The Clinical Reference Guide is designed to assist the busy clinician with accessing and using Library resources in support of patient care, quality improvement, and research initiatives. Resources include online journals and clinical textbooks, point-of-care and biomedical databases, calculators, drug and laboratory reference tools, patient education resources, and much more.
If a different solution to your information need is required, please Ask Us to receive immediate help.
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations, 7th ed. (ClinicalKey) by
This reference includes more than 90,000 entries and definitions from medical specialties, nursing therapies, and other disciplines. The book includes Joint Commission abbreviations to avoid and incorporates updates suggested by the Institute for Safe Medication Practices. Note: Users must register for and login to a personal ClinicalKey account to open a book chapter in PDF. (Due to publisher restrictions, some titles may not provide PDFs of book chapters; for those titles, only HTML full-text is available.)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5-TR, 5th ed. text revision (PsychiatryOnline) by
DSM-5 is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.
In addition to the following fundamental books, search the Library's complete collection of electronic books in the Library catalog.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 13th ed. (LWW Health Library) by
Covers how to interview patients, perform physical examinations, and apply clinical reasoning and shared decision making to assessment and planning, based on a sound understanding of clinical evidence.
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, 63rd ed. (AccessMedicine) by
Offers current insights into symptoms, signs, epidemiology, and treatment for more than 1,000 diseases and disorders.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2024 (ClinicalKey) by
Access current diagnostic and therapeutic information on more than 700 common medical conditions. Not necessarily based on high-level evidence, but still useful. Note: To view PDF content, users must sign in with a personal ClinicalKey account.
Goldman-Cecil Medicine, 27th ed., (ClinicalKey) by
Provides comprehensive coverage of the scientific foundations and biological basis of disease processes, an introduction to clinical practice protocols, and current concepts of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment. Includes a new chapter on "Applications of Molecular Technologies to Clinical Medicine", a completely revamped section on infectious diseases, and coverage of the very latest cardiovascular techniques and treatments. Note: Users must register for and login to a personal ClinicalKey account to open a book chapter in PDF. (Due to publisher restrictions, some titles may not provide PDFs of book chapters; for those titles, only HTML full-text is available.)
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21st ed. (AccessMedicine) by
Offers frequent updates, reports of clinical trials, practice guidelines, online lectures, and concise reviews of timely topics as well as additional and updated references (with links to MEDLINE abstracts) and illustrations.
Merck Manual Professional Version (STAT!Ref) by
Covers human diseases, symptoms, common clinical procedures, and laboratory tests. Searchable by keyword and includes hyperlinks to chapters, topics, diagrams, and tables throughout the text. A service of TexShare.
In addition to the following top electronic journals, search the Library's comprehensive journals collection in Ejournals A to Z.
Delmar's Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests: Organized Alphabetically, 3rd ed. (STAT!Ref) by
Offers information necessary to provide care for patients who are having laboratory and diagnostic tests and procedures. Features precautions for infection control and case studies. For students and practitioners of nursing, medicine, and medical technology. Provided by UT Southwestern and TexShare.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7th ed. (AccessMedicine) by
Provides on-the-spot test selection and interpretation of more than 350 diagnostic tests, including risks and costs. Features evidence-based information, algorithms, nomograms, and tables.
Taber's® Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 24th ed. (STAT!Ref) by
Offers more than 60,000 reader-friendly definitions, including 3,000 brand-new terms and 7,000 revised terms, as well as over 1,000 full-color illustrations and more than 600 patient care statements. Provided by UT Southwestern and TexShare.
Even though some of the resources and web sites allow use of their materials for educational and non-commercial purposes, it is your responsibility to read and follow the usage and copyright policies of a media resource. Look for usage and copyright policies under “About Us,” “Frequently Asked Question,” “Terms and Conditions,” “Terms of Use,” “Copyright” or “Contact Us” on the media resource's website.
For more information, see: