Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Journals
There are many discipline-specific as well as multi-disciplinary open access journals. Choose journals for publication carefully. See our Predatory Journals handout (i.e., the first link below) for more information.
Predatory Journal - Yes or No??
Do your homework prior to selecting an open access journal by using this handout.
BioMed Central - BMC
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This is a searchable directory of thousands of open access journals across science, technology, medicine, social science, and humanities.
Elsevier's OA Journals
Elsevier publishes many journals and scholarly works in various disciplines. This site provides a list of this publisher's open access journals.
Covers more than 600 academic disciplines.
Open access journals in biological sciences, medicine, physical sciences, social sciences and education, and other areas.
IEEE Xplore® Digital Library
Access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Note: To view open access articles, perform a keyword search and then click on the "Open Access" button in the left column.
Nature Research - Scientific Reports
A multidisciplinary journal from Nature Research.
Oxford University Press
OUP operates an optional open access model (hybrid OA) for the majority of their journals. OUP also publishes fully open access journals.
PeerJ is an open access publisher in biochemistry; biophysics; molecular biology; bioinformatics and genomics; brain and cognition; microbiology; and other fields.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLoS publishes a suite of journals across all areas of science and medicine, including PLoS ONE, PLoS Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Medicine, and PLoS Pathogens.
Royal Society Open Science and Open Biology
Two of the Royal Society's journals are fully open access. The Royal Society is a fellowship of many of the world's most eminent scientists and is the oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
This is a list of open access journals published by Springer covering numerous disciplines and subject areas including biomedicine, chemistry, medicine and public health, and psychology.
Taylor & Francis OA Journals
Taylor & Francis publishes many journals and scholarly works in various disciplines. This site provides a list of this publisher's open access journals.
Ubiquity Press - Journals
Founded by researchers at University College London (UCL) in 2012. Inclues biomedical topics.
Wiley Open Access
Wiley publishes many journals and scholarly works in various disciplines including biological, chemical and health sciences.. This site provides a list of this publisher's open access journals.
Depositing your work in an open access repository is another way to share your research Be careful to comply with copyright and licensing restrictions when uploading your published work. Repositories may be institutional (like UT Southwestern's) or discipline-specific.
UT Southwestern Institutional Repository This link opens in a new window The UT Southwestern Institutional Repository collects, preserves, and distributes digital material pertaining to the clinical, educational, and research missions of the university. Collections within the Institutional Repository include UT Southwestern Electronic Theses and Dissertations, Library Publications and Presentations, and the campus Newsletter (1970-1976).
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, quantitative biology, and other fields. From Cornell University.
The preprint server for biology. From Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
The preprint server for chemistry. From American Chemical Society (ACS), et. al.
An electronic archive for self-archive papers in psychology, neuroscience, medicine (e.g., psychiatry, neurology, human genetics, Imaging), and other areas.
The preprint server for the health sciences. From Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, BMJ, Yale.
OpenDOAR is the global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software, or type of material held.
PMC (PubMed Central) This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Note: You will need to check the "Open Access" filter.
Where to Deposit Data for OA
Data sharing is increasingly important in research and now often mandated by funding agencies. There are many discipline-specific data repositories, many of which are open access. Here are some resources for finding open access repositories in which to deposit your datasets.
A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.
Dryad Digital Repository
A curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.
Publisher Copyright Policies
Evaluate Open Access Journal Fees versus Value
Eigenfactor: Index of Open Access Fees
An interactive tool for assessing the value provided by open access Journals. Sponsored by the West Lab and Bergstrom Lab in the Department of Biology at the University of Washiington.
FlourishOA is a data-driven web app and API enabling users to discover relevant and reputable Open Access (OA) publications in order to maximize publishing impact. Built by the University of Washington DataLab.
Identify Journals - Open Access & Non-Open Access
Clarivate Analytics, EndNote Manuscript Matcher
Use your current EndNote online account or create a free account to find good journal matches. Matches may include open access journals.
A database of freely available journal information.
Journal / Author Name Estimator (JANE)
Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!
A free tool to identify potential journals for your research by Research Square.