LibGuides: UT Southwestern HPREP Guide 2021: Home

College Application Essay Resources

Guide to Grammar and Writing Sponsored by the Capital Community College Foundation, this guide is a free resource that provides information on more than 400 rules and principles for grammar and writing.
Tips and Tools - Writing Center at UNC-Chapel Hill Offers a variety of materials about aspects of the writing process, including using statistics in writing, avoiding plagiarism, dealing with writing anxiety, using commas, writing grant proposals and dissertations, and much more. Get tips for your application essay and a head start on future academic writing. Demos require the latest version of Flash Player. Provided by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Tips for Writing an Effective Application Essay (College Board) Essay topic suggestions and writing tips accompany sample drafts with critical comments on style and content to boost writing skills.

College Applications

Apply Texas: Many Schools, One Application (Texas Common Application) This site provides admission information for every Texas Public University, plus some private and two-year schools. Complete and submit admission and scholarship applications online. Copy a completed application and use it to apply to another school.

College Preparation

Affordable Colleges Online This comparison of online colleges includes information about accreditation, enrollment, and tuition and fees.
Prepare for College (Federal Student Aid) in English and Spanish Find out what you need to do to prepare for education beyond high school.

Financial Aid

FAFSA℠: Free Application for Federal Student Aid Provides information and resources for assessing need and applying for federal and state student aid, as well as some private student aid sources. FAFSA4caster assists students in understanding their options for paying for college by estimating their eligibility for federal student aid. Applications should be submitted early as most funds are allotted on a first-come, first-served basis.
fastweb This site provides information on a variety of scholarship types and other financial aid and includes a Q&A feature. Scholarships are listed by college, year of study, ethnicity, and other relevant categories.
Student Aid on the Web The U.S. Department of Education’s federal student aid information website includes information on financial aid application (FAFSA, etc.) and loan repayment.
Texas Scholarships and Grants Scholarship information is provided for Texas residents and individuals attending or applying to a Texas institution of higher education. Information is organized in the following categories: Merit-Based Scholarships & Grants, Need-Based Scholarships & Grants, and Profession-Specific Scholarships & Grants.

Local College Prep Programs

College Access Programs (Southern Methodist University) Southern Methodist University's Pre-Collegiate College Access Program helps disadvantaged students overcome academic and financial barriers in higher education.
Community Engagement (Southern Methodist University) The SMU Simmons School is dedicated to alliances and partnerships with community institutions open to collaboration and focused on education and human development fields.
Education and Training for Undergraduate Students UT Southwestern offers a number of programs for undergraduate students to work in clinical and/or research environments either on campus or at one of our affiliated clinics and hospitals.
STARS Summer Research Program High-school juniors in Dallas ISD are encouraged to pursue science-related careers while learning new techniques and skills. Participating students can gain valuable experience in a challenging setting.

Volunteer Opportunities

Children's Health℠ Student Summer Volunteer Program Students must be at least 16 years of age to volunteer. Student volunteers serve in a variety of ways. Visit the website for application.
Methodist Health System: Volunteer at the Hospitals Volunteer opportunities at Methodist Dallas Medical Center are open to anyone 14 years of age or older and range from patient care areas to non-clinical departments and services. New volunteers are expected to complete 100 hours of service. Methodist Dallas does not have pediatrics or opportunities for high school or college students to volunteer with infants.
Parkland Health and Hospital System Volunteers High school graduates may apply to volunteer. High school students will not be accepted into the volunteer program.
UT Southwestern Medical Center: Volunteer Services (scroll down page for volunteer info) To participate in the youth program, volunteers must be 15 years old or have completed ninth grade. The annual seven-week summer program begins in mid-June and continues through early August. Applications for the youth program are available on April 1.
VA North Texas Health Care System: Student Volunteers Applications will become available on May 6, 2014. Return the completed application ASAP; spots fill quickly. Student volunteers may participate only during the summer. Students must be 17 years of age to volunteer.

Food & Fitness

MyPlate.gov MyPlate, from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, replaces the food pyramid for information on healthy eating, weight management, and physical activity. The site includes online tools and dietary guidelines geared to specific population groups.
Sports Safety (Children's Health℠) Provides handouts to educate coaches, parents and young athletes on the importance of injury prevention.
TeensHealth Food & Fitness Accurate, up-to-date health information on healthy eating, diets, strength training, eating disorders, sleep, stress (and more) comes from a team of pediatricians and other medical experts who review all content regularly to ensure accuracy. TeensHealth is part of the KidsHealth family of websites, run by the nonprofit Nemours Center for Children's Health Media. It is not intended to take the place of a visit with a trained healthcare professional.

Health Information Resources

Genetics Home Reference
Consumer Product Information Database: Health Effects of Consumer Products Disclosing chemical ingredients in products provides essential information throughout the supply chain from raw material supplier to consumers. Information about the ingredients of products and their health effects allow consumers to make better informed choices. The development of this database was initiated in 1994 by DeLima Associates of McLean, Virginia, USA in response to a need for a database (identified by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention), that related household product types, brand names, chemical constituents, health-related information (acute and chronic effects and target organs), and exposure minimization techniques. This database is currently supported by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Public Health Service, Department of Health & Human Services.
Lab Tests Online
MedlinePlus: Health Information in Multiple Languages
TeensHealth TeensHealth provides accurate, up-to-date health information about health, emotions, and life, information in everyday language. A team of pediatricians and other medical experts reviews all content regularly to ensure accuracy. TeensHealth is part of the KidsHealth family of websites, run by the nonprofit Nemours Center for Children's Health Media. It is not intended to take the place of a visit with a trained healthcare professional.
TeensHealth (Spanish) TeensHealth provides accurate, up-to-date health information about health, emotions, and life, information in everyday language. A team of pediatricians and other medical experts reviews all content regularly to ensure accuracy. TeensHealth is part of the KidsHealth family of websites, run by the nonprofit Nemours Center for Children's Health Media. It is not intended to take the place of a visit with a trained healthcare professional

Healthcare Professions

Which areas of the healthcare field interest you?

LifeWorks®: Explore Health and Medical Science Careers An interactive career exploration web site for middle and high school students. Users can browse for information on more than 100 medical science and health careers by title, education required, interest area, or median salary. Produced by the National Institutes of Health, Office of Science Education.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Offers a broad range of information about and projections for hundreds of occupations, including most healthcare titles. Provides an excellent opportunity for users to access profiles on just about every healthcare occupation and profession. Developed by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Texas AHEC (Area Health Education Center) East This multi-institutional, multi-disciplinary, community based programs designed to address the primary health care workforce needs of medically underserved communities. The DFW AHEC serves Dallas and Tarrant Counties to develop and implement programs to ensure there are enough primary care and other practitioners to meet the needs of the underserved in the Metroplex.
Texas H.O.T. JOBS Texas H.O.T. JOBS provides information on health careers from allied health to vision care. The Profile Manager includes the following features: customized career choices, career salaries comparison, career training offered at various colleges and universities, Career Interest Inventory and more.

UT Southwestern HPREP Guide 2021: Home

Intro

College Application Essay Resources

College Applications

College Preparation

Financial Aid

Local College Prep Programs

Volunteer Opportunities

Food & Fitness

Health Information Resources

Healthcare Professions