided by UT Southwestern and TexShare.

Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center (USDHHS, NIH, National Institute on Aging)
American Cancer Society Get information on a variety of cancer topics, including understanding your cancer diagnosis and finding and paying for treatment. Disponible en Español.
breastcancer.org
Digestive Diseases Health Information (National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases)
HIV InSite
Kidney Disease Health Information (National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases) Provides publications about specific kidney and urologic diseases in varying reading levels and free of copyright. Responds to inquiries about kidney and urologic diseases, ranging from information about available patient and professional educational materials to statistical data. A service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), National Institutes of Health.
Osteoporosis - What Is It?
Patient and Caregiver Resources. National Comprehensive Cancer Network Covers every aspect of a cancer diagnosis. The NCCN Guidelines for Patients provides patient treatment guidelines for specific cancers that are based on the same treatment information your doctors use. Available in multiple languages.

American Diabetes Association
American Heart Association Provides information on prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of heart conditions.
National Cancer Institute
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases Provides publications about specific kidney and urologic diseases in varying reading levels and free of copyright. Responds to inquiries about kidney and urologic diseases, ranging from information about available patient and professional educational materials to statistical data. A service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), National Institutes of Health.

Care Finder Multi-lingual resource helps low-income and immigrant patients find affordable care. It includes more than 16,300 federally-qualified health centers and more than 230 federally-registered free clinics.
Cleveland Clinic Health Information Center
ClinicalTrials.gov - Clinical Studies Related to the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. (IMPORTANT: Listing a study does not mean it has been evaluated by the U.S. Federal Government. Read our disclaimer for details.)
Doctor Finder Search for a doctor using a tool in over 15 physician-approved languages
Genetics Home Reference
HealthFinder
Health & Wellness Tips (UT Southwestern)
Household Products Database
Lab Tests Online
Mayo Clinic
Merck Manuals Consumer Version
Parkland Health & Hospital System

PubMed This link opens in a new window The U.S. National Library of Medicine's database of peer-reviewed literature covers research in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the preclinical sciences. Contains more than 26 million references dating back to the 1940s. Easy access to the Library's ejournals is available through a customized PubMed version, which may be accessed from the Library's home page. Off-campus access to this customized version is available through EZProxy.

Talking With Your Doctor or Health Care Provider (NIH) Clear and honest communication between you and your physician or health care team can help you both make informed choices about your health. It’s important to be honest and upfront about your symptoms even if you feel embarrassed or shy. Have an open dialogue with your doctor or health care provider— ask questions to make sure you understand your diagnosis, treatment, and recovery.