LibGuides: Consumer Health Guide: General Health Information

UT Southwestern Patient Information

As one of the world’s leading academic medical centers, UT Southwestern is at the forefront of developing the latest advances in science and medicine and delivering expert, compassionate care to patients across the full spectrum of specialties. Check the links below for important health information on a variety of health issues.

MedlinePlus

We recommend MedlinePlus as a primary source of consumer health information. It has authoritative and up-to-date information on over 1,000 diseases and conditions. Provided by the National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine, the site also has directories, a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish and other languages, and extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs and supplements.

MedlinePlus: Trusted Health Information for You

MedlinePlus: Información de salud para usted

Note: Most MedLinePlus Information is available in multiple languages!

MedlinePlus: Health Information in Multiple Languages

Other Sources of Health Information

American Heart Association: Consumer Health Care
This website helps you learn the facts about heart conditions and stroke so you can increase your confidence in making changes to improve and maintain your health.
Centers for Disease Control Health Topics A to Z
The CDC provides information on various health topics, travel health risks and vaccine recommendations, outbreak information, and emergency preparedness.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Provided by the US National Library of Medicine, this resource has information on hundreds of clinical studies going on around the world. Look for studies that are recruiting or ones that are in progress.
FamilyDoctor.org
Trusted medical advice from the American Academy of Family Physicians. Provides primary care information on various health conditions, prevention, and wellness.
Genetics Home Reference
This resource provides information on genes that lead to certain genetic conditions. This resource describes symptoms to diagnoses and potential treatment options available.
Health.gov
From the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion cones a resource to promote health awareness. Find information on fitness, nutrition, dietary guidelines, health literacy, and more.
HealthFinder.gov
Department of Health and Human Services together with other Federal agencies. Includes national directories of healthcare providers, as well as personal health tools. Has Spanish version.
Health Information from the National Institutes of Health
Access easy-to-understand information and tools to help you stay healthy. The site provides reliable information on diseases and conditions from over 1,600 government and non-profit organizations.
Merck Manual Consumer Version
Providing medical reference information to physicians and patients since 1899. This website is a comprehensive medical resource geared towards the health care consumer.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
NCCIH conducts and supports research and provides information about complementary health products and practices in the context of whole person health.

Other Useful Information

5 QUESTIONS to Ask Your Doctor Before You Get Any Test, Treatment, or Procedure
Provided by the American Board of Internal Medicine Foundation.
Do You Really Need That Medical Test or Treatment?
Provided by the American Board of Internal Medicine Foundation.
Household Products Database
The products you use for cleaning, carpentry, auto repair, gardening, and many other household uses can contain ingredients that can harm you, your family, and the environment. This resource provides information about those toxic substances.
NIH News in Health Newsletter
A monthly health/wellness newsletter providing a wide variety of information.
Plain Language Medical Dictionary
Provided by University of Michigan Library.
Traveler's Health
Travel precautions, recommended vaccines, specific disease information, updates, and more are provided to travelers about their specific destinations and travels on this site provided by the Center for Disease Control.
What Did My Doctor Say?
Provided by the Medical Library Association. The special words doctors and nurses use can be hard to understand. You may see or hear these words at your doctor’s office, on the web, on the radio or TV, or other sources.

Self Advocacy

Making Sense of Health Claims
Provides information on how to evaluate claims made about experimental medical treatments and alternative therapies.
Medical Care and Appointments
Are you looking for a new doctor or don’t know how to best prepare for an appointment? Check out these articles for topics you might want to discuss with your doctor, information on choosing the right doctor for you, and ideas for bringing up sensitive topics with your health care team.
MedlinePlus: Patient Rights
This website discusses your rights as a patient as provided by federal and state laws.
Talking With Your Doctor or Health Care Provider
Three short videos help people prepare for a healthcare visit. Additional information includes tip sheets with questions to ask the doctor, how to make the most out of a healthcare appointment and links to other helpful information.