LibGuides: Clinical Pastoral Education: Home

banner

Clinical Pastoral Education Guide

Welcome to the UT Southwestern Digital Library! Below you will find some of the Library's key resources and services that will be most beneficial to you as you navigate throughout your academic program in the School of Health Professions. We are excited to work with you and look forward to helping you navigate our resources.

To contact us at any time, you may call 214-648-2001 or send us an email through the Ask Us form. For assistance with searching our Library databases, complete the Personal or Group Training Request (UT Southwestern Library) form.

Library Resources Guide for Health Professions Students (UT Southwestern Library) Introductory handout for UT Southwestern School of Health Professions students to learn what recommended resources are available at the Library. This handout also includes Library locations, popular services, remote access, and contact information.
Personal or Group Training Request (UT Southwestern Library) The Library offers biomedical and other databases and resources in support of the clinical, education, and research activities of the campus. Experts are available to assist you in developing strategies to locate the information you need or enhance your skill set. Training is available for individuals as well as groups. This service is available at no charge to faculty, staff, and students of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, including the University Hospitals, as well as staff of Parkland Health and Hospital System, and Children's Medical Center.

Library Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides the full text of medical textbooks, including many of the Lange Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment series. It also includes a searchable drug list with medication photos and costs and Lange's Self Assessment Tool, powered by USMLEasy. Users can browse each title's table of contents or search the full text. Clinical and basic science reference books feature an option at the chapter level to download full text to a personal digital assistant (PDA) or other mobile device.
CINAHL® Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Indexes more than 3,000 nursing and allied health journals dating back to 1937, with full text available for more than 900 titles. Includes Pre-CINAHL, which provides current awareness and citation information about recently published articles before being fully indexed (i.e., as articles are indexed, Pre-CINAHL records are replaced with complete CINAHL records). Includes access to Quick Lessons, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, & Continuing Education Modules.
Ejournals A to Z (UT Southwestern) This link opens in a new window Lists all biomedical, academic, and general interest ejournals licensed by UT Southwestern.

Google Scholar Searches a subsection of the Google database, which includes publications such as peer-reviewed papers, articles and abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositiories, universities, and other scholarly organizations; books; and theses.

Library Catalog (UT Southwestern) This link opens in a new window Locate books, journal titles, and audiovisual material owned by UT Southwestern Health Sciences Digital Library and Learning Center. Search by keyword or exact phrase on title, subjects, series, or any field.
Ovid MEDLINE® All This link opens in a new window Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes Ovid MEDLINE® and Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process, In-Data-Review & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Daily, as well as Medline Versions. (Medline Versions includes records that have additional versions as well as any new record types that are added to Medline.)
PubMed This link opens in a new window The U.S. National Library of Medicine's database of peer-reviewed literature covers research in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the preclinical sciences. Contains more than 26 million references dating back to the 1940s. Easy access to the Library's ejournals is available through a customized PubMed version, which may be accessed from the Library's home page. Off-campus access to this customized version is available through EZProxy.
UpToDate® Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive, evidence-based clinical information resource, designed to give practical answers to clinicians at the point of care. Access is available for faculty, staff, students, residents, and fellows of UT Southwestern Medical Center, thanks to funding from the Office of the Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School.

Library Services

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Login ILLiad is the electronic system used to request an item through Interlibrary Loan. The name ILLiad can be thought of as an acronym for "Inter Library Loan Internet Accessible Database".
Off-Campus Access to Library Resources (UT Southwestern Library)
To access electronic full-text journals and books from off-campus, you must be UT Southwestern-affiliated and issued a valid UTSW username and password from UT Southwestern Information Resources.

Poster & Presentation Support Guide
by Jane Scott Last Updated Apr 25, 2024 1674 views this year

Study Spaces (UT Southwestern Library) Information on use policies on study rooms and lockers in the UT Southwestern Medical Center Library.
Wireless Access (UT Southwestern) Wireless access refers to using a laptop or PDA on campus to access campus systems and services (like electronic journals, Mednet servers, etc.) without being tied to the network by cabling.